Periods of inflation can wipe out retirement funds.

You see in Sri Lanka hyperinflation destroyed the people's savings in a span of 2 months. That is how fast it gets wiped out.

In US you see bouts of 8% inflation recently. In the 1970s they had a a 10yr period of 5.5% to 15% inflation per year. If you retired in the beginning of the period your retirement nestegg shrunk by 60% of buying power by the end of the 10yrs.

Is it safe to keep so much savings when govt around the world have so much debt and are monetising debt? Tye answerr is no. When it goes wrong it can be rapid...like in Sri Lanka, Argentina, Greece.

The main problem is there is not single best hedge against such outcomes. Some like Kiyosaki buy gold and silver. But these are non productive assets yes they will retained value when inflation gets higher but long term it has no return. However it did work in the 70s when gold surge to 800 from 100. 

Other options are property, art, luxury watches. Stocks beat inflation but when inflation comes It goes down. You have to buy stocks for long term so they accumulate returns when inflation comes so you can absorb some losses.

these r no chicken inflation
broad spectrum across the board
leading to you own nothing and u beri happy
education:
https://healthimpactnews.com/2022/the-co...-imminent/

We will have a larger pool of poor elderly 10 or 20 years later when our middle- age retire due to short runway. Singapore Govt can only solve this by either creating half million better paying jobs for locals or raise GST gradually to 20%.

Thanks to evil Assmerica and stupid Europe!

(08-06-2022, 09:30 AM)FartSunKing Wrote:  Ladies and gentlemen

Do you know home made kopi taste better than hawker centre and coffee shop kopi?

And it cost around 50 cts a cup including water and electricity

No bullshit lar, I just bought Tongkat Ali kopi from Shopee

$18.80 for 40 sachets or 47 cts per sachet

The best instant coffee from Malaysia where sugar is subsidized by the goverment

Must try if you are a "jantan" meaning not a pussie

[Image: NnsPpZU.jpg]

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/h...edok-north

HSA warns public against buying, consuming 3 sexual enhancement products from Bedok North coffee shop and online

They are Kopi Jantan Ali Macca, sold at a Bedok North coffee shop; Kopi Panggung Al-Ambiak natural herbs coffee, sold at the same coffee shop and local e-commerce sites; and Berry Jaga chewable candy, sold on Berry Jaga's website and local online sites.

Every month there is 2 good days to sell or buy stocks..fullmoon and newmoon...but must know which to buy..

(08-06-2022, 08:50 AM)Wy:Nox Wrote:  We will have a larger pool of poor elderly 10 or 20 years later when our middle- age retire due to short runway.  Singapore Govt can only solve this by either creating half million better paying jobs for locals or raise GST gradually to 20%.
This is a very good point. At the rate medical costs and other costs are inflation there will be a big group of 40-60yr olds who are caught as they were in jobs where salaries are too low and savings are not there.

(08-06-2022, 09:05 AM)FartSunKing Wrote:  When you have $1M in your CPF, your will earn $30K interests per annum, thanks to CPF/GIC/Temasek

es

[Image: ErukD5c.png]

Wonderful

Very good reason to Vote PAP OUT

Thank you and I will circulate this to other people

to make PAP lose more votes

Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers

Jac Lau= FSK still stuck in his Happy Past again?

No courage to live in the present

And cannot face his own future

[Image: Quotes-Past-Now-Future.png]

Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers

(08-06-2022, 09:05 AM)FartSunKing Wrote:  When you have $1M in your CPF, your will earn $30K interests per annum, thanks to CPF/GIC/Temasek

That means you will have $2.5K a month to spend if you choose to live on your CPF interests without depleting your $1M savings

Your retirement life will not be affected by food or transportation cost increases due to high inflation

I will explain more to help you understand with real life examples

[Image: ErukD5c.png]

Mr Loo also got slightly more than $1m in CPF but about half is in CPF approved fund.

(08-06-2022, 08:19 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  You see in Sri Lanka hyperinflation destroyed the people's savings in a span of 2 months. That is how fast it gets wiped out.

In US you see bouts of 8% inflation recently. In the 1970s they had a a 10yr period of 5.5% to 15% inflation per year. If you retired in the beginning of the period your retirement nestegg shrunk by 60% of buying power by the end of the 10yrs.

Is it safe to keep so much savings when govt around the world have so much debt and are monetising debt? Tye answerr is no. When it goes wrong it can be rapid...like in Sri Lanka, Argentina, Greece.

The main problem is there is not single best hedge against such outcomes. Some like Kiyosaki buy gold and silver. But these are non productive assets yes they will retained value when inflation gets higher but long term it has no return. However it did work in the 70s when gold surge to 800 from 100. 

Other options are property, art, luxury watches. Stocks beat inflation but when inflation comes It goes down. You have to buy stocks for long term so they accumulate returns when inflation comes so you can absorb some losses.

You don't blame your good friend evil bully US for the inflation problem?   

1. First for the trade war imposing trade tariffs and sanction resulting in break of supply chain of chips resulting in many tech products short supply including AI cars. 
2. The printing of US$ flooding the whole world with money. 
3. Give Ukraine the fake hope of joining NATO and requiring it to provoke Russia. 
4. Instigating Ukraine giving the fake impression to Zelensky that US will fight side-by-side with Ukraine. But in the end, Zelensky finds he is fighting alone.  
5. The war drove all energy prices to the sky
6. The war resulting in food shortage.  

All these contributing to hyper inflation.  

[+] 1 user Likes webinarian's post

US had 8% inflation is the bitter medicine US had to take for all the problems created by itself. 

(08-06-2022, 08:19 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Other options are property, art, luxury watches. Stocks beat inflation but when inflation comes It goes down. You have to buy stocks for long term so they accumulate returns when inflation comes so you can absorb some losses.
You said stocks beat inflation but they go down when inflation comes. So why dun wait for inflation to come and stocks go down then buy instead of accumulating before inflation comes?...... Thinking