Landed terrace for 2.1m in west side kym?

(14-11-2021, 11:29 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Once again lots of unstructured unfounded arguments on leasehold vs freehold as investment

Neither is better than the other .....whether the investment is good or bad depends on price you pay relative to value you get.

[Image: iIwMChI.jpg]

With 60yrs left this property value is 80% of a freehold one.
There should be a half a million difference between thus property and a freehold one.

Many people will think that it is more worthwhile to pay the extra half a million ...think thinking is wrong....because the half million is a compounded opportunity cost over 60yrs.

Hello… sometimes it is better to keep quiet when you are not sure what you are talking about and be thought a fool then to open your mouth and remove all doubt Big Grin

It is not my place to educate you here about FH and LH, nor do I have the inclination.  Suffice to say if you are in for the money, LH condos you can buy and rent out for better ROI. But never buy LH landed properties.  Don’t be a sucker. I just realized who is that guy shouting LH LH.  In other incarnations he is ok but when he is in some other nick incarnations he is crazy Big Grin

Don’t forget he is a property developer and he needs to sell LH koyok to suckers else who will buy??? Laughing

Also in a down property market, FH retains its value and will come back. LH? Think of it as your daughter warrants. Time decay. Bye byeBig Grin

(14-11-2021, 12:04 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Hello… sometimes it is better to keep quiet when you are not sure what you are talking about and be thought a fool then to open your mouth and remove all doubt Big Grin

It is not my place to educate you here about FH and LH, nor do I have the inclination.  Suffice to say if you are in for the money, LH condos you can buy and rent out for better ROI. But never buy LH landed properties. Don’t be a sucker. I just realized who is that guy shouting LH LH.  In other incarnations he is ok but when he is in some other nick incarnations he is crazy Big Grin

Don’t forget he is a property developer and he needs to sell LH koyok to suckers else who will buy??? Laughing

You miss the main point I was making....obviously.

Whether to buy or not to buy landed leasehold is whether you got a good price...not whether it is LH.

If that same property was going for $300k I would snap it up an rent it out.

The whole.conversation is going nowhere because people are talking about good and bad without talking about the right price to pay!!

(14-11-2021, 12:05 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Also in a down property market, FH retains its value and will come back.  LH? Think of it as your daughter warrants.  Time decay.  Bye byeBig Grin

It is often factored into the price of leasehold....that is why it is cheaper.

(14-11-2021, 01:36 AM)Bigbluedot Wrote:  lease old 99 years. now left 60plus years

it is cheap.

the land itself costs more than 2.1m
[+] 1 user Likes drgn's post

(14-11-2021, 12:13 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  It is often factored into the price of leasehold....that is why it is cheaper.

Ok bro, you have a nice day Big Grin

(14-11-2021, 12:09 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  You miss the main point I was making....obviously.

Whether to buy or not to buy landed leasehold is whether you got a good price...not whether it is LH.

The whole.conversation is going nowhere because people are talking about good and bad without talking about the right price to pay!!

300k must be one in quite a miserable condition and ulu location. still can rent to garang guni or construction companies as storage space
[+] 1 user Likes WhatDoYouThink?'s post

[Image: The-Springfield-Bedok-Upper-East-Coast-Singapore.webp]

landed in Singapore < 1.8 millions available.

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property...esidential&listing_type=sale&property_type=L&property_type_code[]=TERRA&maxprice=1900000
[Image: Capture.png]

(14-11-2021, 12:44 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  300k must be one in quite a miserable condition and ulu location. still can rent to garang guni or construction companies as storage space

Plse read carefully I stated "If that same property was going for $300k" this means condition is just as good.

(14-11-2021, 12:44 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  300k must be one in quite a miserable condition and ulu location. still can rent to garang guni or construction companies as storage space

(14-11-2021, 01:10 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Plse read carefully I stated "If that same property was going for $300k" this means condition is just as good.

