Politics: Singapore loses four MPs and one rising star in a week

First, S Iswaran, transport minister, was forced to take a leave of absence. There’s much speculation online about possible cronyism or corruption involving tycoon Ong Beng Seng, as well as Bernie Ecclestone, F1 mogul, though it’ll probably be some time before we know the truth. Few will miss Iswaran, who, civil servants told Jom, irritated many in the government with his F1-related bravado and demands. 

Cheng Li Hui and Tan Chuan-Jin were next to go. Cheng was a relatively quiet backbencher. Tan, who entered politics in 2011 and was once touted as a potential future prime minister, was one of Singapore’s most recognisable politicians. Loved by many in the party, outside he was better known for his Christianity, which infused his social media messaging, as well as his elitism. In 2015 he visited Singapore’s cardboard collectors, who earn less in a one-night shift than he did in one minute. His conclusion was that their lives weren’t that bad, and that some of them collect cardboard “as a form of exercise and activity”. 

By contrast, the Workers’ Party’s (WP) Leon Perera was long known for fighting for the rights of the underprivileged, and was one of Parliament’s most articulate and passionate speakers. “He is one of the few politicians to have ever left the redoubtable K Shanmugam, minister for home affairs and law, at a loss for words, during the debate on The Protection from Online Falsehoods and Manipulation Act 2019 (POFMA),” we wrote in an earlier editorial. Many might mourn the loss of Nicole Seah the most, even though she’s the only one not in Parliament. She began her political career as a candidate for the National Solidarity Party in the 2011 general election (GE). At the 2020 GE, when the PAP realised she was contesting for the WP in East Coast, they parachuted in heavyweight Heng Swee Keat to head off her challenge. His team scraped through with 53.4 percent of the vote. Many expected Seah to lead a WP team to victory at the next GE. 

The loss of Perera and Seah will likely, in the short-term, be more damaging to the WP than the loss of Cheng, Iswaran and Tan are to the PAP. Pritam Singh, WP chief, has won plaudits for his decisiveness this week: “...the requirement to be frank and honest in our dealings with the Party and the people of Singapore is exacting and non-negotiable,” he wrote to Perera, in accepting his letter of resignation. Now he has to replace two of his stars and rebuild confidence in the party’s electoral prospects.

Oppo parties as we all know are not the natural choice to join if you wish to enter politics. Smile

Lim Tean, Dr Chee, Chiam See Tong and even Low Thia Khiang will tell you how hard it was/is to get good men and women to join them. Smile

Now that they are gone, some peepur write high journalism in such glowing terms about them which would make saints commit the sin of jealousy and lose their sainthood upon death. Sad

Did these two think about how hard LTK had worked to build up WP despite the odds? Big Grin

Simple truth about Singapore politics is

Only cunning fox join Singapore politics

That is the truth no one can see it

They join for mangoes! Big Grin

This is 16k problem. Level up to 32k then no such issues and Rising star is who ?

The scandals actually won't hurt the die-hard supporter base of both parties much lah. It may only affect that few % swing from the so-called neutral camp nia.

But WP ish definitely going to tank more damage than the higher mortals and may not be just short term nia. Cause the average sinkie seem to be more forgetful and forgiving when higher mortals made honest and honorable mistake, however will be much more critique ish opp make the same mistake.

Not to mention higher mortals got much larger die-hard suppoert base, in most area chao chao also 40+% as their foundation one and some area ish can be over 50% that why can say ish will never lose in those area one. so it is way more easier for them to come back from any scandals and be victorious again than opp whom supporter base ish much much smaller, heng one maybe still got 30+% in some area, else in average would said 20+% nia.

Those who can tok cok well are not necessarily good leaders in managing the country.

(21-07-2023, 12:28 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Politics: Singapore loses four MPs and one rising star in a week

First, S Iswaran, transport minister, was forced to take a leave of absence. There’s much speculation online about possible cronyism or corruption involving tycoon Ong Beng Seng, as well as Bernie Ecclestone, F1 mogul, though it’ll probably be some time before we know the truth. Few will miss Iswaran, who, civil servants told Jom, irritated many in the government with his F1-related bravado and demands. 

Cheng Li Hui and Tan Chuan-Jin were next to go. Cheng was a relatively quiet backbencher. Tan, who entered politics in 2011 and was once touted as a potential future prime minister, was one of Singapore’s most recognisable politicians. Loved by many in the party, outside he was better known for his Christianity, which infused his social media messaging, as well as his elitism. In 2015 he visited Singapore’s cardboard collectors, who earn less in a one-night shift than he did in one minute. His conclusion was that their lives weren’t that bad, and that some of them collect cardboard “as a form of exercise and activity”. 

By contrast, the Workers’ Party’s (WP) Leon Perera was long known for fighting for the rights of the underprivileged, and was one of Parliament’s most articulate and passionate speakers. “He is one of the few politicians to have ever left the redoubtable K Shanmugam, minister for home affairs and law, at a loss for words, during the debate on The Protection from Online Falsehoods and Manipulation Act 2019 (POFMA),” we wrote in an earlier editorial. Many might mourn the loss of Nicole Seah the most, even though she’s the only one not in Parliament. She began her political career as a candidate for the National Solidarity Party in the 2011 general election (GE). At the 2020 GE, when the PAP realised she was contesting for the WP in East Coast, they parachuted in heavyweight Heng Swee Keat to head off her challenge. His team scraped through with 53.4 percent of the vote. Many expected Seah to lead a WP team to victory at the next GE. 

