Resale HDB Prices Will Fall 30-35% From Its Peak Over The Next 5-6 Years

In the event of an unexpected economic crisis, the price correction will be more severe

50% drop from the peak will not be unexpected

Song boh?

The HEAVENS gave me the RIGHT TO RULE, so let me LIVE LONG & PROSPEROUS.
[+] 1 user Likes FartSunKing's post

What the ....

i doubt but 10-20% is possible. Condo will be more....

https://www.housingmap.sg/hdb-prices/

[Image: HDB-Resale-Price-Index.png]

The chart is very clear ... against the physical units completed ... not to mention there is distinct period of differing price marking rules and policies gostaning ...

don't spread rumors

You Malaysian scare what? Sell at a loss go back Malaysia retire happy like FARK.

HDB prices are totally controlled and manipulated by pap.

It really takes a moron to try predict the price using chart. 😆

So far never happen dont be Silly Fart Sun. Likely will rise 30% more because of mass immigration imported...

(10-03-2025, 05:05 PM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  HDB prices are totally controlled and manipulated by pap.

It really takes a moron to try predict the price using chart. 😆

Former PAP Minister Mah Bow Tan will slap your face

And fcuk you like TSL fcuked that idiotic fcuked faced oppie retard from psp

For your idiotic comment on HDB resale prices being controlled by PAP

PAP does not want resale HDB prices to rise sharply and cause unhappiness among voters

Get it you stupid fcuk?

On 20 May 2011, Mah Bow Tan said at a Building and Construction Authority event that he accepted responsibility over public unhappiness due to a sharp increase in housing prices over the previous years.[4] He stepped down from his Cabinet position of Minister for National Development after the 2011 general election.[5] In a 2013 Chinese-language book published by the Hainan Culture and Heritage Centre, Mah refuted rumours that he had to step down because he had seemingly been blamed for growing public unhappiness over sky-rocketing property prices, .....

ya ya ya, there are some old uncles still waiting for it to drop to 1970 prices at $10k

during sub-prime crisis, these uncles think their dream is coming soon

(10-03-2025, 05:17 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  So far never happen dont be Silly Fart Sun.  Likely will rise 30% more because of mass immigration imported...

I used to stay in an executive mainsonnette at Teban Gardens

I bought it around end 1991 for $185K

Price at the 1996 peak was around $500K+

I sold mine in 1998 for $385K

Price drop to $250K at the 2003 lows, 50% drop from the 1996 peak

It happened before, can happen again, HDB resale prices can crash up to 50% from its cycle high

BTW, are you aware in 2005 you can buy a new ready built executive flat in Jurong West for just $250K?

When Pinnacle@Duxton launched in May 2004, five-room flats cost between $345,100 and $439,400. These prices were high for the time, and much more expensive than the average HDB BTO.

As of June 29, 2024, the highest price paid for a unit at The Pinnacle@Duxton in Singapore was $1,542,000 for a 5-room flat. This was for a 1,130 sq ft unit on the 43rd floor of Block 1D Cantonment Road.

(10-03-2025, 05:45 PM)FartSunKing Wrote:  When Pinnacle@Duxton launched in May 2004, five-room flats cost between $345,100 and $439,400. These prices were high for the time, and much more expensive than the average HDB BTO.

As of June 29, 2024, the highest price paid for a unit at The Pinnacle@Duxton in Singapore was $1,542,000 for a 5-room flat. This was for a 1,130 sq ft unit on the 43rd floor of Block 1D Cantonment Road.

Can Pinnacle@Duxton 5rm flat prices drop 30-35% from its peak over the next 5-6 years

To around $1M from high of $1,542,000 or more

Certainly possible because the original owners/buyers who paid $345,100 and $439,400 for their 5rm flat

Can still make more than 100% gross profits, thanks to HDB, CPF & PAP

All here UNDERSTAND??

(10-03-2025, 01:23 PM)FartSunKing Wrote:  Resale HDB Prices Will Fall 30-35% From Its Peak Over The Next 5-6 Years

In the event of an unexpected economic crisis, the price correction will be more severe

50% drop from the peak will not be unexpected

Song boh?

Agree. That why the rich owner of Pte property are selling. And buy hdb flat. 

They are waiting to buy back supa cheap later.

Of cos prices will drop. Just a matter of time.

