Retrenched at 45 years old and been freelance/ jobless for 10 years

I was out and about these few days and got to know some1.

She was retrenched at 45 years old by SIA and was given a choice to transfer to IBM.  But the staff in IBM will be doing the same job as her, meaning she will face 2nd time retrenchment by IBM later.

She tried to apply to work Customer Service in Hotel, but maybe her appearance is average. And also as Admin Asst, but failed after 5 years o trying. Even as property agent, but the market is saturated these few years with

For the past 10 years, she is practically jobless except to help out once a while in the void deck shop.

Her case is similar to Jac Lau, who is jobless for 20 years and cannot contribute to Singapore.

She can only do freelance while Jac only found a Temp $6/ hr job with the healthcare.

But she is smarter than Jac Lau by not voting for PAP because PAP cannot solve their own created problem even after 15 years of repeated mistakes.

(26-11-2021, 01:50 PM)Ola Wrote:  I was out and about these few days and got to know some1.

She was retrenched at 45 years old by SIA and was given a choice to transfer to IBM.  But the staff in IBM will be doing the same job as her, meaning she will face 2nd time retrenchment by IBM later.

She tried to apply to work Customer Service in Hotel, but maybe her appearance is average. And also as Admin Asst, but failed after 5 years o trying. Even as property agent, but the market is saturated these few years with

For the past 10 years, she is practically jobless except to help out once a while in the void deck shop.

The good property agents are booming...

(26-11-2021, 02:02 PM)RichDad Wrote:  The good property agents are booming...

Are those male agents or if female, maybe in their 30s who are successful?

Like ERA,  who was under the investigation for charging $50 to get que number for BTO viewing of units in showroom.

Some have dirty corrupted ways of making money.

(26-11-2021, 02:07 PM)Ola Wrote:  Are those male agents or if female, maybe in their 30s who are successful?

Like ERA,  who was under the investigation for charging $50 to get que number for BTO viewing of units in showroom.

Some have dirty corrupted ways of making money.

Nothing to do with age but aptitude and selling/marketing skills, etc. Or maybe luck.

(26-11-2021, 02:02 PM)RichDad Wrote:  The good property agents are booming...

must have connections one lah...........

one agent i know been in this line for 20+ years...........now gotta drive taxi part-time also

(26-11-2021, 04:10 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  must have connections one lah...........

one agent i know been in this line for 20+ years...........now gotta drive taxi part-time also

Got connection still drive taxi??

(26-11-2021, 04:16 PM)Niubee Wrote:  Got connection still drive taxi??

The property agents here are plentiful, therefore  it is a very competitive occupation, only the best makes tons of money...... Clapping

All jobs are over- saturated due to Unfettered Access of Employment Pass.

60,000 Asian Fake, Unrecognized, Unaccredited and not Top 300 University Degree can get jobs in SG.

(26-11-2021, 06:06 PM)Ola Wrote:  All jobs are over- saturated due to Unfettered Access of Employment Pass.

60,000 Asian Fake, Unrecognized, Unaccredited and not Top 300 University Degree can get jobs in SG.

I feel the rug being pulled under our feet...... crying

whereas Civil servants going to enjoy next month with their usual Year end bonus.

It is very CARELESS of JoTeo to issue Employment Pass for Non- Tech jobs and not as HoD of the Company. Traitor of Singapore.

Even if we are willing to downgrade to Admin Asst with 50% paycut, companies do not want us. I also applied for about 50 Downgraded job in my same profession, but was rejected all the time.

WE can fit the job. We can do the downgraded job. But still jobless.

(26-11-2021, 06:47 PM)Ola Wrote:  It is very CARELESS of JoTeo to issue Employment Pass for Non- Tech jobs and not as HoD of the Company. Traitor of Singapore.

Even if we are willing to downgrade to Admin Asst with 50% paycut, companies do not want us. I also applied for about 50 Downgraded job in my same profession, but was rejected all the time.

Which means the govt. did not do enough to help the jobless here.... Angry

(26-11-2021, 04:16 PM)Niubee Wrote:  Got connection still drive taxi??

