Is Cantonese the second most spoken variety of Chinese after Mandarin?

(08-08-2023, 06:13 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  In china there is 普通语

There is no 话语 or 华语

But this is Singapore not China lah! Big Grin

(08-08-2023, 05:35 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Wrong liao lah! Big Grin Hokkien 福建话 is a dialect 方言 not 话语 lah!
华语。 Rotfl

(08-08-2023, 06:13 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  In china there is 普通语

There is no 话语 or 华语
Mandarin is the dialect that's chosen among all dialects to be used for government, business, education. Hence it's called 普通话。It's not called 华语 because the Chinese government wisely recognized that Mandarin is no more Chinese than any of the many many dialects all over China.

To say that the Mandarin dialect is 华语 is to say that the other dialects are not. If the other dialects are not Chinese then what had your forefathers been speaking?  

In Singapore our 普通话 is English btw

(08-08-2023, 06:20 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  But this is Singapore not China lah! Big Grin
Our 普通话 is English. This is the language used in government, business and education, and is used to communicate among all races and nationalities.

(08-08-2023, 06:44 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Mandarin is the dialect that's chosen among all dialects to be used for government, business, education. Hence it's called 普通话。It's not called 华语 because the Chinese government wisely recognized that Mandarin is no more Chinese than any of the many many dialects all over China.

To say that the Mandarin dialect is 华语 is to say that the other dialects are not. If the other dialects are not Chinese then what had your forefathers been speaking?  

In Singapore our 普通话 is English btw

(08-08-2023, 06:44 PM)Oyk Wrote:  CECA is part of Han. My daughter is a by product of my wife's adultery

Laughing Laughing
[+] 1 user Likes Observer's post

(08-08-2023, 06:47 PM)Oyk Wrote:  English. This is the language used in government, business and education, and is used to communicate among all races and nationalities.

(08-08-2023, 06:47 PM)Oyk Wrote:  It is very useful in Geylang where my daughter works

Laughing Laughing

(08-08-2023, 06:47 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Our 普通话 is English. This is the language used in government, business and education, and is used to communicate among all races and nationalities.

You really good at 胡说八道。
只知其一 不知其二。 Rotfl

Why don’t change your race to AngMoh?

(08-08-2023, 06:53 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  You really good at 胡说八道。
只知其一 不知其二。 Rotfl

Why don’t change your race to AngMoh?

Ang Mo is not a race. It's a collective term for 西方人。 Germans are angmoh, French and Italians too. British, Spanish, Greeks.

My race is Han btw and I believe you too.

(08-08-2023, 07:02 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Ang Mo is not a race. It's a collective term for 西方人。 Germans are angmoh, French and Italians too. British, Spanish, Greeks.

(08-08-2023, 07:02 PM)Oyk Wrote:  My daughter is a farking mix Han CECA because of her mom who steal eat when I was oversea.

Laughing Laughing

(08-08-2023, 06:47 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Our 普通话 is English. This is the language used in government, business and education, and is used to communicate among all races and nationalities.

English is 1st language and Chinese is 2nd language lah! Big Grin You never studied in SG schools meh?  Thinking

(08-08-2023, 06:34 PM)Oyk Wrote:  华语。 Rotfl

谢谢你自己纠正错误啦! haha Big Grin

(08-08-2023, 07:02 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Ang Mo is not a race. It's a collective term for 西方人。 Germans are angmoh, French and Italians too. British, Spanish, Greeks.

Now then you know your mistake? Rotfl

老人家头脑迷糊了,神智不清,胡言乱语,由他去吧
[+] 2 users Like WhatDoYouThink!'s post

what is 满汉全席?
and why there was 满汉全席?

before 满汉全席 there was 汉语 cause there is not manchu

after the manchu raped  and captured  han chinese (The Ming dynasty was the last imperial dynasty of China ruled by the (汉人) Han people)

and after the  满汉全席, there was 华语

and after the Chow cheesie pie (CCP) take over the last dynastic and the warlords of china
they named their language 普通话

看来二毛们虽然不认同于华,但并不排斥汉。这应该是一种委曲求全的做法吧

(08-08-2023, 07:12 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Now then you know your mistake? Rotfl

I had never been mistaken about me being a Han Singaporean and never lined up at the wrong row at any Chinese airport.

And I also lined up at the correct row at Singapore's airport.  Rolleyes

(08-08-2023, 09:40 PM)Oyk Wrote:  I had never been mistaken about me being a Han Singaporean and never been to the wrong lane in Geylang where my daughter works  Rolleyes

Laughing Laughing

S.H.E. Sing Hokkian Song.

https://youtu.be/oBRAiA1UsFk

guang dong is already the most populous province
Not to forget chunk of migrant workers from neighboring provinces
Speaking some Cantonese is not surprising.

(08-08-2023, 07:20 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  老人家头脑迷糊了,神智不清,胡言乱语,由他去吧

You believe he is an old man? I think he is creating sympathy.

Look at his posts

[Image: image-1.png]

[Image: image-2.png]

[Image: image-3.png]

[Image: image-4.png]

[Image: image-5.png]

[Image: image-6.png]