(10-03-2025, 11:19 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Of cos prices will drop. Just a matter of time.

hard to say, Greedy PAP now give " rebates " to those from Private property downgrade to HDB.

Means there will be another group of people in fact got ample cash to buy resale HDB flat. Go ballot is hard now somemore with New citizens ballot too on top with locals trying to get their first HDB flat. Next also got 2 time owner trying their luck ( this group of course will hard to get it since they already ballot before but also hard to say ) Remember each citizen can ballot two times , means used to owned a HDB flat before and ballot again.

Summary they create an " Eco system " whereby surely there are people buying HDB flats and resale HDB flats despite price is high...

Don't forget PRs also can buy HDB flat but is Resale HDB flats.

And remember Govt already make it clear , Need Foreigners , talents.....thus Expect more PRs .....beside New Citizen...

But for me , IS still boil down which Foreigner countries. Especially India , CECA is so desperate wanna come SG , PRC wise in fact some don't fancy coming to SG beside some still is.

Next come Tropical Malaysians , they are the next largest group. As malaysia just beside next most of them come SG work here.

the last also Pinoy , now Vietnamese...

Ang Mo seem getting lesser..I don't know as this LHL is super pro CECA...

(10-03-2025, 11:43 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  hard to say, Greedy PAP now give " rebates " to those from Private property downgrade to HDB.

Means there will be another group of people in fact got ample cash to buy resale HDB flat. Go ballot is hard now somemore with New citizens ballot too on top with locals trying to get their first HDB flat. Next also got 2 time owner trying their luck ( this group of course will hard to get it since they already ballot before but also hard to say ) Remember each citizen can ballot two times , means used to owned a HDB flat before and ballot again.

Summary they create an " Eco system " whereby surely there are people buying HDB flats and resale HDB flats despite price is high...

Don't forget PRs also can buy HDB flat but is Resale HDB flats.

And remember Govt already make it clear , Need Foreigners , talents.....thus Expect more PRs .....beside New Citizen...

But for me , IS still boil down which Foreigner countries. Especially India , CECA is so desperate wanna come SG , PRC wise in fact some don't fancy coming to SG beside some still is.

Next come Tropical Malaysians , they are the next largest group. As malaysia just beside next most of them come SG work here.

the last also Pinoy , now Vietnamese...

Ang Mo seem getting lesser..I don't know as this LHL is super pro CECA...

There's nothing hard at all. It is a sure thing. Nothing, good or bad, really lasts forever.

Why will drop
Gov import alot of FTs and many flock to SG to buy properties
[+] 1 user Likes Talent's post

HDB Resale Price Index for 1Q2025 will hit 200, possibly the peak before a slow fall back to around 140.

[Image: aIW8sMj.png]

The Housing Board resale market will start to stabilise as more of such flats enter the market over the next few years and existing cooling measures continue to take effect, said National Development Minister Desmond Lee.

Citing a supply-demand imbalance as the reason for high resale flat prices, he pointed out that the Covid-19 pandemic had severely impacted construction of new flats and also caused demand to spike because people were concerned about housing delays.

High resale prices have caused concern among Singaporeans over the affordability of public housing.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/p...effect-mnd

(Yesterday, 08:36 AM)FartSunKing Wrote:  The Housing Board resale market will start to stabilise as more of such flats enter the market over the next few years and existing cooling measures continue to take effect, said National Development Minister Desmond Lee.

Citing a supply-demand imbalance as the reason for high resale flat prices, he pointed out that the Covid-19 pandemic had severely impacted construction of new flats and also caused demand to spike because people were concerned about housing delays.

High resale prices have caused concern among Singaporeans over the affordability of public housing.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/p...effect-mnd

Addressing these anxieties in Parliament, Mr Lee said there will be a significant jump in the number of new flats reaching their minimum occupation period (MOP), from 8,000 in 2025 to 13,500 in 2026. The number of flats meeting their MOP will steadily increase before hitting 19,500 in 2028, added Mr Lee.

Thus, “the supply tightness should start to recover next year”, he said, after noting that fewer flats had reached their MOP in recent years because fewer units were completed during the pandemic.

https://www.99.co/singapore/insider/bala...rty-value/

The simplest explanation for the non-linear nature of Bala’s Curve is to treat the leasehold property is a future rental income source, while also considering inflation by introducing a discount rate to the formula.

