Serving on condo councils is a thankless job

Condo residents generally have high and often unrealistic expectations the moment they shift in; becoming more demanding, protective of their rights and less tolerant of inconsiderate neighbours. However, few home owners know or bother about how to take care of their estate. HDB upgraders, used to town council services, believe in leaving the running of their estate to someone else.

Without diligent volunteers on mc, the estate would run down very fast. If nobody cares about use of common funds, there's no money for major renovation works

(05-06-2024, 09:10 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Without diligent volunteers on mc, the estate would run down very fast. If nobody cares about use of common funds, there's no money for major renovation works

Actually no.  Those who volunteer in these MCs are mostly self serving residents.  They want to serve in the MC to further their vested interests.  In 1 MC that I was in, I shot down the proposal for owner occupied SPs to have 2 car park lots each at the same time removing the entitllement for SPs who rented out their property.  This is because some of these residents have 2 cars and did not want to pay $$$ for the second car park lot.  And they thus wanted to deprive non owner occupied SPs from having their 1 car lot and wanted them to park at guest parking.

(05-06-2024, 09:16 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Actually no.  Those who volunteer in these MCs are mostly self serving residents.  They want to serve in the MC to further their vested interests.  In 1 MC that I was in, I shot down the proposal for owner occupied SPs to have 2 car park lots each at the same time removing the entitllement for SPs who rented out their property.  This is because some of these residents have 2 cars and did not want to pay $$$ for the second car park lot.  And they thus wanted to deprive non owner occupied SPs from having their 1 car lot and wanted them to park at guest parking.

One type of rice feeds hundred types of ppl. Ofc they're conscientious ppl like you too

Some mc very strict. No laundry on balconies, no shoe or anything outside doors, no use of pools after 11pm, no overnight vvisitor parking... Some residents love them while some hate them

I think most condo owners forgot or are unaware of the ultimate objective of living in a condo is to get a big windfall from enbloc. So the council role and ultimate target is to search for a buyer eventually.

I own several condo and watched many councils from the dark because I dun attend them to expose myself. But my success in convincing those councils to find a buyer and getting $$$$ for my neighbors is almost 90%. That includes the enbloc my late granny's condo/apartment and one condo which is only 5 years old.

Hence I always vote out those sleeping members...once even a chairman.

Why I do this ? For the ultimate gain from enbloc $$$$

In the next few years, this $$$$ bag will become even bigger... as I waited for good news of the cancellation of freeholds and 999 years land where there will be no more freeholds in Singapore. So I am holding on to my 3 condos now.

Let's see whether I am right again this time. Target date : 2030.

why should gov do that. In some countries only freehold.
[+] 1 user Likes Bigbluedot's post

(05-06-2024, 09:10 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Without diligent volunteers on mc, the estate would run down very fast. If nobody cares about use of common funds, there's no money for major renovation works

Most residents new to condo living yearn for the private swimming pool, gym, tennis courts, round-the-clock security, landscape gardens etc., but have no idea of the cost and hard work that goes into maintaining these facilities.

(05-06-2024, 09:16 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Actually no.  Those who volunteer in these MCs are mostly self serving residents.  They want to serve in the MC to further their vested interests.  In 1 MC that I was in, I shot down the proposal for owner occupied SPs to have 2 car park lots each at the same time removing the entitllement for SPs who rented out their property.  This is because some of these residents have 2 cars and did not want to pay $$$ for the second car park lot.  And they thus wanted to deprive non owner occupied SPs from having their 1 car lot and wanted them to park at guest parking.

AGMs are usually poorly attended owing to apathy. Attendance tends to surge only when there is a significant increase in maintenance charges, news of a possible en bloc sale or when several home owners have an axe to grind with the management corporation. Disgruntled residents often form organised groups to expropriate proceedings. While there are council members whose intentions are honourable, there are others who use the platform to advance their personal agendas.

(05-06-2024, 09:35 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Some mc very strict. No laundry on balconies, no shoe or anything outside doors, no use of pools after 11pm, no overnight vvisitor parking... Some residents love them while some hate them

Will this happening again, like 4 - 5 years ago?.

https://youtu.be/0SPMnIACSr4?si=RN3M4pxfKPSI1KGc

(05-06-2024, 09:35 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Some mc very strict. No laundry on balconies, no shoe or anything outside doors, no use of pools after 11pm, no overnight vvisitor parking... Some residents love them while some hate them

Most owners and tenants wrestle over issues such as inconsiderate behaviour in the gym or around the swimming pool and barbecue pits, as well as leaks between floors, disputes over car parking, littering, excessive noise or financial management matters. The closing time for the pool and gym at my condo is 11 pm daily, there is no overnight parking allowed for visitors and no bulky laundry items should be overhanging the balcony's railings i.e. bedsheets, carpets, curtains; clothing and towels on poles are permitted so long as they are inside the balcony.

