Threads: 401

Likes Given: 1
The one in power can use the G machinery to wipe off the other.

Threads: 1,111

Likes Given: 1
(09-03-2023, 08:36 AM)Basic_Strategy Wrote: If you know your Chinese history, there's an even deeper legacy to this analogy.
Cao Pi oppressed and forced his more talented younger brother Cao Zhi into obscurity and an early death. But in the end, his own Cao family dynasty got overthrown and usurped by the descendants of his own military advisor Sima Yi, who then set up their own new dynasty and reunified China under the banner of West Jin.
Families with internal strife and disunity will never be safe from external threats and challenges. The days of the Lee dynasty in SG are hopefully numbered. But who and what replaces them? Nobody knows yet. Who's Singapore's Sima family?
all awaiting !

Threads: 3,435

Likes Given: 2,667
[quote="Basic_Strategy" pid="530649" dateline="1678322212"]
If you know your Chinese history, there's an even deeper legacy to this analogy.
Cao Pi oppressed and forced his more talented younger brother Cao Zhi into obscurity and an early death. But in the end, his own Cao family dynasty got overthrown and usurped by the descendants of his own military advisor Sima Yi, who then set up their own new dynasty and reunified China under the banner of West Jin.
Families with internal strife and disunity will never be safe from external threats and challenges. The days of the Lee dynasty in SG are hopefully numbered. But who and what replaces them? Nobody knows yet. Who's Singapore's Sima family?
How many people died in Three Kingdoms China?
China's Civil Wars
The Three Kingdoms War (220-280 AD) was a struggle between the Han dynasty states of Wei, Shu and Wu, the net result of which was the triumph of the Jin dynasty.
Fighting between the kingdoms, plus disease and famine cost an estimated 40,000,000 lives."
(This post was last modified: 14-03-2023, 01:14 PM by
Scythian.)

Threads: 2,494

Likes Given: 768
(14-03-2023, 01:13 PM)Scythian Wrote: (09-03-2023, 08:36 AM)Basic_Strategy Wrote: If you know your Chinese history, there's an even deeper legacy to this analogy.
How many people died in Three Kingdoms China?
China's Civil Wars
The Three Kingdoms War (220-280 AD) was a struggle between the Han dynasty states of Wei, Shu and Wu, the net result of which was the triumph of the Jin dynasty.
Fighting between the kingdoms, plus disease and famine cost an estimated 40,000,000 lives."
40,000,000 lives???

During Romance of 3 kingdoms, the estimated Chinese population at that time was only 8 million ppl.
(This post was last modified: 14-03-2023, 01:30 PM by
RiseofAsia.)

Likes Given: 11,358
(09-03-2023, 08:31 AM)kangtangman Wrote: This coming from you sound like a “dirty word”.🤭
Just want to be very careful with such things lah!

You already said Taiwan belongs to China leh!

Threads: 16

Likes Given: 820
(14-03-2023, 01:32 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: Just want to be very careful with such things lah!
You already said Taiwan belongs to China leh!
To be exact, almost the whole world had said that Taiwan belongs to China. That include the USA, so it is not me who said that. I merely echo what many countries have said.
But judging from your past posts you would think otherwise. Isn’t it?

Likes Given: 11,358
(14-03-2023, 01:40 PM)kangtangman Wrote: To be exact, almost the whole world had said that Taiwan belongs to China. That include the USA, so it is not me who said that. I merely echo what many countries have said.
What past posts leh?

I just started not long ago lah!

Threads: 4

Likes Given: 532
(14-03-2023, 01:40 PM)kangtangman Wrote: To be exact, almost the whole world had said that Taiwan belongs to China. That include the USA, so it is not me who said that. I merely echo what many countries have said.
USA acknowledge TW is Part of China and still stir shit to encourage TW to be independent from CHina.............LKY signed on his will to get the house demolish but our Govt said otherwise, see the similarity

Threads: 16

Likes Given: 820
(14-03-2023, 03:08 PM)kc172021 Wrote: USA acknowledge TW is Part of China and still stir shit to encourage TW to be independent from CHina.............LKY signed on his will to get the house demolish but our Govt said otherwise, see the similarity 
Now that you have mentioned about it. Indeed the similarity is there, but how many will admit with this “coincidence”?
American has “taught” the world well, flip flop is a common thing these days.