Threads: 1,775

Likes Given: 443
SINGAPORE: A 40-year-old man shared on social media that he’s starting to regret buying a resale HDB flat for S$1.1 million.
“[I am] single, never married, salaried employee. I had just completed the purchase of my resale HDB flat, which cost me SGD1.1M, and I am taking over the house next month,” he wrote on r/askSingapore, a Reddit forum, on Wednesday (Dec 11).
“A sudden feeling of remorse has fallen over me since signing of the completion process at the HDB Hub.”
The man explained in his post that he couldn’t shake the feeling that he might have overspent on the property and feels uncertain about what to expect as he prepares to move into the new house next month.
He also mentioned that the timing of the purchase added to his financial worries. December is usually when he allocates S$10,000 for overseas holiday shopping, a tradition he enjoys every year.
However, with the recent house purchase, he now feels a need to be more financially cautious. Reflecting on these emotions, he wondered whether this was simply ‘buyer’s remorse’ or a sign that he had made a mistake.
See also Bidadari Park Drive 5-room flat sells for S$1.2M just after reaching MOP
“Am I over worrying or is it what they call the buyer’s remorse? Have any one of you been in this similar situation like a sudden feeling of ‘maybe I should not have purchase it’ just simply appear etc.” he wrote.
“Don’t worry too much about it”
In the comments section, a few Redditors reassured him that experiencing buyer’s remorse after a big purchase is completely normal.
One Redditor said, “It’s more of a prudence feels, don’t worry too much about it. HDB is an asset, albeit depreciating, can always sell off next time. Just be cautious with expenses, like reno, furnitures, and further liabilities.”
Another commented, “Just buy what you like and enjoy life as long as you can afford it. You wont be able to bring them to the afterlife with you assuming you don’t have any kids.”
Some, however, expressed concerns about the high price he paid for the flat, questioning whether it was a sound financial decision.
One Redditor remarked, “1.1m ? You are part of the problem lol keep raising prices higher.”
Another wrote, “Erm, 1.1m to shoulder solely alone. Not a very prudent decision.”
Others suggested practical solutions to ease his financial burden. A few pointed out that since he’s single, he could consider renting out the other rooms in the flat to offset his mortgage payments.
According to The Straits Times, a record number of 328 resale flats were sold for over one million dollars in the third quarter.
Christine Sun, chief researcher and strategist at OrangeTee Group, shared that this brings the total number of million-dollar deals in the first three quarters of 2024 to 747.

Threads: 260

Likes Given: 7,191
Nevermind he can rent to ATB or vietbu or siambu meimei, take upskirt pictures and then marry the ugliest one if she lehlong for sale

Threads: 52

Likes Given: 1,180
Shd hv come to sgtalk for advice before the purchase

Threads: 15,039

Likes Given: 494
?? Usually those who buy above 1m are the private property downgraders so they usually have no such worries. If this single guy is not a downgrader, I am surprised that he bought a 1.1m HDB flat. Salary must be quite high since his is a single-salary family.

Threads: 8,445

Likes Given: 685
If regret then just sell off at a profit....then no more regret

Threads: 52

Likes Given: 1,180
Cannot sell immediately because of seller’s stamp duty, aso bank’s penalty and lawyer’s fees

Threads: 2

Likes Given: 187
if no debt stay long enough, price will eventually catch up aided by inflation.
if got debt want to recover. rent out some room to help with debt payment.
at lease not all is lost for a moment of folly.

Threads: 10

Likes Given: 1,366
So he regrets becoming a millionaire?😆

Threads: 182

Likes Given: 509
Don’t forget if you using CPF money than have to pay back all the interest accumulated in the end maybe lost

Threads: 39

Likes Given: 1
(15-12-2024, 10:58 AM)Cmpunk Wrote: Don’t forget if you using CPF money than have to pay back all the interest accumulated in the end maybe lost
If he sells...............
If he not buying this flat for investment but staying then, ok.
If buy resale to sell, then....
Hopefully the MOP is just 5 yrs.
10 years too long, anything can happen.

Likes Given: 3,327
Pay till siao.

Threads: 35

Likes Given: 444
40 year old single, why he even bother to buy that HDB unless he intends to flip and meantime cash out his cpf indirectly via rentals...
If I'm 40 and single, I will not bother to buy property at least not at a time when properties are easily overpriced 30-40% above our economic growth potential. No matter how stable the income or how rich one is. I hope he is not in the financ sector, if he is someone's banker, those folks should request for a change of banker.

