Knee Arthritis: is there an alternative cure besides surgery?

Arthritis causes pain, swelling and stiffness in our knees. I have been coping with chronic pain in one knee for the past 2 years. I tried hydrocortisone and platelet rich plasma injections as well as massages, exercises and taking joint supplements and oral pain medication. Apart from a total knee replacement, has anyone found an effective long term cure or relief? I have seen significant improvement after 12 months of physiotherapy. However, there is still 5 - 10% of pain when walking down the stairs, after sitting down for too long or walking too far. Perhaps the physio has only delayed the inevitable TKR.

Buy 4 pigs trotters and cook with black beans 🫘

I have good and bad days when I thought the pain was almost gone and when it returns with a vengeance respectively. It could be due to the amount of walking or exercising I did the evening before. I seem to experience more pain in my knee when I WFH and on weekends.

Acupuncture

Surgery.. is the best

If you are a meat eater, convert to full vegetarian and the pain should cure by itself after about a year of meat free diet. Works for many people with knee arthritis.    Rolleyes

(28-10-2024, 06:02 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Arthritis causes pain, swelling and stiffness in our knees. I have been coping with chronic pain in one knee for the past 2 years. I tried hydrocortisone and platelet rich plasma injections as well as massages, exercises and taking joint supplements and oral pain medication. Apart from a total knee replacement, has anyone found an effective long term cure or relief? I have seen significant improvement after 12 months of physiotherapy. However, there is still 5 - 10% of pain when walking down the stairs, after sitting down for too long or walking too far. Perhaps the physio has only delayed the inevitable TKR.
take gluccosamine and also UC2 buy from iherb.

try first , dont do surgery, wait got issue. surgery only last resort.

https://sg.iherb.com/pr/now-foods-uc-ii-...ules/64318

https://sg.iherb.com/pr/doctor-s-best-gl...ules/57474

i am currently taking these 2.. i also take magnesium glycinate, B complex, HVM.. I am a strong believer in supplement.
i workout , run and workout everday, and run marathon every year,, no issue.

KKJ bo lat,, joking only, but i do really have dementia moderate type.

(28-10-2024, 06:02 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Arthritis causes pain, swelling and stiffness in our knees. I have been coping with chronic pain in one knee for the past 2 years. I tried hydrocortisone and platelet rich plasma injections as well as massages, exercises and taking joint supplements and oral pain medication. Apart from a total knee replacement, has anyone found an effective long term cure or relief? I have seen significant improvement after 12 months of physiotherapy. However, there is still 5 - 10% of pain when walking down the stairs, after sitting down for too long or walking too far. Perhaps the physio has only delayed the inevitable TKR.

Overweight?

(28-10-2024, 07:02 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Overweight?

My condition has been diagnosed as osteoarthritis which is common in older adults. Both orthopaedic surgeons I consulted at Mount Elizabeth and NUH said that the cartilage that cushions my left knee joint has worn down over time. I used to play football on weekends, jog and workout at the gym 5 days a week. I probably overdid the active part in a bid to stay healthy.

(28-10-2024, 06:45 PM)Scythian Wrote:  Surgery.. is the best

My older friends who underwent total knee replacement have varying experiences. A few said it has given them a new lease of life while there are others who reported still feeling some pain after going through the surgery at great expense.

(28-10-2024, 06:48 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  If you are a meat eater, convert to full vegetarian and the pain should cure by itself after about a year of meat free diet. Works for many people with knee arthritis.   

I have been cutting out the carbo in my diet after no longer being able to jog, play football and tennis following the onset of my knee arthritis. I am also reducing my meat intake, but cannot completely eradicate it from my diet.

Legs are probably the most hardworking parts of yr body and yet often not well taken care of

They deserve regular massages and warm medinal foot soak (with epsom salt, ginger, etc). When’s the last time you gave them such treatment?

(29-10-2024, 08:28 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Legs are probably the most hardworking parts of yr body and yet often not well taken care of They deserve regular massages and warm medinal foot soak (with epsom salt, ginger, etc). When’s the last time you gave them such treatment?

I have been going for weekly private physiotherapy sessions, working out the lower body in the gym and foot reflexology (including knee massages) at least once a month.  

You need to do stretching.
You have to find a good way.
You have to find it yourself.
This is your body, you know it the best.
Various Stretching exercises from Youtube clips are not very effective.

The clue is…
You need to tahan and challenge the knee pain,  once you have overcome it, your knee pain will vanish.

易经告诉我们人要震才会健康!

