Is it difficult to replace the AC sockets myself ??
21-03-2024, 04:09 PM
21-03-2024, 04:24 PM
TS still alive?
21-03-2024, 09:13 PM
21-03-2024, 09:14 PM
(18-03-2024, 07:34 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: easy I have done it many times.
open up take picture of wirring before you unscrew and remove.
new socket just screw the wiring back the same way.
what are the potential problems that will arise ah ?..............need to change sockets for water heater................lights.............3-pin sockets...........total of 12 sockets
21-03-2024, 10:32 PM
21-03-2024, 10:36 PM
(21-03-2024, 09:14 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: what are the potential problems that will arise ah ?..............need to change sockets for water heater................lights.............3-pin sockets...........total of 12 socketsThe biggest problem is you accidentally get electrocuted by high voltage current and get thrown 20 feet away breaking your neck when you landed.

21-03-2024, 10:55 PM
Cannot assume once you turn off the power switch, you can touch the wires. Some still carry live electricity, that's why you need to check them with a test pen
22-03-2024, 12:01 AM
(18-03-2024, 01:14 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: need to change AC sockets............can i do it myself ?
or better to hire electrician to do it ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzctnY3BiVw&ab_channel=DIYYANG
dont call electrician,, sure kana chop... very easy to do it yrself ,, just off the main cct breaker,, and fix the wire the same way u took them out..
23-03-2024, 09:16 PM
(21-03-2024, 10:32 PM)victortan Wrote: Go watch YouTube. Sure have one.
that's what i thought also.............but i've never been handy................so if got problem - still need to call the electrician anyway.........sigh...............
(21-03-2024, 10:55 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: Cannot assume once you turn off the power switch, you can touch the wires. Some still carry live electricity, that's why you need to check them with a test pen
sigh...............i don't even have a test pen..............off power switch liao, still got electricity meh ??!!
(22-03-2024, 12:01 AM)victortan Wrote: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzctnY3BiVw&ab_channel=DIYYANG
dont call electrician,, sure kana chop... very easy to do it yrself ,, just off the main cct breaker,, and fix the wire the same way u took them out..
ok, thanks..............i see the videos see i can do or not..............i not handy at all lah..............
23-03-2024, 10:22 PM
(23-03-2024, 09:16 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: sigh...............i don't even have a test pen..............off power switch liao, still got electricity meh ?
Often have residual electricity even you off the main. Better dun play with your fragile life just to save a few dollars.

