LTA defends ERP 2.0 on-board unit meets international standards

Land Transport Authority issued a statement dismissing allegations that the ERP 2.0 OBU failed to meet international standards. It revealed that the OBU was tested against IEC-60068 and IEC-60529 standards, which Transport Minister Chee Hong Tat did not disclose to WP MP Louis Chua in Parliament last week.

https://gutzy.asia/2024/05/14/lta-defend...standards/

Civilian needs does not count. International needs must be met first.
[+] 1 user Likes red3's post

sinkees standard is too high while international standard is too low. So dont expect Ah Chee to bother about sinkees, as long as international standard is met.
[+] 1 user Likes Stoki's post

2 main reasons were given why smartphones cannot be used to replace ERP 2.0 OBU
1.  It is not permanently attached to the car
2.  The communication is not as secure as OBU.  He said OBU is one-way and smartphone is 2-way communication.

But we are using smartphones for business and money transactions.  Is it that difficult to develop Apps that allow only one-way transmission?  About the argument that smartphones can be tampered with,  does it mean there is no way to overcome such a problem?

https://youtu.be/f2oO1LYncqs?si=4ukCiJuxe_O6EbN6

aiptasia is now in my ignored list.
Omi.. Thank you for bumping up the message.
[+] 1 user Likes teaserteam's post

Conforming to international standards does not mean that it's a well-designed product.

(14-05-2024, 07:47 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Conforming to international standards does not mean that it's a well-designed product.

Maybe underpriced design. BTW is Khaw time

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/t...-about-the
UPDATED SEP 09, 2020, 06:31 PM
FacebookTelegram
SINGAPORE - The Land Transport Authority (LTA) said on Thursday (Feb 25) it will roll out Singapore's next-generation Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) system from 2020.
NCS and MHI Engine System have clinched the deal to build the satellite-based system. The partnership's winning bid of $556 million is less than half of the $1.2 billion submitted by the other qualified bidder: ST Electronics.

(14-05-2024, 08:44 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  Maybe underpriced design. BTW is Khaw time

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/t...-about-the
UPDATED SEP 09, 2020, 06:31 PM
FacebookTelegram
SINGAPORE - The Land Transport Authority (LTA) said on Thursday (Feb 25) it will roll out Singapore's next-generation Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) system from 2020.
NCS and MHI Engine System have clinched the deal to build the satellite-based system. The partnership's winning bid of $556 million is less than half of the $1.2 billion submitted by the other qualified bidder: ST Electronics.

NCS , ST Electronics all GLC lar. I interviewed in both before they looking for Sporean citizen developers cuz project is govt for security reasons. I prefer join private instead.

(14-05-2024, 08:55 PM)sgh Wrote:  NCS , ST Electronics all GLC lar. I interviewed in both before they looking for Sporean citizen developers cuz project is govt for security reasons. I prefer join private instead.

Maybe they see is joint venture with Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Engine System will be different?

Outdated technology! Remind me of the GPS I use 15-20 years ago!!
[+] 1 user Likes mikotan's post

shit la

just admit it ...it is stupid...but no choice kena calls up
[+] 1 user Likes BigNLong's post

interntional standard so? there is no need for processing units in car a passive detection device in car then processin done at back end will do. the processing units adds lots of cost and unnecessary space in car.
the manufacturere and distributors of units huat ah. what was it that they managed to sell such a no need units to lta.

stop the implementation and redo a better solutions before the mistake got compouded with more wasted cost.
wrong ok. admit mistake and reverse. no die die save face or worse any other thing?
[+] 2 users Like sclim's post

Spent all these taxpayers’ money and then later get back more taxpayers’ money to maintain the system.

Must ask them how much to maintain to ERP 2.0 system.

[+] 1 user Likes klat's post

meet standard is one thing, user-friendly is another. Just imagine, if this is a gadget created by some corporation, I think it will be a BIG flop. Their mistake we user bear, do we have any choice?

"they" have an answer for EVERYTHING... surprised the sky didnt fall down when "they" backtracked on simplygo issue... but they ain't gonna backtrack on this... too soon after simplygo and would be one too many "backtracks"

[+] 2 users Like wendychan's post

International standards are usually just GUIDELINES, don't have to follow blindly.

(15-05-2024, 08:39 AM)sclim Wrote:  interntional standard so?  there is no need for processing units in car a passive detection device in car then processin done at back end will do.  the processing units adds lots of cost and unnecessary space in car.
the manufacturere and distributors of units huat ah.  what was it that they managed to sell such a no need units to lta.

stop the implementation and redo a better solutions before the mistake got compouded with more wasted cost.
wrong ok. admit mistake and reverse. no die die save face or worse any other thing?

All these devices are to trace and track. ERP 2.0, free smart watch...etc. Soon, we may be required to register one or more device(s) in order to take public transport.

(15-05-2024, 09:54 AM)wendychan Wrote:  "they" have an answer for  EVERYTHING...  surprised the sky didnt fall  down when "they" backtracked on simplygo  issue... but they ain't gonna backtrack on this... too soon after simplygo and would be one too many "backtracks"

And the best part is, like it or not we have to accept it Rotfl
[+] 1 user Likes wulala's post

(15-05-2024, 09:54 AM)wendychan Wrote:  "they" have an answer for  EVERYTHING...  surprised the sky didnt fall  down when "they" backtracked on simplygo  issue... but they ain't gonna backtrack on this... too soon after simplygo and would be one too many "backtracks"

U turn on bus 167 also

mRNA vaccines also meet international standards... Tongue

but need some advice on why mRNA pro-vaxxers avoiding it like the plague and refusing to GPGT latest jabs! Tongue

Meet international standard my eye lah.

Tell me which cuntry had implemented this erp 2.0 with 3 devices installed in a car?

Which cuntry? How u know is international standard? How you compare?