If the house cost 300K, then it is fit only to rent to garang guni or construction companies as storage space.  These days it is impossible to get a landed property for 300K.... Laughing

(14-11-2021, 01:23 PM)debono Wrote:  If the house cost 300K, then it is fit only to rent to garang guni or construction companies as storage space.  These days it is impossible to get a landed property for 300K.... Laughing

What if it is a haunted house with scary Pontianaks who will rape and molest the inhabitants? Big Grin

(14-11-2021, 01:24 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  What if it is a haunted house with scary Pontianaks who will rape and molest the inhabitants? Big Grin

If it is really found that the house is haunted, then it will not cost anything.... Laughing Rotfl

(14-11-2021, 01:10 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Plse read carefully I stated "If that same property was going for $300k" this means condition is just as good.

that only exists in yr dream lah. if you see any numbers maybe can buy 4d

but in jb ulu places can get one new and nice landed with 300k sgd. after covid can consider
[+] 1 user Likes WhatDoYouThink?'s post

(14-11-2021, 12:09 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  You miss the main point I was making....obviously.

Well said ! You r very smart can tell.

(14-11-2021, 01:08 PM)Bigbluedot Wrote:  [Image: The-Springfield-Bedok-Upper-East-Coast-Singapore.webp]

landed in Singapore < 1.8 millions available.

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property...esidential&listing_type=sale&property_type=L&property_type_code[]=TERRA&maxprice=1900000
[Image: Capture.png]

What a BARGAIN ! CHEAP AND GOOD !

(14-11-2021, 01:31 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote:  that only exists in yr dream lah. if you see any numbers maybe can buy 4d

but in jb ulu places can get one new and nice landed with 300k sgd. after covid can consider

True !

can tell there are still many smart forumers like sgbuffett and whatdoyouthink? unlike one here.....need to go back primary school.

(14-11-2021, 06:48 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Waste of money.  Landed but 99 years.  Cannot pass down to descendants.

why cannot?
[+] 1 user Likes pinkypanther's post

(14-11-2021, 03:26 PM)pinkypanther Wrote:  why cannot?

If you brought the leasehold landed property at age 35, then after 50 years, there is still there is still 49 years left for your descendants.. Rolleyes

(14-11-2021, 03:35 PM)debono Wrote:  If you brought the leasehold landed property at age 35, then after 50 years, there is still there is still 49 years left for your descendants.. Rolleyes

Yes that's right...a property is for what purpose.
It's for people to stay. You get to stay, your decendends get to stay.  ...it has to be worth something.

In the LH vs FH, some people forget what a property is for. So long as price is right it can be a good buy regardless of whether LH or FH

(14-11-2021, 03:43 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Yes that's right...a property is for what purpose.
It's for people to stay. You get to stay, your decendends get to stay.  ...it has to be worth something.

In the LH vs FH, some people forget what a property is for. So long as price is right it can be a good buy regardless of whether LH or FH

You are a fast learner or rather Jac is a good teacher. So fast you talk like him but you forgot it is "stay for free" and "thank you PAP"....... Big Grin

(14-11-2021, 03:47 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  You are a fast learner or rather Jac is a good teacher. So fast you talk like him but you forgot it is "stay for free" and "thank you PAP"....... Big Grin

I sense sarcasm in your thread..... Rolleyes

(14-11-2021, 03:47 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  You are a fast learner or rather Jac is a good teacher. So fast you talk like him but you forgot it is "stay for free" and "thank you PAP"....... Big Grin

I have never been against or criticised HDB because of the 99yr leasehold.

I have not learned a thing from Jac.

(14-11-2021, 03:59 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I have never been against or criticised HDB because of the 99yr leasehold.

I have not learned a thing from Jac.

If the price difference is not much between FH and LH, then it is desirable to buy a FH property. cos for a FH it is your land for 1,000 years. Even if after 99 years, you still have 901 years to go. Therefore it is best that we buy FH landed property at a slightly higher price.  Even with condo there are some which is FH an example is Pandan Valley condo off Holland road...... Smile

(14-11-2021, 04:08 PM)debono Wrote:  If the price difference is not much between FH and LH, then it is desirable to buy a FH property. cos for a FH it is your land for 1,000 years. Even if after 99 years, you still have 899 years to go. Therefore it is best that we buy FH landed property at a slightly higher price.  Even with condo there are some which is FH an example is Pandan Valley condo off Holland road...... Smile

Can tell me what is the price difference for thus property? Sjnce you say not much...

Do you see any property held by someone that has been in his family for 1000yrs?...never mind make it 300yrs?

