Prison work used to lure & rape female inmates in US. Rapists sometimes walk free

https://apnews.com/article/prison-rape-w...f02b2f0e5a

female prisoners long have been victims of sexual violence, the number of reports against correctional staff has exploded nationwide in recent years. Many complaints follow a similar pattern: Accusers are retaliated against, while those accused face little or no punishment.

In all 50 states, the AP found cases where staff allegedly used inmate work assignments to lure women to isolated spots, out of view of security cameras. The prisoners said they were attacked while doing jobs like kitchen or laundry duty inside correctional facilities or in work-release programs that placed them at private businesses like national fast-food restaurants and hotel chains.

As part of a two-year investigation that has exposed everything from multinational companies benefiting from prison labor to incarcerated workers’ lack of rights and protections, AP reporters spoke to more than 100 current and former prisoners nationwide, including women who said they were sexually abused by correctional staff.

The AP also scoured thousands of pages of court filings, police reports, audits and other documents that detailed graphic stories of systemic sexual violence and cover-ups from New York to Florida to California.

Those cases prompted a bipartisan Senate investigation two years ago that found prisoners were sexually abused by wardens, guards, chaplains or other staff in at least two-thirds of all women’s federal prisons over the past decade. But a backlog of thousands of cases has impeded the Bureau of Prison’s ability to hold employees accountable, government investigators said.

Sometimes, even a confession isn’t enough to lead to punishment. At another federal facility in Florida, a guard who had sex with women on landscape duty was among at least six men who were not prosecuted even though they admitted to the misconduct during an internal investigation, according to the Senate report. That was in part because, by law, government employees cannot be criminally charged if they are compelled to make statements.

Internationally, prison rape is recognized as a form of torture. While it is illegal in the U.S, correctional officers have argued in some states that – despite the clear power imbalance – inmates gave their consent. Laws vary widely. For example, sexual abuse of an inmate can be a misdemeanor in Kentucky with a maximum sentence of 12 months, but prison rape is a felony in Pennsylvania, carrying up to seven years behind bars.

Correctional staff often quit or retire before internal investigations are complete, sometimes retaining pensions and other benefits

The US appears to be going back to the days of the Wild Wild West where life was cheap. The law seems to be more concerned with protecting criminals than victims. 

(01-11-2024, 02:21 PM)Levin Wrote:  https://apnews.com/article/prison-rape-w...f02b2f0e5a

Prisoners also need sex lah! Big Grin Normal human beings lah!

staff members often started out being nice — bringing them fast food or makeup — and then raped them, peeped at them in showers or forced them to strip and perform sex acts on other prisoners while the guards watched.

They rarely report assaults, fearing they won’t be believed or will be punished, ranging from losing their jobs to being placed in solitary confinement or denied contact with their children. And many on work release have only a short time left to serve and are wary of doing anything that could send them back to prison or add time to their sentences.

In most cases nationwide, internal investigations determine that allegations are “unsubstantiated.” And in the cases that have enough evidence to wind their way through the legal system, only 6% of the nearly 1,000 staff who reportedly engaged in sexual misconduct with male and female inmates in 2019 and 2020 were convicted

(01-11-2024, 06:25 PM)Levin Wrote:  staff members often started out being nice — bringing them fast food or makeup — and then raped them, peeped at them in showers or forced them to strip and perform sex acts on other prisoners while the guards watched.

They rarely report assaults, fearing they won’t be believed or will be punished, ranging from losing their jobs to being placed in solitary confinement or denied contact with their children. And many on work release have only a short time left to serve and are wary of doing anything that could send them back to prison or add time to their sentences.

In most cases nationwide, internal investigations determine that allegations are “unsubstantiated.” And in the cases that have enough evidence to wind their way through the legal system, only 6% of the nearly 1,000 staff who reportedly engaged in sexual misconduct with male and female inmates in 2019 and 2020 were convicted

Unwritten rules lah! Big Grin

(01-11-2024, 06:27 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Unwritten rules lah! Big Grin

You seem to have a lot of experience. Where are you squatting at the moment? Big Grin

(01-11-2024, 06:30 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  You seem to have a lot of experience. Where are you squatting at the moment? Big Grin

Now sitting on my director's seat lah! Big Grin Last time kana SAFDB before lah!

(01-11-2024, 07:08 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Now sitting on my director's seat lah! Big Grin Last time kana SAFDB before lah!

