Prices of popular fish double at wet markets ahead of CNY

The Straits Times visited six wet markets on Wednesday (Jan 26) and found that Chinese pomfret was selling for as high as $90 to $100 a kg, up from $40 to $50 a kg last November. Red grouper was priced at up to $75 a kg, from $30 to $40 a kg in November.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/c...s-100-a-kg

(26-01-2022, 04:21 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  The Straits Times visited six wet markets on Wednesday (Jan 26) and found that Chinese pomfret was selling for as high as $90 to $100 a kg, up from $40 to $50 a kg last November. Red grouper was priced at up to $75 a kg, from $30 to $40 a kg in November.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/c...s-100-a-kg

For the time being don't eat fish, during CNY loh..........
[+] 3 users Like debono's post

Cannot eat other types of fish?

Yesterday, my mum 1 salmon from NTUC at 19.90 per kg.

Huat arh!

Sack half the Mayors & PAP Ministers

My Sister told me that garoupa is extremely expensive. Double the price now.

(26-01-2022, 05:06 PM)Gemstar Wrote:  My Sister told me that garoupa is extremely expensive. Double the price now.

Just abstain from eating fish, can eat chicken, pork, beef or mutton instead......

a few days dun eat is ok.
[+] 1 user Likes WhatDoYouThink?'s post

All these prices bloating is the consumers own doing …. die die wanna show off eat big fish just on CNY. All can eat almost everyday of the year without these inflated price. The biz owners know you fools will cheong for it so the double triple the price knowing you will pay for it.

(26-01-2022, 05:20 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  All these prices bloating is the consumers own doing …. die die wanna show off eat big fish just on CNY. All can eat almost everyday of the year without these inflated price. The biz owners know you fools will cheong for it so the double triple the price knowing you will pay for it.

It is more of a superstition......cos they say nain nain yew yee......

Last week already buy Prawns and a bag of Kuning.

(26-01-2022, 05:27 PM)debono Wrote:  It is more of a superstition......cos they say nain nain yew yee......

Thats the price you pay for superstition

(26-01-2022, 04:52 PM)Ola Wrote:  Cannot eat other types of fish?

Yesterday, my mum 1 salmon from NTUC at 19.90 per kg.

Huat arh!

This salmon is not sashimi grade. Have to cook. Cannot use to toss for yusheng.

Medium Size Korean Dried Oysters: 200 grams $10 The pieces can count.
100 grams 5.50

Next time buy those 1 pack normal one.

Pomfret: Got different types and they taste differently.
Red grouper: Nowadays mostly from farm but still expensive. Used to buy the small ones but found that they are not worth it.

(26-01-2022, 04:28 PM)debono Wrote:  For the time being don't eat fish, during CNY loh..........

Yup BE A SMART SHOPPER not Dumb Shopper like to give money Free lol

(26-01-2022, 05:42 PM)theold Wrote:  Pomfret: Got different types and they taste differently.
Red grouper: Nowadays mostly from farm but still expensive. Used to buy the small ones but found that they are not worth it.

Farmed red grouper should not be so expensive, cos they are grown in large numbers in fish farms....

(26-01-2022, 06:00 PM)5354 Wrote:  I ate overnight abalone this morning

Song boh?

Abalone now CHEAP, Depend which one you eat
Over mass production ones Or those need to rear for 5 , 10 years or so High grade ones.

Got difference one ok.

(26-01-2022, 06:00 PM)debono Wrote:  Farmed red grouper should not be so expensive, cos they are grown in large numbers in fish farms....

They are still expensive because there is no sand taste.

(26-01-2022, 06:00 PM)debono Wrote:  Farmed red grouper should not be so expensive, cos they are grown in large numbers in fish farms....

" Some BS one rah " Because CNY , STANDARD INCREASE PRICE now is " Claim low supply etc blah blah " got excuse to Increase Double "

put it in a nasty way, Greedy " cunning seller " they do learn well from Greedy PAP

They know surely got Dumb Shopper or those Rich ones buying.

My Rich Uncle not so dumb, he do Business one thus he knows what he looking for.

(26-01-2022, 06:04 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  " Some BS one rah " Because CNY , STANDARD INCREASE PRICE now is " Claim low supply etc blah blah " got excuse to Increase Double "

put it in a nasty way, Greedy " cunning seller " they do learn well from Greedy PAP

They know surely got Dumb Shopper or those Rich ones buying.

My Rich Uncle not so dumb, he do Business one thus he knows what he looking for.

your uncle is a smart man......

Can go debok jetty to fish and bring back.

(26-01-2022, 07:21 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Can go debok jetty to fish and bring back.

Bedok jetty have only ikan bilis.....

LOL, still remember Our highly paid President claim " Don't have Chicken eat Fish "

(26-01-2022, 07:24 PM)debono Wrote:  Bedok jetty have only ikan bilis.....

😱 😱

Here in Taiwan I am following a fish monger live telecast via YouTube where he is selling his seafood in Tainan wet market. He began his telecast from 6:30 am to 12 noon.

The way he sells his seafood is in heap or load. For instant the white promfret size of a palm, he would sell like 4-5 pieces for 50 SGD, those Hokkaido scallops each boxes sells around 10 SGD….and he will telecast only on Thursday and Saturday.

This week he will sell additionally one more day on Sunday.