(05-06-2024, 10:51 AM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  Will this happening again, like 4 - 5 years ago?.

Not at all. You just hv to tell the security your friend will park his car here for a few days and later dabao some food and drinks for them. They're not unreasonable ppl lah

(05-06-2024, 09:56 AM)*天哥* Wrote:  I think most condo owners forgot or are unaware of the ultimate objective of living in a condo is to get a big windfall from enbloc. So the council role and ultimate target is to search for a buyer eventually.

My family is living in our second condo after upgrading from our HDB flat 24 years ago. We like the location, relative convenience of some amenities and a MRT station 1 bus stop away as well as lots of greenery. Since our development is on a 999-year-lease, most residents have little interest in any possible en bloc sale.

(05-06-2024, 10:58 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Not at all. You just hv to tell the security your friend will park his car here for a few days and later dabao some food and drinks for them. They're not unreasonable ppl lah

What is wrong with visitors paying for overnight parking for a couple of days elsewhere? Anyone who can afford a car must be able to afford parking fees.

(05-06-2024, 10:51 AM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  Will this happening again, like 4 - 5 years ago?.

No more this is best - bo case lehh?., too many time ahh, let says, pay $300/- to release the car,.

LTA must come out with a fine too. Eg,: 1st time, $300, next $500 then $1000, last go to see Lawyer or to Court case. Rotfl

(05-06-2024, 11:00 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  What is wrong with visitors paying for overnight parking for a couple of days elsewhere? Anyone who can afford a car must be able to afford parking fees.

We!, seem like the whole world owes him a living.

https://youtu.be/1JKDhI4VfeM?si=CKIlTkhEc5lxDdne

(05-06-2024, 11:00 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  What is wrong with visitors paying for overnight parking for a couple of days elsewhere? Anyone who can afford a car must be able to afford parking fees.

Nothing is wrong lah. But what's wrong if your friend can park there for free and safe, with so many empty space around? Ppl give you face but you dun want?

(05-06-2024, 11:31 AM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  We!, seem like the whole world owes him a living.

https://youtu.be/1JKDhI4VfeM?si=CKIlTkhEc5lxDdne

It's the attitude problem. Try to be nicer and you'll have totally different outcome

(05-06-2024, 11:36 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Nothing is wrong lah. But what's wrong if your friend can park there for free and safe, with so many empty space around? Ppl give you face but you dun want?

My condo also doesn't allow overnight parking for guests, but it is ok for residents to park a replacement or rental car while the owner's car is being repaired for up to 2 weeks.

(05-06-2024, 11:38 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  It's the attitude problem. Try to be nicer and you'll have totally different outcome

The worst attitude that one can display is arrogance and a sense of entitlement just because he is able to afford a condo and a luxurious car.

Most residents will soon have a greater understanding of the complexities behind running their development, if at least one representative from every household is required to serve a mandatory term in the owners’ collective or council. Unrealistic expectations about condo living may be moderated eventually. Clashes of lifestyle, though onerous to mitigate, will be lessened after each household gets a taste of what some claim, is a thankless job serving in the council.

One ex-PM ever said
No free lunch 
If not wrong all Condominium has appointed Management Agent to manage the Condominium 
The MA normally consist of
CM (Condominium Manage)
 P.E (Property Executive)
P.O (Property Officer)
Admin and Finance staff
to collect maintenance fee and sinking fund from SPs
and entertain feedbacks from SPs
Manage a group of cleaners and security guards, IT contractor, landscape contractor, Maintenance of swimming pools contractor, lift maintenance contractor, Fogging contractor and in house technicians 
Each Condominium has own set of Bylaws
Council members to ensure the MA doing their tasks diligently, trustworthy , responsible and proper accounting and in accordance with proper procedures 
No hanky Panky, cheating, corruption, double standard, racial element involved.
Which government department audits condominium's account?
IRAS?
Most Condominiums impose 9% GST
Any MA staff or council member being charged for corruption?
If no, why?
Strict compliance with rules and regulations.