New Covid-19 ART kits to cost 'well below' $10: Health Minister

New, more affordable antigen rapid test (ART) kits for Covid-19 will be made available soon, with the kits expected to cost "well below" $10 and possibly below $5,said Health Minister Ong Ye Kung.

He also said yesterday at the press conference by the multi-ministry task force tackling Covid-19 that distribution of free ART kits to all Singapore households has been progressing well.

The Straits Times reported onOct 9 that each household would receive a 10 ART kits in a distribution exercise from Oct 22 to next month.

Nonetheless, Mr Ong acknowledged that many people still need to purchase additional kits and have been asking for more affordable kits to be supplied..

Part of an article found in today's The New Paper

Think they distribute based on areas. Still have not receive this batch yet. It is expensive to buy a box here.

talk is cheaper! does he know what is fix running cost?

(16-11-2021, 10:32 AM)theold Wrote:  Think they distribute based on areas. Still have not receive this batch yet. It is expensive to buy a box here.

Why is it that in Malaysia, test kits are available for as low as RM6.90 (S$2.24) a unit and sold at supermarkets, convenience stores and petrol stations...?

You need an importer license here to clear the custom. Together with the shipping costs, the price is jacked up.

(16-11-2021, 10:42 AM)theold Wrote:  You need an importer license here to clear the custom. Together with the shipping costs, the price is jacked up.

But it should not be more than twice the price of Malaysia's pah... Rolleyes

Meanwhile clinics will mark up higher to earn higher profit margin.

Sigh...
Now I almost do it everyday... crying

(16-11-2021, 10:56 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Sigh...

Must do every 4 hrs lah. Laughing

(16-11-2021, 10:57 AM)Notdumb Wrote:  Must do every 4 hrs lah. Laughing

Havent yet. Now do it daily...
So many cases of close contact. NB...

Can I scold idiot talking in the bus using hp?
The govt shd fine someone talking in the bus using hp.

(16-11-2021, 10:59 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Havent yet. Now do it daily...
So many cases of close contact. NB...

U haven't do PCR tio bor?

(16-11-2021, 11:00 AM)Notdumb Wrote:  U haven't do PCR tio bor?

No. I dont talk in the public transport.

this need to be free otherwise who the hell will keep testing as it is expensive

(16-11-2021, 10:56 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Sigh...

then you don't have to dig your nose, because it is cleaned by the kit.

Need to do ART so freqently like whenever you stepped out of house?

(16-11-2021, 11:10 AM)drgn Wrote:  then you don't have to dig your nose, because it is cleaned by the kit.

Laughing Rotfl Laughing Gesti-109

Other countries using saliva test liao.

Where is our breath analyser tests? No sound, no use.

Why continue to support expensive ART test kits?

(16-11-2021, 11:20 AM)ToTo Wrote:  Other countries using saliva test liao.

Where is our breath analyser tests? No sound, no use.

Why continue to support expensive ART test kits?

We should have these test kits sold at $2.24 per unit, similar to what is sold in Malaysia... Big Grin

speechless.

just a word to describe - incapable