Threads: 157

Likes Given: 43
(15-12-2024, 08:41 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: If regret then just sell off at a profit....then no more regret
Any home buyer approaching from the sensible perspective of an investor, would not spend more than $1 million on a HDB flat expiring in little over 50 years. It is nothing but a money pit.

Threads: 157

Likes Given: 43
(15-12-2024, 03:15 PM)Sticw Wrote: 40 year old single, why he even bother to buy that HDB unless he intends to flip and meantime cash out his cpf indirectly via rentals. If I'm 40 and single, I will not bother to buy property at least not at a time when properties are easily overpriced 30-40% above our economic growth potential. No matter how stable the income or how rich one is. I hope he is not in the financ sector, if he is someone's banker, those folks should request for a change of banker.
This buyer is single and does not see the need to leave an inheritance to his loved ones so he bought this flat for comfort and convenience. If he is not concerned about the decline in value over the long term, living for the here and now, but not the future, then he should not have any regrets.

Threads: 35

Likes Given: 444
(15-12-2024, 03:49 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: This buyer is single and does not see the need to leave an inheritance to his loved ones so he bought this flat for comfort and convenience. If he is not concerned about the decline in value over the long term, living for the here and now, but not the future, then he should not have any regrets.
Unless he really needs the space else the upkeep is no joke...

Threads: 11,111

Likes Given: 12
Now new rules come prime location BTO flat must own it for 10 years than can rent out or sell but I always " Suspect got people rent out despite haven't MOP " A long like this. They know HDB officer , HDB themselves where got time to check every BTO unit.
So how HDB find out you illegal rent out? Obviously if you offend the neighbours beside your unit , they whisperblow to HDB lor.
if you nice with neighbours I Bet HDB forever don't even know you rent out your BTO flat despite haven't reach MOP.
This is why I feel HDB , should ownself come out a new way to check. I heard some folks claim if you left the BTO vacant also not good will arouse PUB notice, so like once a while use the water and electricity inside let it run , to give a fake impression to authority that owner really stay inside.

Threads: 76

Likes Given: 264
(15-12-2024, 08:27 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: Shd hv come to sgtalk for advice before the purchase
"He also mentioned that the timing of the purchase added to his financial worries. December is usually when he allocates S$10,000 for overseas holiday shopping, a tradition he enjoys every year."
So fairly he is being able to comfortably live every month without worrying about money is rich.

This is call financial stability.

(15-12-2024, 08:39 AM)Levin Wrote: ?? Usually those who buy above 1m are the private property downgraders so they usually have no such worries. If this single guy is not a downgrader, I am surprised that he bought a 1.1m HDB flat. Salary must be quite high since his is a single-salary family.
Yes, yes...yes be a rich man, no wife or gal fren to boleng take money for his pocket. $Money.

(15-12-2024, 08:49 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: Cannot sell immediately because of seller’s stamp duty, aso bank’s penalty and lawyer’s fees
“[I am] single, never married, salaried employee. I had just completed the purchase of my resale HDB flat, which cost me SGD1.1M, and I am taking over the house next month,” he wrote on r/askSingapore, a Reddit forum, on Wednesday (Dec 11).
“A sudden feeling of remorse has fallen over me since signing of the completion process at the HDB Hub.”
The man explained in his post that he couldn’t shake the feeling that he might have overspent on the property and feels uncertain about what to expect as he prepares to move into the new house next month.
Yes!. U are right. I think, he can in five (5) years later, can collect abit of kopi money. The only things is five years later, market for HDB flat is fairly steady, so he is being able to comfortably live with it and wait for his return in five years.
SURE!. He win KOPI $MONEY lehh.

Threads: 3,521

Likes Given: 2,723
Keeping it for few years, and his HDB will be S$5,000,000.
He could easily be..
Pocketing a handsome profit

Threads: 3,521

Likes Given: 2,723
(15-12-2024, 09:51 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote: So he regrets becoming a millionaire?😆
He can make much more money than $1.1 mio by selling one brick at a time
Good deal
(This post was last modified: 16-12-2024, 02:18 PM by
Scythian.)