The loss of Perera and Seah will likely, in the short-term, be more damaging to the WP than the loss of Cheng, Iswaran and Tan are to the PAP. Pritam Singh, WP chief, has won plaudits for his decisiveness this week: “...the requirement to be frank and honest in our dealings with the Party and the people of Singapore is exacting and non-negotiable,” he wrote to Perera, in accepting his letter of resignation. Now he has to replace two of his stars and rebuild confidence in the party’s electoral prospects.

If don't lose then I worry

You know the root to all evil is money

And
The more money that place has
The more evil it gets

So If it don't lose them then I really worry

indeed its a loss
our very small pool where to find good people?
hard to come by and just gone like that.
and who can guarantee even good people can last and wont fail the people?
tsk tsk tsk so sad.

(21-07-2023, 12:55 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  Simple truth about Singapore politics is

Only cunning fox join Singapore politics

That is the truth no one can see it

Smile Greedy PAP is only worry Lim T and Dr chee elected. Which We need to vote them in.
They now target is leong of PSP. Leong is the same league like Lim T and Dr Chee.

(21-07-2023, 12:50 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Oppo parties as we all know are not the natural choice to join if you wish to enter politics. Smile

Lim Tean, Dr Chee, Chiam See Tong and even Low Thia Khiang will tell you how hard it was/is to get good men and women to join them. Smile

Now that they are gone, some peepur write high journalism in such glowing terms about them which would make saints commit the sin of jealousy and lose their sainthood upon death. Sad

Did these two think about how hard LTK had worked to build up WP despite the odds? Big Grin

taxi uncle said Lim got affair too, he pick up them before

(21-07-2023, 02:08 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Smile Greedy PAP is only worry Lim T and Dr chee elected. Which We need to vote them in.
They now target is leong of PSP. Leong is the same league like Lim T and Dr Chee.

you see

are all greedy
NONE OF THEM RECEIVED the HERO WELCOME

in real life
there is no such thing as ONE SUPERMAN SAVED THE DAY
it is only on TV

UK and USA is the correct system of government

russian putin and china xi is the devil disguise as one hero superman

The rot started from the top.

(21-07-2023, 02:13 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  you see

are all greedy
NONE OF THEM RECEIVED the HERO WELCOME

in real life
there is no such thing as ONE SUPERMAN SAVED THE DAY
it is only on TV

UK and USA is the correct system of government

russian putin and china xi is the devil disguise as one hero superman

Smile this is why my idol Elon M is the WORLD RICHEST man , those Rich PRC still below of him come the World Richest ranking.

Look at the Ang mo, always chill, knows what is LIFE all about.

whereas the east " slaves for the system ? "

(21-07-2023, 02:23 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Smile this is why my idol Elon M is the WORLD RICHEST man , those Rich PRC still below of him come the World Richest ranking.

bill gate and rocketfellow was the richest in the past
elon will be another past after time has past

they are temporary

so dont poke too deep into your idol

(21-07-2023, 02:25 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  bill gate and rocketfellow was the richest in the past
elon will be another past after time has past

they are temporary

so dont poke too deep into your idol

Smile every timeline there is one likewise our life too mah.

so my present time line is my idol Elon M.

(21-07-2023, 02:29 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Smile every timeline there is one likewise our life too mah.

so my present time line is my idol Elon M.

words of wisdom

just dont poke too deep inside

may suffer from decompression sickness (DCS) once you unpoked

(21-07-2023, 02:23 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Smile this is why my idol Elon M is the WORLD RICHEST man , those Rich PRC still below of him come the World Richest ranking.

You respect and love him so much, he is so freaking rich got give you any thing beneficial?

You are never in his mind. Lol

Dont laugh!

[Image: 884b6463-bead-4f2b-a5e9-b2229665d322.jpg]

(21-07-2023, 12:28 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Politics: Singapore loses four MPs and one rising star in a week

Bery well written article. Upz you 1 for sharing dis good read.
[+] 1 user Likes luncheonmeat's post

(21-07-2023, 03:38 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  Bery well written article. Upz you 1 for sharing dis good read.

I extracted it from Jom bro Big Grin

(21-07-2023, 01:04 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  They join for mangoes! Big Grin

[Image: Screenshot-20230718-223046-You-Tube.jpg]

(21-07-2023, 02:11 PM)TopSage Wrote:  taxi uncle said Lim got affair too, he pick up them before

In Singapore it's really very hard to hide. Better wear mask, sunglasses and a Nike cap. Booking hotel is a sure giveaway the moment you register.

Actually this Lim has a very humsup face. I think I can believe the taxi shushu..  Rotfl

(21-07-2023, 02:22 PM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  The rot started from the top.

Are you saying that the LP and NRS rot is caused by PS?  Big Grin

Maybe the political parties in sg can come to an agreement that adultery is not a crime. Not need to quit lah. Nowadays people can f who they like. Otherwise, more MPs on either side will continue dropping like flies.

Nice titties Big Grin

(21-07-2023, 05:39 PM)starbugs Wrote:  Maybe the political parties in sg can come to an agreement that adultery is not a crime. Not need to quit lah. Nowadays people can f who they like. Otherwise, more MPs on either side will continue dropping like flies.
Can be NO#1 starter. 2wives plus one mistress put it in the Law. Smile
[+] 1 user Likes Blin's post