Should an English test be part of the Singapore citizenship application process?

Majority of the people CNA polled said yes: https://cna.asia/3ZQjwRH
[+] 2 users Like Bigiron's post

I will also say Yes too... although my speakering of enrish language is not goot either. Can spekering bwoken engrish or gibberish is still better then not speakering engrish at all lor you know

They should carry out seperate surveys in Malay, Chinese and Tamil.

(03-04-2023, 11:15 AM)cityhantam Wrote:  They should carry out seperate surveys in Malay, Chinese and Tamil.

IQ Test.

Ceca and young ahtiongs no problem, old ahtiongs and some non english speaking europeans will be affected

(03-04-2023, 11:03 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  Should an English test be part of the Singapore citizenship application process?

Thank you for sharing this news article.

I know what useless Jiak Liao Bee Pay And Pay Garvament is thinking. Import more snakes from rapeland loh.
[+] 1 user Likes Guest's post

Many of our old folks can't speak English. Need to expel them?

Really. Why citizenship only? Why not job application? Why not account opening?

(03-04-2023, 11:58 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Many of our old folks can't speak English. Need to expel them?

Those who can only speak Hokkien, send back to Fujian Province.
Those who can only speak Cantonese, send back to Guangzhou.
Those who can only speak Hakka, send back to Meizhou. 
etc.etc.

Those who can only speak Malay, send back to Malaysia.

Those who can only speak Tamil, send back to Tamil Nadu.

Rotfl Rotfl Rotfl

Yes it’s multi racial country English helps to communicate with each other

[Image: Screenshot-20230403-121448-Chrome.jpg]

If you do a search online, you'll see these

(03-04-2023, 12:08 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Yes it’s multi racial country English helps to communicate with each other

I agree with your suggestion........................ Big Grin

(03-04-2023, 11:54 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Ceca and young ahtiongs no problem, old ahtiongs and some non english speaking europeans will be affected

Best to have a local culture and history test asking Spore specific questions.

(03-04-2023, 01:11 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Best to have a local culture and history test asking Spore specific questions.

And those who apply for jobs, hv to sit for psle, o and a level exams, depending on the types of jobs

(03-04-2023, 01:13 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  And those who apply for jobs, hv to sit for psle, o and a level exams, depending on the types of jobs

Some countries have their own standard of English, e.g. USA, Aust., New Zealand and Canada...........etc.... Big Grin

(03-04-2023, 12:08 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Yes it’s multi racial country English helps to communicate with each other

In Malaysia, about 60% are Malays, Malay Language is compulsory for ALL.

In Sg, where 75% are Chinese, English is compulsory for ALL???

(03-04-2023, 01:16 PM)debono Wrote:  Some countries have their own standard of English, e.g. USA, Aust., New Zealand and Canada...........etc.... Big Grin

So we should have a Singlish test

(03-04-2023, 01:18 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  In Malaysia, about 60% are Malays, Malay Language is compulsory for ALL.

All our primary and secondary schools subjects are taught in English, even up to JC and uni..........levels...................... Big Grin

too late liao
Dinosaurs' eggs have been incubating at Jurassic park,ICA kallang for a beri long time.
nothing u can do u been sleeping while singlion unvaccinated had gone to collect passport
and scrutinised everything.

(03-04-2023, 01:21 PM)debono Wrote:  All our primary and secondary schools subjects are taught in English, even up to JC and uni..........levels...................... Big Grin

ALL Singaporeans are supposed to be bilingual. MT Languages are compulsory for ALL.

(03-04-2023, 01:16 PM)debono Wrote:  Some countries have their own standard of English, e.g. USA, Aust., New Zealand and Canada...........etc.... Big Grin

Most refugees in these places couldn't speak a word of english and yet they can survive. Got to adapt and adjust

(03-04-2023, 01:18 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  In Malaysia, about 60% are Malays, Malay Language is compulsory for ALL.

Learn English is not a waste. When u go to USA,England,India… at least they understand u.

(03-04-2023, 01:23 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  ALL Singaporeans are supposed to be bilingual. MT Languages are compulsory for ALL.

But the MT(Mother Tongue ) is taught as a second language..........................the first language is still English............ Big Grin

(03-04-2023, 01:25 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Learn English is not a waste. When u go to USA,England,India… at least they understand u.

Learn Chinese is also not a waste. When you go to cities in Sg, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Mainland China, etc ...... at least they understand you.  Big Grin

I have completed my covid19 journey to Malaysia X3
first one tio bullied with swap thr. the nose
2nd tio zoomed with a Singaporean Dr. while i ARC
3rd
Zero problem
It is a scam.

(03-04-2023, 01:26 PM)debono Wrote:  But the MT(Mother Tongue ) is taught as a second language..........................the first language is still English............ Big Grin

Which mp or minister don’t understand english ..lol

(03-04-2023, 11:03 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  Should an English test be part of the Singapore citizenship application process?

Yes! Ofcoz lah! Big Grin

(03-04-2023, 01:26 PM)debono Wrote:  But the MT(Mother Tongue ) is taught as a second language..........................the first language is still English............ Big Grin

So?

Your mother is not important?  Tongue

we don't have to fret
West faces off with the Russian Bear