Shanmuggan : S'poreans vulnerable victims of foreign influence campaigns..

It's not obvious propaganda but it conditions people to think in certain ways, particularly on foreign policy issues, often appealing to a larger racial identity beyond the Singaporean identity."

He said this in the context of a French think-tank's report released in late September, which observed that Singapore had several characteristics making it both vulnerable and resilient to Chinese influence operations.

The minister cited the report as he sought to explain the reasons underpinning the Bill, which targets foreign interference in domestic politics conducted through hostile information campaigns (HICs) and local proxies.

"The philosophy is that our politics, it's for Singaporeans to deal with. We can argue, disagree, but ultimately it is for us to decide," he said.

"It's not for anyone else to tell us what to do."

He noted that traditional spying and subversion operations have inevitably increased in scope and intensity, due to modern ease of communications, increased interactions, travel, evolving technologies and the Internet as a powerful new medium.

Mr Shanmugam brought up the Gerasimov Doctrine - a military doctrine for the Internet Age developed by Russia - in which aggressors identify issues of "protest potential" in a target country, and use information operations to polarise society in that country and keep it in a constant state of turmoil, so as to more easily achieve their political and military outcomes.

He also outlined several examples of foreign interference across the world, noting that the international media regularly identifies Russia, China, Iran and North Korea as perpetrators.

"I don't know whether these countries in fact did what they are said to have done, but few doubt that they have the capabilities," he said.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/p...-spore-law

Ah butt is one of them. So easily influenced by the angmoh news, because all he relies on for news is youtube hahaha. He needs to get out of Singapore and see for himself the world.
[+] 4 users Like Blasterlord2's post

aggressors identify issues of "protest potential" in a target country, and use information operations to polarise society in that country and keep it in a constant state

While the Russians may have invented this, I thought the American did a better job doing so with nations so they keep their global police job to sign off IOUs.. lol
[+] 1 user Likes Sticw's post

Singapore and Singaporeans have good relations with Japan, US, Australia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, UK, S.Korea.

Do not let foreign players influence and brainwash you towards hate.

Pelosi visited Sjngapore first before other Asian states. We are a small country and have received much help fro the US for our defense systems and knowhow.

When we were poor, the Japanese multinationals came here to invest and employed many Singaporeans ....Panasonic, Toshiba, Sony. They gave us a chance when we' were nobody. They ould have invested elsewhere.

The British left us a legal and political system which works and is priceless. No doubt they exploited us as a colony but they also brought in industry.

Singaporeans migrated to Australia it seems they love the place.

(06-08-2022, 10:11 AM)Sticw Wrote:  aggressors identify issues of "protest potential" in a target country, and use information operations to polarise society in that country and keep it in a constant state

While the Russians may have invented this, I thought the American did a better job doing so with nations so they keep their global police job to sign off IOUs.. lol

We are not worried about Americans because they are our friends and I'm constant communications with good intentions for each other.

But some others my not have our best interest

Why he never mentioned India?  Big Grin

(06-08-2022, 10:15 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  We are not worried about Americans because they are our friends and I'm constant communications with good intentions for each other.

Don't be naive leh. Nobody is this world has your interest in mind. Why should they? Everybody's doing things for their interest. There's no exceptions to this. Please don't think of the Americans as angels.

Singapore is Singapore.

We are not USA and we are not China.

Why do we need 5 Mayors and 87 PAP Ministers? 
[+] 2 users Like Ola's post

Isn't what they themselves are doing to their own fellowmen?
Whatever happening on this earth , everyone should have the ability to decide according to their level of understanding. If wrong ,be willing to be corrected.Whatever is good and right should be encouraged.

(06-08-2022, 10:13 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Singapore and Singaporeans have good relations with Japan, US, Australia, Taiwan, Hong Kong, UK, S.Korea.

Do not let foreign players influence and brainwash you towards hate.

Pelosi visited Sjngapore first before other Asian states. We are a small country and have received much help fro the US for our defense systems and knowhow.

When we were poor, the Japanese multinationals came here to invest and employed many Singaporeans ....Panasonic, Toshiba, Sony. They gave us a chance when we' were nobody. They  ould have invested elsewhere.

The British left us a legal and political system which works and is priceless. No doubt they exploited us as a colony but they also brought in industry.

Singaporeans migrated to Australia it seems they love the place.

U seem to hate Chinese. Just because Chinese policies caused your stocks to drop and u incur lots of paper loss or realized losses, u have been hating and criticizing China ever since. U should wake up that u r not buffett and never will.  Laughing

(06-08-2022, 10:10 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Ah butt is one of them. So easily influenced by the angmoh news, because all he relies on for news is youtube hahaha. He needs to get out of Singapore and see for himself the world.

You also observed it. Sometimes he is quite biased but he doesnt know about it. 

