Repost from HWZ. Why no media reported this in Tampines?

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threa...s.6898281/

Update on the situation:

Indeed the block painting (Repair and Redecoration, R&R) is overdue.

Residents may remember that your precinct was selected for Neighbourhood Renewal Programme (NRP) some years ago, which is a HDB programme to improve estate facilities with sheltered linkways, playgrounds etc. It was then that HDB enhanced NRP to include R&R.

In the past, R&R comes under the town council which uses the S&CC paid by residents. It helps the town council (and residents) save money if NRP can pay for R&R. Hence, we decided to park R&R under NRP.

NRP is a much larger project covering other precincts and the upgrading of Tampines North Park. At that time, part of the park was affected by the Tampines East MRT station construction. We had to wait for the affected land to be reinstated before NRP can be planned. That was completed in end 2017.

NRP is an extensive project involving many resident consultation sessions and it requires residents to vote in support before HDB could approve it. However soon after it was done, the pandemic struck.

A lot of the planning and authority approval procedures were slowed down. As it covers many areas, any delay in one part affected the progress of the whole NRP.

Eventually we called the tender in 2022 but the contractor pulled out just before starting work.

We decided to delink R&R from NRP as we really wanted to proceed with the painting asap. Luckily HDB agreed to it while still providing the budget.

The painting contractor was appointed early 2023 and we are now finalising the colour schemes. Residents will soon be asked to vote for their preference among three choices and the town council will go with the one getting the highest vote.

In the coming months, we will start to do drone inspection of facade, washing, repairs and painting.

Over the years, we have put up various notices in the lift to update residents of the delays and developments. I have also visited residents to update them and seek their understanding personally.

However, I know we won’t be able to reach everyone. Thanks for raising this and giving me the opportunity to explain.

Appreciate your patience and understanding.

Baey Yam Keng

(24-07-2023, 09:02 PM)Buffybuffy Wrote:  Update on the situation:

Indeed the block painting (Repair and Redecoration, R&R) is overdue.

Residents may remember that your precinct was selected for Neighbourhood Renewal Programme (NRP) some years ago, which is a HDB programme to improve estate facilities with sheltered linkways, playgrounds etc. It was then that HDB enhanced NRP to include R&R.

In the past, R&R comes under the town council which uses the S&CC paid by residents. It helps the town council (and residents) save money if NRP can pay for R&R. Hence, we decided to park R&R under NRP.

NRP is a much larger project covering other precincts and the upgrading of Tampines North Park. At that time, part of the park was affected by the Tampines East MRT station construction. We had to wait for the affected land to be reinstated before NRP can be planned. That was completed in end 2017.

NRP is an extensive project involving many resident consultation sessions and it requires residents to vote in support before HDB could approve it. However soon after it was done, the pandemic struck.

A lot of the planning and authority approval procedures were slowed down. As it covers many areas, any delay in one part affected the progress of the whole NRP.

Eventually we called the tender in 2022 but the contractor pulled out just before starting work.

We decided to delink R&R from NRP as we really wanted to proceed with the painting asap. Luckily HDB agreed to it while still providing the budget.

The painting contractor was appointed early 2023 and we are now finalising the colour schemes. Residents will soon be asked to vote for their preference among three choices and the town council will go with the one getting the highest vote.

In the coming months, we will start to do drone inspection of facade, washing, repairs and painting.

Over the years, we have put up various notices in the lift to update residents of the delays and developments. I have also visited residents to update them and seek their understanding personally.

However, I know we won’t be able to reach everyone. Thanks for raising this and giving me the opportunity to explain.

Appreciate your patience and understanding.

Baey Yam Keng

Over sighted with excuse . Why that time delink never look into risk and con?

15 years ago was 2008
Pandemic was 2020.
2008-2020 busy having affair?

“Eventually we called the tender in 2022 but the contractor pulled out just before starting work.”

How did they do their tender process and evaluation? They didn’t do a background check on the company they awarded to?

So what was the price difference between the contractor that pulled out and the one they awarded to now? They didn’t even mentioned names of the company. Could it be a case of opened and closed due to price differences. No penalty for pulling out?
[+] 1 user Likes Buffybuffy's post

(24-07-2023, 09:04 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Over sighted with excuse . Why that time delink never look into risk and con?
15 years and only when then delink? Then push to pandemic. Cheap shot.

15 yrs is really too long. Private condos at most 6 yrs or so
[+] 2 users Like WhatDoYouThink!'s post

This is problem when all matters outsource to third party.We have many Gov related listed companies. Why these companies are not utilized when need arises? Why we invest so much taxpayers resources into these companies?
These companies should return the support taxpayers have rendered indirectly thru the Gov when need arises to avoid third party hold the governing authority to ransom.
[+] 1 user Likes Ernesto's post

Quite dumb the response by the gym selfie king. If NRP delayed, should convert back to using sc&c fund. As if the residents didn't pay their sc&c.
[+] 1 user Likes starbugs's post

(24-07-2023, 09:32 PM)Ernesto Wrote:  This is problem when all matters outsource to third party.We have many Gov related listed companies. Why these companies are not utilized when need arises? Why we invest so much taxpayers resources into these companies?
These companies should return the support taxpayers have rendered indirectly thru the Gov when need arises to avoid third party hold the governing authority to ransom.
Already kena held ransom liao. CCS leaked voice recording is clearly only business owners attending. Obviously the traders don’t like him so changed him out by leaking. Maybe same reason. Told them to change long ago but they act blur so leak to force change.

(24-07-2023, 10:05 PM)starbugs Wrote:  Quite dumb the response by the gym selfie king. If NRP delayed, should convert back to using sc&c fund. As if the residents didn't pay their sc&c.
He forgotten to mention that his pay also comes from the residents there which was totally forgotten.

What's so difficult to paint ten p_nis ?

Bet no wrong finding in their audit checks.

Tampines is slumpenis...