Redstar Dimsum restaurant is still in operation
28-02-2022, 09:42 AM
I like their porridge very nice
28-02-2022, 09:46 AM
28-02-2022, 09:52 AM
28-02-2022, 10:02 AM
(28-02-2022, 09:46 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: operated by Communists huh ?
or very expensive and food is lousy ?
Welcome To Redstar Restaurant | Redstar Restaurant
https://redstarrestaurant.com.sg/
28-02-2022, 10:11 AM
28-02-2022, 10:21 AM
Ha! My mother was only asking about this 2 weeks ago. But not sure if need to make appointment or not.
Anyway, their quality only so so. I only go there because of nostalgia for the place.
28-02-2022, 12:41 PM
(28-02-2022, 10:21 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: Ha! My mother was only asking about this 2 weeks ago. But not sure if need to make appointment or not.
There are some faces of the staff there that look like those of my primary school mate parents. I think they were there for ages.
28-02-2022, 12:48 PM
Mostly aunties late 60s. My mum likes the place so what to do?

Always fight lowball offers wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine

28-02-2022, 12:51 PM
Anyway I always like to check out Jalan Kukoh after that

Always fight lowball offers wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine

28-02-2022, 12:53 PM
(28-02-2022, 10:21 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: Ha! My mother was only asking about this 2 weeks ago. But not sure if need to make appointment or not.
The quality changes depending on who is helming the kitchen. Dat time I went during peak period the standard was excellent, on par with the top hotel dim sum restaurants. Another time I went during off peak it was sub-par. Dis is why you get mixed reviews of the restaurant.
28-02-2022, 03:07 PM
28-02-2022, 03:13 PM
28-02-2022, 03:17 PM
Worth visiting??
Not cheap ?
Not cheap ?
28-02-2022, 03:24 PM

28-02-2022, 04:21 PM
I want intro you all one coffeeshop. Eating and sitting there make you feel like you are in Malaysia.
28-02-2022, 04:25 PM
Heard long ago the standard was top. Top bad I never got to taste the original standard. Lots of dim sum around, but I think these days most just tummy filing instead of raging shiok to the taste buds... Lol
28-02-2022, 04:26 PM
28-02-2022, 04:27 PM
28-02-2022, 04:29 PM
(28-02-2022, 04:25 PM)Sticw Wrote: Heard long ago the standard was top. Top bad I never got to taste the original standard. Lots of dim sum around, but I think these days most just tummy filing instead of raging shiok to the taste buds... Lol
I think if you're not fussy it's ok lah. But once you tried the very good quality dim sum then you may hiam.
It's ok lah, value for money since it's not too expensive.
28-02-2022, 04:30 PM
28-02-2022, 04:35 PM
(28-02-2022, 04:30 PM)Sticw Wrote: Where can find very good quality one. Can share the address?
https://sethlui.com/best-dim-sums-singapore-guide/
So far Hua Ting is da best imo. Red star is as good [different taste but got authentic old school quality] when their good chefs are cooking.
28-02-2022, 04:36 PM
28-02-2022, 04:40 PM
(28-02-2022, 04:30 PM)Sticw Wrote: Where can find very good quality one. Can share the address?
I ate many times at Teochew Paradise at Vivo. Although it's Teochew but the dimsum is very good. The Imperial Treasure Fine Teochew Cuisine at Guoco Tower also good but this one quite expensive. I didn't eat much but it's about $50 per person.
For reasonably priced one is Tim Ho Wan, but variety not so much. My wife likes the dimsum at nosignboard and regularly eats there. She said it's cheaper than Teochew Paradise though the quality is slightly worse off.
Another one is 黑社会. This one used to be very good but I think quality dropped liao.
28-02-2022, 04:43 PM
(28-02-2022, 04:40 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: I ate many times at Teochew Paradise at Vivo. Although it's Teochew but the dimsum is very good. The Imperial Treasure Fine Teochew Cuisine at Guoco Tower also good but this one quite expensive. I didn't eat much but it's about $50 per person.
For reasonably priced one is Tim Ho Wan, but variety not so much. My wife likes the dimsum at nosignboard and regularly eats there. She said it's cheaper than Teochew Paradise though the quality is slightly worse off.
Another one is 黑社会. This one used to be very good but I think quality dropped liao.
Yes Imperial Treasure dim sum iz beri good. Hua Ting is even better for me. Taste iz subjective. Tim Ho Wan has smaller range and not all iz of good standard. There iz another beri good and popular wan with authentic hk taste at Jurong called HK masters. Their fried stuff is excellent and almost every item iz good.
28-02-2022, 04:47 PM
(28-02-2022, 04:40 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: I ate many times at Teochew Paradise at Vivo. Although it's Teochew but the dimsum is very good. The Imperial Treasure Fine Teochew Cuisine at Guoco Tower also good but this one quite expensive. I didn't eat much but it's about $50 per person.
THW is reasonable price??????

28-02-2022, 04:48 PM
I forgot. Shang Palace in Shangri-La hotel is also good but this one is very pricey. I only ate a few times because I have vouchers to offset the cost.
28-02-2022, 04:54 PM
28-02-2022, 04:57 PM
I was forced to go Redstar dimsum twice as my korean friend liked the place and food. 
I lost appetite from just the look of the dimsum.

28-02-2022, 04:58 PM