In the rather complicated formula for Bala’s Curve, which we will not touch on here, rental income is assumed to rise at a constant rate, but still at about 3.5% below the discount rate (according to this report), which erodes the value of rental income.

With the formula, the value of the leasehold value decreases gently initially. But just after the 30-year mark, the discount rate makes its effect known (it is like the reverse of compound interest on your bank savings). As a result, your rental income in the later years of a lease (i.e. the value of that property) worth less and less at an ever faster rate until it hits zero at the end of the lease.

[Image: SmXfP1q.png]

(Yesterday, 09:10 AM)FartSunKing Wrote:  https://www.99.co/singapore/insider/bala...rty-value/

The simplest explanation for the non-linear nature of Bala’s Curve is to treat the leasehold property is a future rental income source, while also considering inflation by introducing a discount rate to the formula.

In the rather complicated formula for Bala’s Curve, which we will not touch on here, rental income is assumed to rise at a constant rate, but still at about 3.5% below the discount rate (according to this report), which erodes the value of rental income.

With the formula, the value of the leasehold value decreases gently initially. But just after the 30-year mark, the discount rate makes its effect known (it is like the reverse of compound interest on your bank savings). As a result, your rental income in the later years of a lease (i.e. the value of that property) worth less and less at an ever faster rate until it hits zero at the end of the lease.

[Image: SmXfP1q.png]

In March 2017, then-Minister for National Development, Lawrence Wong, saw fit to respond to the phenomenon of aging, short-lease HDB flats being sold at high prices, as reported in Lianhe Zaobao.

In a post on the MND blog site (yes, MND had a blog), Wong cautioned against buying an older resale flat at a high price in anticipation of SERS.

Wong warned that HDB flat prices would inevitably start to fall at some point, as their leases run down.

He wrote that "buyers need to do their due diligence and be realistic when buying flats with short leases".

https://mothership.sg/2020/11/hdb-lease-or-own/

My 5I resale HDB flat, a sanctuary of art,
Where every piece plays its part.
In their silence, a symphony plays,
A melody of past ancient days.

Oh, let me dwell in this sacred space,
Where past and present find their place.
Here in my sanctuary, where whispers reside,
Jade dragons gleam with ancestral pride.

Within this chamber, time stands still,
A sanctuary shaped by artisan will.
Bronze and jade in twilight gleam,
Whispering echoes of an emperor’s dream.

Porcelain wonders, so fragile, so pure,
In their glaze, a beauty to endure.
Oh, the joy, the deep delight,
In these relics of a bygone night.

Zitan's richness, a royal embrace,
Huanghuali's grain, a timeless grace.
Golden nanmu, with a glow so rare,
In their presence, all worldly care.

In this sanctuary, I find my peace,
Surrounded by art, my worries cease.
The celestial whispers, the ethereal glow,
Guide my heart where dreams still grow.

Here in this quintessence shrine,
Where past and present intertwine,
I sit, I breathe, my soul takes flight,
A poet lost in art’s pure light.

[Image: N9GUYGH.jpg]

[Image: A7Rom4M.jpg]

(10-03-2025, 05:39 PM)FartSunKing Wrote:  I used to stay in an executive mainsonnette at Teban Gardens

I bought it around end 1991 for $185K

Price at the 1996 peak was around $500K+

I sold mine in 1998 for $385K

Price drop to $250K at the 2003 lows, 50% drop from the 1996 peak

It happened before, can happen again, HDB resale prices can crash up to 50% from its cycle high

BTW, are you aware in 2005 you can buy a new ready built executive flat in Jurong West for just $250K?

I saw the condos in good places like Novena drop around 50% before. Private are more volatile..

(Yesterday, 10:02 AM)Niubee Wrote:  I saw the condos in good places like Novena drop around 50% before. Private are more volatile..

Hello this is exception than norm
Because sudden intro of ABSD 60%

(10-03-2025, 05:28 PM)FartSunKing Wrote:  PAP does not want resale HDB prices to rise sharply and cause unhappiness among voters

You just proved me right. Pap controlled the HDB prices to win votes and you are a moron. Laughing

As of July 2024, the most expensive resale HDB flat in Singapore was a five-room unit at SkyOasis @ Dawson that sold for S$1.73 million. 

https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/a-new...#gs.kvxf0i