I heard DB very xiong! Just one pail of water for shower..is it true?
We all made mistakes in the past...

powerful unions sometimes work to shield staff from allegations of misconduct. And in some cases, correctional officers who speak out are retaliated against.

Things were so bad at FCI Dublin in California that prisoners and staff named it “the rape club,”

(01-11-2024, 09:14 PM)pinkpanther Wrote:  I heard DB very xiong! Just one pail of water for shower..is it true?
We all made mistakes in the past...

Every time you see a yellow line you must stand sedia and ask for permission to carry on lah! Big Grin Pumping 20 times is very common for every mistake you make lah! Someone talked to you and you looked at that guy both of you knock it down 20 lah! Aiyah, plenty of stories to tell lah! Tekan is an understatement lah! They called it corrective discipline lah!

(02-11-2024, 08:45 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Every time you see a yellow line you must stand sedia and ask for permission to carry on lah! Big Grin Pumping 20 times is very common for every mistake you make lah! Someone talked to you and you looked at that guy both of you knock it down 20 lah! Aiyah, plenty of stories to tell lah! Tekan is an understatement lah! They called it corrective discipline lah!

Everyday report sick cannot tekan! Big Grin

(02-11-2024, 08:53 AM)pinkpanther Wrote:  Everyday report sick cannot tekan! Big Grin

Every morning ALL must report to the medical station for examinations lah! Big Grin Those who are malingering or keng sick sure kana tekan jialat jialat lah!

(01-11-2024, 03:26 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The US appears to be going back to the days of the Wild Wild West where life was cheap. The law seems to be more concerned with protecting criminals than victims. 

They never progress lah. Where got appear to go back? Laughing

(02-11-2024, 09:00 AM)winbig Wrote:  They never progress lah. Where got appear to go back? Laughing

Iswaran is very safe in Changi

The world's No.1 safest prison

(02-11-2024, 08:57 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Every morning ALL must report to the medical station for examinations lah! Big Grin Those who are malingering or keng sick sure kana tekan jialat jialat lah!

Usually short sentence they will tekan
So after DB they send you back to your camp or they arrange something else for you Big Grin

(02-11-2024, 09:22 AM)pinkpanther Wrote:  Usually short sentence they will tekan
So after DB they send you back to your camp or they arrange something else for you Big Grin

I was detained because I failed IPPT and refused to go for RT lah! Big Grin I got specialised training inside DB then later passed lah! Not bad for 10 days in-house training lah!

(02-11-2024, 09:32 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I was detained because I failed IPPT and refused to go for RT lah! Big Grin I got specialised training inside DB then later passed lah! Not bad for 10 days in-house training lah!

Chey..I also kena charge for failure to attend ippt and RT..First few times charge me at cmpb..pay $100 fine then 2nd time pay $200 fine..then charge me at the DB camp near Choa chu kang..pay $300 piak off from there!

That time got RT phase 1 if still fail must go phase 2..waste time!

(02-11-2024, 09:49 AM)pinkpanther Wrote:  Chey..I also kena charge for failure to attend ippt and RT..First few times charge me at cmpb..pay $100 fine then 2nd time pay $200 fine..then charge me at the DB camp near Choa chu kang..pay $300 piak off from there!

That time got RT phase 1 if still fail must go phase 2..waste time!

I also went through RT lah! Big Grin Sibeh siong lah!

(02-11-2024, 09:59 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I also went through RT lah! Big Grin Sibeh siong lah!

Siong sai lah...I see many just scan ic liao go inside car and rest...15 mins before ending..all come out do warm down get ready to return number tag Big Grin

Maju camp is very lax.

(02-11-2024, 10:02 AM)pinkpanther Wrote:  Siong sai lah...I see many just scan ic liao go inside car and rest...15 mins before ending..all come out do warm down get ready to return number tag Big Grin

Maju camp is very lax.

I kana log PT, lead ball PT, and running with fullpack not siong meh? Thinking

(02-11-2024, 10:08 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I kana log PT, lead ball PT, and running with fullpack not siong meh? Thinking

This is ippt rt or DB corrective training? Smile
You never tell the Ocifer you are only here to stay for 10 days..don't make life difficult Big Grin
then proceed to light a cigarette for him.. Big Grin

(01-11-2024, 03:26 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The US appears to be going back to the days of the Wild Wild West where life was cheap. The law seems to be more concerned with protecting criminals than victims. 

been this way for decades................this is what happens when Jews control the country and people vote Democrats..........