Minister Indranee - your leaseholds designed only to last 99yrs

Okay now I understand. 99yr leaseholds and Freehold are made of different material like concrete...pipes all that different...

After 99yrs the leasehold will start disintegrate while freehold still standing.

----------
Second Minister for National Development Indranee Rajah, who hosted Sunday's workshop and sat in for some of the small group discussions, said the idea of sustainable living and sustainability goes beyond addressing climate change, as she touched on the sustainable use of land.

"I noticed that in one of the (small group) chats, there was discussion on lease expiring, and would it be possible to extend the leases," she said, citing the 99-year leases for Housing Board flats.

"If you look at it from a sustainability viewpoint, that wouldn't be what we want to do," said Ms Indranee, adding that 99-year-old buildings were not designed to last longer than that, and may face issues such as leaking pipes and spalling concrete."

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/s...m-land-use
[+] 1 user Likes BigBossX's post

So based on her multi million dollars salaries …. freehold build can last ….. FOREVER ….  Thinking

So 99-yrs lease hold buildings can only last for 99 years.

999-yrs leasehold buildings can last for 999 years

Freehlold buildings can last foreer!

Fantastic!

Who set this 99yr. Why cannot set 60yr.

Freeholds also got problem
just imagine a road goes thr. ur door.
Anyway we now got to take care of Klaus schwab
u own nothing and u happy.

Wow...the minister is so smart.

I heard all Bankrupt without them knowing
that why we got movements
And they gonna steal.....Dinar4.81 as marker

They tak care of us using their mouths not knowing their cards not swee.
Wrong already still dreaming

Yes it may be less efficient to live in a old building but the carbon footprint is many times higher to tear down and rebuild a building.

Indranee is like Jac Lau with LJ brain n CCBAI mouth.

What Singaporeans? PRs are not Singaporeans, hor.

Anyway, poll with over- generalized words used again? Like how they ask "Do you feel safe living among Foreigners?" Please. lah. Who so stupid to walk up and ask people in the MRT if they are Foreigners?

[+] 2 users Like Ola's post

(28-11-2021, 09:33 AM)Ola Wrote:  Indranee is like Jac Lau with LJ brain n CCBAI mouth.

What Singaporeans? PRs are not Singaporeans, hor.

Anyway, poll with over- generalized words used again?  Like how they ask "Do you feel safe living among Foreigners?" Please. lah. Who so stupid to walk up and ask people in the MRT if they are Foreigners?
This indrah neh like talk co*ck so much.  Doesn't speak logic at all.

In HK, they no hue wat leasehold , freehold...property prices keep steady or going up .

A day more in this turbulent world is a bonus...there might not b a tomoro for many with so many kinds of deadly variants around...sekali n any moment , u breathe in the deadly virus, u r gone for good!

Residents in her ward need to ensure her term last until next ge

I thought freehold or leasehold are referring to land and not buildings!?

How about those conserved buildings/properties?

Ministers' pay are on freehold?

Stay in rental flat is best don't have to worry about freehold, leasehold or any rubbish flip flop policies from pap. Dont have to worry about property prices go up or down. Just status quo.

I think we should not rule out what she said as complete rubbish. Better give her the benefit of the doubt that she had inside technical information of such 99 years leasehold constructions and take heed of her warnings. So those staying in HDBs with about 30 years lease left better be careful and prepare contingences for the building to give way due to aging like collapsing like that New World Hotel........ Big Grin

I think what she meant is for 99 years lease housing (HDB or private), the building materials used is guaranteed to last 99 years old, while those housing built on 999 years mean guaranteed to last 999 years and freehold housing are built with materials that last forever..

Like that, if you are those rich folks to build your house on a freehold land, then you need to ask your contractor/developer to provide lifetime warranty since it is built with materials that last forever..

(28-11-2021, 12:45 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  I think we should not rule out what she said as complete rubbish. Better give her the benefit of the doubt that she had inside technical information of such 99 years leasehold constructions and take heed of her warnings. So those staying in HDBs with about 30 years lease left better be careful and prepare contingences for the building to give way due to aging like collapsing like that New World Hotel........ Big Grin

U mean material used in leasehold is inferior to freehold? Is that what you mean?

indranee herself is leasehold from GOD
but dunno how many yrs leasehold from god
maybe few more yrs god will revoke her leasehold

(28-11-2021, 12:48 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  U mean material used in leasehold is inferior to freehold? Is that what you mean?

She may know something which we don't know in order to publicly say that materials will give way after 99 years. I find it hard to believe but since she is a minister, she might have access to such information. BTW I am just trying my best to decipher what she said as it sound quite bizarre ..... Confused

so that piece of 99yr unit your dad leaves you is going to be worthless unless enbloc right? but your dad's unit need hdb's sers although everyone's waiting for vers. anyone knows of any pte houses lease already expired? i know that geylang lor 3 60yr houses became worthless. so which ones next?

(28-11-2021, 10:19 PM)menghuii Wrote:  so that piece of 99yr unit your dad leaves you is going to be worthless unless enbloc right? but your dad's unit need hdb's sers although everyone's waiting for vers. anyone knows of any pte houses lease already expired? i know that geylang lor 3 60yr houses became worthless. so which ones next?

Chempaka kuning in bedok landed private property  with few years lease left. Will kena same fate as the geylang lorong 3 ones.

(27-11-2021, 07:55 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  Who set this 99yr. Why cannot set 60yr.

It should be 99 years leasehold and not 60 years leasehold, cos the flats need to pass on to the next generation at least...... Big Grin