MS Polls: Is hawker centre food getting too expensive? 71% of respondents

MS Polls: Is hawker centre food getting too expensive? 71% of respondents ask for price caps

Some hawkers share that they are struggling to stay afloat.

👉 https://tsl.to/hawkerpricecaps

@mustsharenews
[+] 2 users Like Bigiron's post

(10-04-2025, 02:35 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  MS Polls: Is hawker centre food getting too expensive? 71% of respondents ask for price caps

@mustsharenews
bfore price cap on hawker food
the price cap for minister n mps pay need to be address first

I thought the Govt said Inflation has eased but there is no reduction in the price of hawker food.
[+] 2 users Like Wy:Nox's post

Didn't Amy Khor says that rent is not the cause of price inflation ? Didn't Grace fool remarked that since we all can afford $20 pasta, we should not complain about $5 wanton mee?

These million $ bozos are so detached from the ground not to know how much rentals are. In HDB central, shophouses rents are as high as $30,000 per month.

Do you want these Bozos to be your ministers come GE25? More opposition voices are need to Change Gov Direction.

The choice is yours.
[+] 1 user Likes Nico's post

(10-04-2025, 10:00 PM)Wy:Nox Wrote:  I thought the Govt said Inflation has eased but there is no reduction in the price of hawker food.

Even if there is Price reduction, Hawkers will reduce the portion. Which hawker does want to earn more money?

it was too cheap in that labour involved was giving their income away.
returning to normal. but should act against chain store. those are control by investors and work with foreigner workers. hawker stall should be left to individual singaporean who want to proviude food service.
investors can go coffeeshop shopping center.

cpf should be enforce on hawker. else this group of people will face problem at retirement, housing etc.
it is difficult to save money. most people cannot.

Actually, the problem is not many people are eating out

as compared to 7 years ago ( pre- pandemic)

That is why hawkers cannot make ends meet

The best solution is- Reduce the Hawker Stalls by 25%

the mix of foreigner here has changed to low income worker. they eat in dorm, carry prepack food.
so there is a huge reduction in number of consumers. most obvious is eggs. now many time just purchase eggs also not fresh.

So what is the solution

Hawkers food are not expensive. It is the coffee shops and the restaurants food that are very expensive

[+] 1 user Likes klat's post

[Image: IMG-20250411-101424.jpg]

[Image: IMG-20250411-101328.jpg]

[Image: IMG-20250411-101231.jpg]

[Image: IMG-20250411-101142.jpg]

[Image: IMG-20250410-222147-575.jpg]

hawkers these days are telling you, no money to eat here, cook at home, no need to complain.  Rotfl

(11-04-2025, 09:39 AM)Ola Wrote:  Actually, the problem is not many people are eating out

as compared to 7 years ago ( pre- pandemic)

That is why hawkers cannot make ends meet

The best solution is- Reduce the Hawker Stalls by 25%

if materalise i will DONATE ALL MY CDC VOUCHERS
[+] 1 user Likes talky's post

Can control the tea/ coffee and drink price... ?...all gang up increase the price 😎 Gov give discount /rental and PUB water and electricity price reduced ; hawker centre price no reduce .. Government give CDC vouchers they increase the price...a bowl of green bean soup last time sell at $1.00 now sell at $1.70~$2...
[+] 1 user Likes ysh02's post

Cb those hawker want to increase price is it?
[+] 1 user Likes Sharexchange's post

Authorities should conduct Audit on all hawkers as mostly 99% all UNDER DECLARED their EARNINGS by up to 90%.... All my Hawkers friends and operators DO IT.
[+] 1 user Likes Sharexchange's post

(10-04-2025, 02:35 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  MS Polls: Is hawker centre food getting too expensive? 71% of respondents ask for price caps

@mustsharenews

boon keng area can still find less than $4 cai png
[+] 1 user Likes hellohello's post

Even Foodcourt can charge $24. Better avoid eating out.

Stomper appalled mala xiangguo for 1 person in Nex foodcourt costs $24: 'No meat was added at all' https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore...o-meat-was
[+] 1 user Likes Wy:Nox's post

@mustsharenews

I had roasted chicken rice for $3 only yesterday lah! Big Grin Where got expensive leh?

(12-04-2025, 06:33 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I had roasted chicken rice for $3 only yesterday lah! Big Grin Where got expensive leh?

Where is the location and what is stall name?

They should have place to free rent and pay for your utilities and tents use then can see pricing up or down from rental.

(12-04-2025, 08:47 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  Where is the location and what is stall name?

I went to Whampoa Drive Blk 90 but I didn't see the stall name lah! Big Grin

The poll is wrong diverting from actual cost drivers such as rental which in turn pinning food prices

(11-04-2025, 11:20 AM)ysh02 Wrote:  Can control the tea/ coffee and drink price... ?...all gang up increase the price 😎 Gov give discount /rental and PUB water and electricity price reduced ; hawker centre price no reduce ..  Government give CDC vouchers they increase the price...a bowl of green bean soup last time sell at $1.00 now sell at $1.70~$2...

If a bowl of greenbean soup is 1.70 $, how about a cup of "longkang" water, tasteless tea priced at $1.60/$1.70 ? Talk about profiteering and where is the govt agency for anti-profiteering?

(12-04-2025, 10:49 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I went to Whampoa Drive Blk 90 but I didn't see the stall name lah! Big Grin

You didn't see the stall name. Can you describe what does that stall look like? The hawker look ? Which date and year and months?