We are paying 5G but getting less than 4G...

Anyone can share your experience?

Personally I am paying 5G using gomo but the loading speed is like sub par, IE slower than what 4G used to be...

Seriously almost anything is overpriced and not as valuable as promised...

(10-04-2024, 08:20 AM)Sticw Wrote:  Anyone can share your experience?

Personally I am paying 5G using gomo but the loading speed is like sub par, IE slower than what 4G used to be...

Maybe your expectation of 5G is too high? Thinking

this is due to coverage issue.

many places there is no 5G or weak 5G signal so you get low rates

(10-04-2024, 08:24 AM)winbig Wrote:  Maybe your expectation of 5G is too high? Thinking

They pitched it as at least 10x faster and full coverage in SG rite?

I use 4G, no problem

(10-04-2024, 09:49 AM)Gstalk Wrote:  I use 4G, no problem

maybe 3G lagi no problem ? Big Grin

All these telcos, especially SingTel, loves to boasts abt 5G capabilities. But, never upgrade their back-end hardware or software. Totally short changing customers.

(10-04-2024, 09:08 AM)Sticw Wrote:  They pitched it as at least 10x faster and full coverage in SG rite?

10x faster is tested under specific test conditions lah. Can't be all scenarios 10x faster mah.

Mine is StarHub 5G line but seldom see 5G network connected. Rotfl
Only see 5G, when in big shopping mall.

Mine for most of the time the 5G thingy is there but the speed is like 3G...

Was about to move on from Gomo to Singtel... but gomo surprised me with a free upgrade forever. Same subscription fee but 400G of 5G data per month.

I don't really use beyond 100G per month but the connectivity, stability and speed is what's more troubling for me.

Anyone with both Gomo and Singtel subscription can share your experience?

This is why I never so call upgrade " speed be it internet or mobile " . EPIC in SG is a small country converage should very good unlike big countries like USA or China. EPIC their countries so big yet their internet speed , mobile still good.

I am still on 4G which is good enough for me. I am not downloading movies or doing what not AI blah blah blah.

Why are we paying so much for temasek and gic to handle the swfs when all day long we hear assets of 300+bil and lower than typical ROI... Yet Norway swf in a year can make 130bil profit...

Did you remember that it was Iswaran that choses Nokia 5G network instead of Samsung or Huawei 5G?

Because Sg die die dun want Huawei which has the most 5G patents!

Now 5G also jialat........ ???!!!!  Clapping Rotfl nudie Laughter-144

Because ermaos dun like hw?

(10-04-2024, 08:27 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  this is due to coverage issue.

many places there is no 5G or weak 5G signal so you get low rates

no lah...............this is becoz of monopoly.............. Cool

(14-08-2024, 08:19 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  Did you remember that it was Iswaran that choses Nokia 5G network instead of Samsung or Huawei 5G?

I dun think he chose Nokia. It should be the operators' own decision to choose which vendor to use but they kiasi want to go along with the west.

used iphone15  no problem

other brand and model do have problem

the ISP say older phones are not 5G mature

Becsuse u using china phone?..cbina phone is lousy ok.

(15-08-2024, 01:55 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  Becsuse u using china phone?..cbina phone is lousy ok.

china phone are crappy and over hype

https://www.trendforce.com/news/2024/07/...september/

Dont laugh! Behind the curve.
Triple fold I phone will only emerge on year 2030 lah.

https://www.cnet.com/tech/mobile/iphone-...t-in-2026/

(15-08-2024, 03:49 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  https://www.trendforce.com/news/2024/07/...september/

Clapping

(14-08-2024, 07:52 PM)Sticw Wrote:  Why are we paying so much for temasek and gic to handle the swfs when all day long we hear assets of 300+bil and lower than typical ROI... Yet Norway swf in a year can make 130bil profit...

https://www.marketwatch.com/picks/the-no...=home-page

Temasek can simply go borrow Yen turn into USD in the billions then lock in at the 5% CD for 5 years. Assuming a recession comes and goes, the exchange risk is nullified by the time the CD matures. That 5% is sooooo much better than what they are doing in the so call long term and it's without active managing...

I seriously wonder why so fancy swf yet cannot perform better than just a CD. Just like we are paying for 5G yet getting less than 4G quality...

U pay for 5G icon display on the phone. LOLS

(17-08-2024, 09:18 AM)Sticw Wrote:  https://www.marketwatch.com/picks/the-no...=home-page

Temasek can simply go borrow Yen turn into USD in the billions then lock in at the 5% CD for 5 years. Assuming a recession comes and goes, the exchange risk is nullified by the time the CD matures. That 5% is sooooo much better than what they are doing in the so call long term and it's without active managing...

I seriously wonder why so fancy swf yet cannot perform better than just a CD. Just like we are paying for 5G yet getting less than 4G quality...

https://www.marketwatch.com/picks/these-...=home-page

Credit unions CDs paying very good interest... Just have to lock in asap...