Should degrees come with an expiry date?

YOUR SAY: Should degrees come with an expiry date?

A suggestion in Parliament to put expiry dates on university degrees ignited a heated debate this week. Many TODAY readers disagreed with the suggestion made by Member of Parliament Ang Wei Neng for its impracticality, as well as the costs and time it would take to “refresh” one’s degree. Here’s what some of them had to say.

✉️ https://tdy.sg/3vAvzXG

@todayonlinesg

Dont give him the limelight lah.

Why COP not applied here for this stoopid suggestion?

Ownself check ownself
[+] 1 user Likes Stoki's post

He is quite stupid to say so. If one do not work in a field of a degree he has, after three years already it is hard to be employed for that again.
[+] 1 user Likes dynamite's post

all minister also must hv a 5 year expiry date too. so many overdue or expire one still sitting on shelf.
[+] 2 users Like jus4lucky's post

(05-03-2022, 09:59 AM)jus4lucky Wrote:  all minister also must hv a 5 year expiry date too. so many overdue or expire one still sitting on shelf.

I heard once they work two terms and step down, they will get 2/3 of last monthly paid for life and best medical benefits till they die.
[+] 1 user Likes dynamite's post

Will MBAs, PHDs also come with expiry date?

Is a judge who went to Law school 20 years ago, accumulated 20 years of real life legal experience, not qualified to be a judge because his law degree expired?

Life is not about chasing paper
[+] 1 user Likes simpleman's post

It's time for this MP's tenure to be immediately expired. Gosh...the kind of dumb things being said in parliament.
[+] 3 users Like starbugs's post

(05-03-2022, 10:41 AM)starbugs Wrote:  It's time for this MP's tenure to be immediately expired. Gosh...the kind of dumb things being said in parliament.

Send him to take this year's PSLE first!

that guy wanted us to talk abt it
but we shld not
because its the stupidest idea ever conceive!

period..
[+] 1 user Likes menghuii's post

(05-03-2022, 10:14 AM)dynamite Wrote:  I heard once they work two terms and step down, they will get 2/3 of last monthly paid for life and best medical benefits till they die.

If true, then its a big burden to taxpayers money to fund all these fat cat and jlb.
[+] 1 user Likes Instinct's post

(05-03-2022, 10:41 AM)starbugs Wrote:  It's time for this MP's tenure to be immediately expired. Gosh...the kind of dumb things being said in parliament.

Yes how can a MP conceive such an idea......he ought to be 'expired' himself.........

its a daam threat n fear of losing mentality i totally reject.
look at all the policies!
which ones work?
mcdonals one for one la!
u put in 600 x 5 = 6000
u dont put? sorry kosong!

maybe its because of all these years of imbued worries to our folks thats why we are easily scammed!

just think scammers say your bank account going to expire?
u chua sai already!

scammers say moh is calling u
ur lp also kiu chwee!

why scared of big bro right?

thats why i say such mentality muat be changed. but who shld chg it?

start with lhl

tell u we are already sg50

if no chg, oppo becomes govt or not also no difference!

because oppo will adopt what works..period
[+] 1 user Likes menghuii's post

No please, else everyone will be no graduate status when reach 35, Ha

With the vehement condemnation of his silly suggestion,  it is best for him to immediately retract and apologise sincerely for what he said.

Failing to do so may affect the image of the incumbent authorities.

Gov to pay for full fees... mandate coy to comply guarantee full employment benefits with accommodative part studying n working?

Can't we expire PAP or PM Lee every 5 years, too?

[Image: Ang-WN-Expire-him-every-5-years.jpg]

Why do we need 5 Mayors and 87 PAP Ministers? 

Budget debate: MP apologises, says 'time stamp for degree' idea more provocative than needed..

Sia suay...