Many of us may not like commie, but we cant deny the fact, current China govt has done a great job by making more and more Ppl out of poverty·

[+] 2 users Like RiseofAsia's post

(06-08-2022, 10:10 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Ah butt is one of them. So easily influenced by the angmoh news, because all he relies on for news is youtube hahaha. He needs to get out of Singapore and see for himself the world.

You are right bro!  Thumbsup

(06-08-2022, 10:55 AM)winbig Wrote:  U seem to hate Chinese. Just because Chinese policies caused your stocks to drop and u incur lots of paper loss or realized losses, u have been hating and criticizing China ever since. U should wake up that u r not buffett and never will.  Laughing

If I am worried I will just sell and be done with it.  I am very impressive with the acumen of mainland Chinese entrepreneurs that is why I stay invested.

I am also very impressed by the governance and achievement of Taiwanese Chinese when i went there 5yrs ago.

So j am very impressed with Chinese.

I am dismayed at the Xi govt that ruin all the good works of past leaders.

(06-08-2022, 10:56 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  You also observed it. Sometimes he is quite biased but he doesnt know about it. 

Many of us may not like commie, but we cant deny the fact, current China govt has done a great job by making more and more Ppl out of poverty·

The more you understand development in various countries in the past few decades, the more you will understand that western democracy is not serving the majority of the people well.

Lee Kuan Yew: Decolonisation: “I have never believed that democracy brings progress”, Hong Kong 1997

(06-08-2022, 10:15 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  We are not worried about Americans because they are our friends and I'm constant communications with good intentions for each other.  But some others my not have our best interest

Who's "worried" with US as "friends" ? Rolleyes

[Image: quote-to-be-an-enemy-of-america-can-be-d...-37-01.jpg]
[+] 2 users Like Manthink's post

(06-08-2022, 10:11 AM)Sticw Wrote:  aggressors identify issues of "protest potential" in a target country, and use information operations to polarise society in that country and keep it in a constant state

The first example come to my mind is the 2019 HK protest.
[+] 1 user Likes Clyde's post

(06-08-2022, 11:09 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  If I am worried I will just sell and be done with it.  I am very impressive with the acumen of mainland Chinese entrepreneurs that is why I stay invested.

I am also very impressed by the governance and achievement of Taiwanese Chinese when i went there 5yrs ago.

So j am very impressed with Chinese.

I am dismayed at the Xi govt that ruin all the good works of past leaders.

What Xi govt had done to poke the bubble is good for the country in the long term. U don't see it because u bought whatever stocks at high point and u r bitter about it.
[+] 3 users Like winbig's post

(06-08-2022, 11:30 AM)winbig Wrote:  What Xi govt had done to poke the bubble is good for the country in the long term. U don't see it because u bought whatever stocks at high point and u r bitter about it.

The pricking bubble in itself is not a bad idea....I think it could have been done much better ( look at singappre) ...but I have no big issue with that.

I just don't see any good way they are dealing with the fallout.

(06-08-2022, 11:33 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  The pricking bubble in itself is not a bad idea....I think it could have been done much better ( look at singappre) ...but I have no big issue with that.

Again u r ignorant. China is such a big country. Do u think Singapore's method work? Anyway in Singapore, that's not poking the bubble at all. We don't have the resolve to poke the bubble that's why new HDB prices keeps going up. In Singapore it's kicking the can down the road just like what US is doing.

(06-08-2022, 11:30 AM)winbig Wrote:  What Xi govt had done to poke the bubble is good for the country in the long term. U don't see it because u bought whatever stocks at high point and u r bitter about it.

[Image: 0017030211355527_b.jpg]
[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

(06-08-2022, 11:33 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  The pricking bubble in itself is not a bad idea....I think it could have been done much better ( look at singappre) ...but I have no big issue with that.

SG already getting the fall out using the USD. Everyone knows Wall St and Washington are just part of the same gang printing USD. They already screwed American Middle Class..now they wanna con the rest of the World...

How best to force others to use USD than by getting CIA, US military, Pelosi, NED, etc as Foreign Influence tools to serve Washington and Wall St interests ?

[Image: maxresdefault.jpg]

https://www.instagram.com/p/CCUzsU5n-E-/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iq8E8KhH_Lw

I saw a poster of Lee kuan yew along jurong west st.42
He worth alot even after death.

Shanmuggan : S'poreans vulnerable victims of foreign influence campaigns..
IAM not so sure who is more dangerous

(06-08-2022, 10:15 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  We are not worried about Americans because they are our friends and I'm constant communications with good intentions for each other.

HAHAHAHAHa  still a ungrown  kid

https://psypolitics.org/2020/07/05/the-p...f-thought/

Absurdly naive.

(06-08-2022, 04:19 PM)Obamao Wrote:  https://psypolitics.org/2020/07/05/the-p...f-thought/

没有耶鲁就没有新中国

can say PM lee been influence by CECA?

Perhaps the local influence by PAP to brainwash its citizens is more dangerous  Laughing