(14-11-2021, 04:08 PM)debono Wrote:  If the price difference is not much between FH and LH, then it is desirable to buy a FH property. cos for a FH it is your land for 1,000 years. Even if after 99 years, you still have 899 years to go. Therefore it is best that we buy FH landed property at a slightly higher price.  Even with condo there are some which is FH an example is Pandan Valley condo off Holland road...... Smile

Boss, FH is really in perpetuity Big Grin 

Even 999yrs is actually LH, although considered almost as good as FH Big Grin

(14-11-2021, 04:21 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Can tell me what is the price difference for thus property? Sjnce you say not much...

For example it is 30% higher than a LH landed property.... Huh

(14-11-2021, 04:22 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Boss, FH is really in perpetuity Big Grin 

Even 999yrs is actually LH, although considered almost as good as FH Big Grin

Have you seen people whose family own property from 300yr or 400yrs ago? Or a a land that is passed down from ownership from a few hundred yrs?

Landownership.laws rarely remain unchanged over a long period. Sometimes from forceful acquisition or property tax js raise so high people return the land and property back to govt like in Japan where depopulation of rural areas take place.

Singapore also will be affected by climate change and changes in trade route etc ...

It is really while imagination that 999yrs of freehold can go on beyond certain period.

That aside the Bala curve actually assumes the freehold lasts forever and calculate to present value of money.

So you just need to refer to it to know if everything is properly adjusted.

All.qualitatuve, story telling type arguments are just people making all sorts of opinion  on the matter. Often based on the last 30yrs rise of property in Singapore they project this into future which may not be true.

Our population is ageing. The next 50yrs can be very different. In Japan the best choice for people to make from 1992 to 2007 was to rent because the capital losses from property exceeds total rent.

Despite all the hype surrounding property investment if you go back 30yrs ...1990 until now the capital gains is 3% a year........one of the lowest among asset classes.

(14-11-2021, 04:27 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Have you seen people whose family own property from 300yr or 400yrs ago?

Hmm.... Sang Nila Utama's descendants? Thinking

Maybe not as far back as several centuries in singapore, but in europe definitely royalty will have their lands passed down.  As some other bro has mentioned, for FH it is not the physical structure that it important.  That will decay or may fall into a state of disrepair if not well taken care of.  It is the land that is precious, i.e.  it is below what the physical structure sits on.  LH landed, after 99yrs, *poof*.  Whether govt (SIT/HDB) or pte does not matter.  Strata titled property on the other hand, you are buying air Big Grin

So don't be so silly as to buy LH landed property, despite what one koyok seller here would have you believe Big Grin

Unless you really, really cannot afford FH and die die insist on staying in landed property.  LH landed to me is a way, way poorer cousin of FH landed property.  If you buy second or third hand LH landed and are caught in a property downturn, the time decay will kill you off.  Not rocket science.  Believe in the facts, not koyok selling.  The Geylang Lor 3 LH landed properties are testament of that.  And chenghu refused to renew their leases too.  The lease ended in 2020.  No need to believe me, you can go google Big Grin

(14-11-2021, 04:37 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Hmm.... Sang Nila Utama? Thinking

Maybe not in singapore, but in europe definitely royalty will have their lands passed down.  As some other bro has mentioned, for FH it is not the physical structure that it important.  That will decay or may fall into a state of disrepair if not well taken care of.  It is the land that is precious, i.e.  it is below what the physical structure sits on.  LH landed, after 99yrs, *poof*.  Whether govt (HDB) or pte does not matter.  Strata titled property on the other hand, you are buying air Big Grin

So don't be so silly as to buy LH landed property, despite what one koyok seller here would have you believe Big Grin

Unless you really, really cannot afford FH and die die insist on staying in landed property.  LH landed to me is a way, way poorer cousin of FH landed property.  If you buy second or third hand LH landed and are caught in a property downturn, the time decay will kill you off.  Not rocket science.  Believe in the facts, not koyok selling.  The Geylang Lor 3 LH landed properties are testament of that.  And chenghu refused to renew their leases too.  The lease ended in 2020.  No need to believe me, you can go google Big Grin

Do not over consume property buy what you can afford. Buy to live in it.
If you think of it as investment, it is a poor one  last 30yrs the gain is 3% per annum. ....for out size gains you have to go back to 1980s and 1970s...when Singapore is still a developing country.

I thought alot about how to make from property, there are a few very specific timing in 1997, 2003 and 2009 ...where one can get out size returns ...but buying stocks with the same amount makes even more money! 

A lot of people buying property are just hopeful.....

I think they have not thought through it thoroughly