[Image: IMG-1550.jpg]

(29-10-2024, 08:33 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  You need to do stretching. You have to find a good method.You have to find it yourself.Various Stretching exercises from Youtube clips are not very effective.The clue is…You need to tahan and challenge the knee pain,  once you have overcome it, your knee pain will be vanished.

I have been religiously doing my squats and stretches everyday at home and in my room at work. My problem is still getting too engrossed in work to the point that I sit for up to 3 hours at a stretch without walking around or strolling to the washroom.  

(29-10-2024, 08:06 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I have been cutting out the carbo in my diet after no longer being able to jog, play football and tennis following the onset of my knee arthritis. I am also reducing my meat intake, but cannot completely eradicate it from my diet.

Your knee pain is due to arthritis or injury? If it is due to injury, then you better go surgery but if due to arthritis, then cutting out meat may heal. You can get your protein from fish.     Rolleyes

(29-10-2024, 08:36 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I have been religiously doing my squats and stretches everyday at home and in my room at work. My problem is still getting too engrossed in work to the point that I sit for up to 3 hours at a stretch without walking around or strolling to the washroom.  

You are already heading in the right direction. It is just that you did not know the trick of your stretches.
I have given you the clue. Must feel the pain when doing stretching but dont over endure it. You have to challenge your knee pain.

(29-10-2024, 08:38 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  Your knee pain is due to arthritis or injury? If it is due to injury, then you better go surgery but if due to arthritis, then cutting out meat may heal. You can get your protein from fish.     Rolleyes

Based on the MRI and x-rays, the orthopaedic surgeon says it is a combination of knee osteoarthritis (wear and tear) and a torn meniscus.

go see earthclinic.com (under ailments)

(29-10-2024, 09:51 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Based on the MRI and x-rays, the orthopaedic surgeon says it is a combination of knee osteoarthritis (wear and tear) and a torn meniscus.

Torn meniscus very troublesome. If surgery required, best long-term solution is to repair it. Bad solution is cut out the torn part. There's also meniscus replacement but that one is for younger folks.

If no surgery required, the best is REST, placing as little weight on it as possible. Then maybe iced it. Can get a compression bandage too. Elevate the knee above heart to decease swelling if necessary.

A lot of NBA players kena torn meniscus. Very common.

(29-10-2024, 08:38 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  Your knee pain is due to arthritis or injury? If it is due to injury, then you better go surgery but if due to arthritis, then cutting out meat may heal. You can get your protein from fish.     Rolleyes
[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ4qRE_yGNAF5e7tb0ztu8...Q&usqp=CAU]

Again yr almighty god didn’t come to help

(29-10-2024, 04:42 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Again yr almighty god didn’t come to help

You used an informal fallacy, which appeals to emotion. You tried to persuade by manipulating my emotions rather than presenting a logical argument. In this case, you are trying to evoke feelings of anger, frustration and disappointment in me towards God by highlighting His perceived inaction during my illness. While this may be a common emotional response, it does not provide a logical argument against the existence or nature of my Lord.

(29-10-2024, 04:42 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Again yr almighty god didn’t come to help

Instead of viewing God as a genie, who grants wishes which is a common misconception, it is more accurate to see God as a source of strength, guidance and love. Prayer provides comfort and support during difficult times, but does not guarantee specific outcomes. God is not a wish-granter.

U got try TCM?

(29-10-2024, 05:12 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Instead of viewing God as a genie, who grants wishes which is a common misconception, it is more accurate to see God as a source of strength, guidance and love. Prayer provides comfort and support during difficult times, but does not guarantee specific outcomes. God is not a wish-granter.

God created the universe, the sun the moon the stars, the mountains and the rivers, … what is an injured knee to him leh?

(29-10-2024, 05:27 PM)winbig Wrote:  U got try TCM?

No use one…it can only treat pain on the muscles not bones

[Image: IMG-6480.jpg]

[Image: IMG-6481.jpg]

[Image: IMG-6482.jpg]

Look how terrible it will become afterwards

For the elderly should take collagen peptides daily to replace the lack of it in the body due to aging.

Collagen is a protein that is found naturally in the body and is essential for the health of skin, bones, and joints. As we age, our bodies produce less collagen, which can lead to joint pain and stiffness.
Collagen supplements may help to:

* Reduce joint pain: Some studies have shown that collagen supplements can help to reduce joint pain in people with osteoarthritis.

* Improve joint function: Collagen may also help to improve joint function by increasing the amount of synovial fluid in the joints.

* Reduce inflammation: Collagen has anti-inflammatory properties, which may help to reduce inflammation in the joints.

[Image: IMG-6509.jpg]

[Image: IMG-6508.jpg]

[Image: IMG-6507.jpg]

[Image: IMG-6506.jpg]