Own self build connection lah if no rich background.

(26-11-2021, 06:47 PM)Ola Wrote:  It is very CARELESS of JoTeo to issue Employment Pass for Non- Tech jobs and not as HoD of the Company. Traitor of Singapore.

she caused so many sufferings miseries n broken families will hv rak karma to her n her descendents n those related to her in blood.
[+] 1 user Likes talky's post

(26-11-2021, 04:29 PM)debono Wrote:  The property agents here are plentiful, therefore  it is a very competitive occupation, only the best makes tons of money...... Clapping

Only the smelliest meow meows make good money Big Grin

(26-11-2021, 07:22 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Only the smelliest meow meows make good money Big Grin

I think those with meow meow are the ones that makes the most money...... Clapping

Actually sinkies had their lives easy. When they have a job, they should make use of every opportunity to upgrade themselves. You don't upgrade when you have already lost a job, that is too late. But most sinkies I spoke to can't be bothered with re-training.

(26-11-2021, 07:47 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Actually sinkies had their lives easy. When they have a job, they should make use of every opportunity to upgrade themselves. You don't upgrade when you have already lost a job, that is too late. But most sinkies I spoke to can't be bothered with re-training.

It is very hard to be retrain is the person is 45 or 50 years old.  You can't teach an old dog new tricks..... Laughing

(26-11-2021, 07:51 PM)debono Wrote:  It is very hard to be retrain is the person is 45 or 50 years old.  You can't teach an old dog new tricks..... Laughing

When you have never been learning new things, then doing it is very difficult, even more so at 45. But if learning is part of your life then even when you're 60 you'll find it enjoyable and easy. It's the mentality. Sinkies from young are so focused on the end goal (which is the academic score) that they didn't realise that that is not the main aim. Of course, our society molded by the govt is the source of that problem.

(26-11-2021, 07:47 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Actually sinkies had their lives easy. When they have a job, they should make use of every opportunity to upgrade themselves. You don't upgrade when you have already lost a job, that is too late. But most sinkies I spoke to can't be bothered with re-training.

Don't know about sinkies or Malaysians like Jac Lau who never once upgraded himself. 

But for me, I have spent my own money on upgrading for about 5 courses while the other 10 are sponsored by company every year.

Even with 15 additional certs, also USELESS.

Because we are not SAF Army Generals. No qualification, no skills and no job fit also has a job reserved.

(26-11-2021, 07:58 PM)Ola Wrote:  Don't know about sinkies or Malaysians like Jac Lau who never once upgraded himself. 

But for me, I have spent my own money on upgrading for about 5 courses while the other 10 are sponsored by company every year.

Even with 15 additional certs, also USELESS.

Because we are not SAF Army Generals. No qualification, no skills and no job fit also has a job reserved.

If you have been someone who has always been working hard to improve yourself, but somehow life has not been kind to you, then there is no choice but to accept that your life is destined as such. It's better to adopt a positive attitude else what can you (we) do?

(26-11-2021, 08:12 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  If you have been someone who has always been working hard to improve yourself, but somehow life has not been kind to you, then there is no choice but to accept that your life is destined as such. It's better to adopt a positive attitude else what can you (we) do?

Agreed we must have the right attitude...but at times the world seems cruel to you and you end up being jobless..... crying

(26-11-2021, 08:30 PM)debono Wrote:  Agreed we must have the right attitude...but at times the world seems cruel to you and you end up being jobless..... crying

The world has been cruel to many others, so why we must be the exception? Take care bro. We live our own lives, no need to wallow in self-pity, nor look at others with jealousy. Each of us has our own fate.

(26-11-2021, 07:29 PM)debono Wrote:  I think those with meow meow are the ones that makes the most money...... Clapping

(26-11-2021, 01:50 PM)Ola Wrote:  I was out and about these few days and got to know some1.

And the best part is government said there are hundred over thousand jobs openings......

[+] 1 user Likes Hfourhappy's post