23-03-2024, 10:36 PM
it is easy to fix one up any way
23-03-2024, 10:46 PM
(23-03-2024, 09:16 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: sigh...............i don't even have a test pen..............off power switch liao, still got electricity meh ??!!
![[Image: IMG-20240323-224213.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/thYCrMF/IMG-20240323-224213.jpg)
They're several reasons. One is as above, the power to the right is switched off, but the switch itself and the wire on the left are still live, and a test pen is needed to check
23-03-2024, 10:50 PM
(23-03-2024, 10:46 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:
They're several reasons. One is as above, the power to the right is switched off, but the switch itself and the wire on the left are still live, and a test pen is needed to check
turn off the main switch
before attempting any electrical changes
STUPID CHOW CHEESE PIE WUMAO
![[Image: T5YVv.png]](https://i.stack.imgur.com/T5YVv.png)
23-03-2024, 11:07 PM
(23-03-2024, 10:50 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: turn off the main switch
before attempting any electrical changes
STUPID CHOW CHEESE PIE WUMAO
Stewpig idiot duno even the main power is off you still can be electrocuted, due to several reasons? A test pen only costs a few dollars and you so poor until cannot afford?
23-03-2024, 11:08 PM
(23-03-2024, 09:16 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: that's what i thought also.............but i've never been handy................so if got problem - still need to call the electrician anyway.........sigh...............
sigh...............i don't even have a test pen..............off power switch liao, still got electricity meh ??!!
ok, thanks..............i see the videos see i can do or not..............i not handy at all lah..............
ask for friend help lah... blanja them a bit,, better than pay electrician,,, wait they come they say this ans that..must change also and charge u hundred of dollars.
those beng kia kotok kotok one...or u may ask firend to recomend electrician they know honest type.
23-03-2024, 11:10 PM
23-03-2024, 11:21 PM
23-03-2024, 11:32 PM
24-03-2024, 12:16 AM
(23-03-2024, 10:22 PM)Huliwang Wrote: Often have residual electricity even you off the main. Better dun play with your fragile life just to save a few dollars.
wise words indeed...............
(23-03-2024, 11:08 PM)victortan Wrote: ask for friend help lah... blanja them a bit,, better than pay electrician,,, wait they come they say this ans that..must change also and charge u hundred of dollars.
those beng kia kotok kotok one...or u may ask firend to recomend electrician they know honest type.
no friends that can help lah..............all butter fingers..............hands like feet...............feet like hands...........
24-03-2024, 03:19 PM
(24-03-2024, 12:16 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: wise words indeed...............
no friends that can help lah..............all butter fingers..............hands like feet...............feet like hands...........
Ask sgbutt for help.
24-03-2024, 06:58 PM
Ask fren do also need to pay
better u go find professional electrician since u can’t do it
24-03-2024, 11:34 PM
25-03-2024, 01:17 AM
(24-03-2024, 11:34 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: have to lah.............anyway, do liao can last until i mati..............better than i try to do then i mati............
Woman don’t know how to do lah
26-07-2024, 03:28 PM
Replacing AC sockets yourself can be a bit tricky, but it’s definitely doable if you’re up for a little DIY challenge. First off, safety is key. Make sure you turn off the power at the breaker box before you start messing with anything electrical. It might sound like overkill, but you don't want any nasty surprises!
If you’re not 100% confident, there’s no shame in calling a pro. Sometimes, what seems like a small job can turn into a bigger headache if something goes wrong. Plus, you want to make sure everything is safe and up to code. I’ve found some good tips and tutorials online, but honestly, if you're unsure, it might be worth checking out https://kanatautilitiesltd.ca/high-volta...or-ottawa/ . They have a great team that can help out with electrical work, and it could save you a lot of time and hassle.
26-07-2024, 03:48 PM
(26-07-2024, 03:28 PM)Steelawin Wrote: Replacing AC sockets yourself can be a bit tricky, but it’s definitely doable if you’re up for a little DIY challenge. First off, safety is key. Make sure you turn off the power at the breaker box before you start messing with anything electrical.
will call electrician lah.............hopefully won't cost a bomb...........i already bought all the sockets..........
26-07-2024, 04:00 PM
(26-07-2024, 03:48 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: will call electrician lah.............hopefully won't cost a bomb...........i already bought all the sockets..........
Is $50 a bomb to you? That is the cost for an electrician just visiting and giving consultation only. Repair cost will be added to this basic $50. I think doctor charge less than that for consultation.

26-07-2024, 04:09 PM
(26-07-2024, 04:00 PM)Huliwang Wrote: Is $50 a bomb to you? That is the cost for an electrician just visiting and giving consultation only. Repair cost will be added to this basic $50. I think doctor charge less than that for consultation.
aw lan liao lah...........lucky i bought all the sockets myself..............otherwise they will buy lousy ones and charge me higher price some more..............
hopefully, this is the last time need to change sockets..............
26-07-2024, 04:25 PM
(26-07-2024, 04:09 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: aw lan liao lah...........lucky i bought all the sockets myself..............otherwise they will buy lousy ones and charge me higher price some more..............
hopefully, this is the last time need to change sockets..............
To save cost, people normally accumulate more defects then call the electrician. Like this one visit he do a few repairs and the consultation is only 50. I think may be nowadays 100 dollars liao.

26-07-2024, 05:55 PM
Now already have type C with 3 pins sockets. Don't need the charger. They are useful in bed rooms.