hawker food prices inflate like nobody's biz

(27-05-2024, 04:58 PM)surfer Wrote:  Many places selling the chicken nasi bryani between $8.50-$9 nowadays.
The amount of rice and the size of the chicken part is easily double that of Hainanese chicken rice. In fact the chicken part is almost three taims that of Hainanese chicken rice.

I don't know why they sell in such a large portion.

(27-05-2024, 03:28 PM)pinkypanther Wrote:  [Image: YG50BEk.png]

https://tinyurl.com/mt6z7jcw

GST 9% liao lah! Big Grin Stall rentals up liao lah!

(27-05-2024, 03:28 PM)pinkypanther Wrote:  [Image: YG50BEk.png]

https://tinyurl.com/mt6z7jcw

If the price of a big ticket item increases by 10%, that's a lot of money. For eg, a house which increases in price from $2.0 m to $2.2 m would mean $200K more. 

However a low priced hawker dish can increase from $3.00 to $4 50 which statistically is a 50% increase, yet it is not going to cause any serious hardship, if at all. It just means that I pay $1.50 more each lunch which is $45 more a month. Most peepur get a few hundred dollars in annual salary increments. So let's not BS with statistics.  Rolleyes

Two meals will cost $90 more a month but come on! Are you unhappy to let hawkers have their salary increments while you got yours? Or are you sexpecting them to hold their prices while you got your salary increments, which they did for a few years already, so that in real terms you feel richer while they are supposed to earn the same and be relatively poorer? Have a heart. If you think hawkers are earning too much nobody's stopping your mother from selling abalone ranjiao noodles.  Rolleyes

(28-05-2024, 05:36 PM)Oyk Wrote:  If the price of a big ticket item increases by 10%, that's a lot of money. For eg, a house which increases in price from $2.0 m to $2.2 m would mean $200K more. 

However a low priced hawker dish can increase from $3.00 to $4 50 which statistically is a 50% increase, yet it is not going to cause any serious hardship, if at all. It just means that I pay $1.50 more each lunch which is $45 more a month. Most peepur get a few hundred dollars in annual salary increments. So let's not BS with statistics.  Rolleyes

Two meals will cost $90 more a month but come on! Are you unhappy to let hawkers have their salary increments while you got yours? Or are you sexpecting them to hold their prices while you got your salary increments, which they did for a few years already, so that in real terms you feel richer while they are supposed to earn the same and be relatively poorer? Have a heart. If you think hawkers are earning too much nobody's stopping your mother from selling abalone ranjiao noodles.  Rolleyes

Rich people can afford to buy house

so they willingly, happily, voluntarily pay $200k more

And for some like Jac, it is considered investment not Roof over his Head

(28-05-2024, 04:01 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  After moving to ipoh no more income? Savings can be used up very fast

My cousin and his wife retired back to Ipoh after working for decades in SG. This couple is in their mid-50s. They have enough set aside to secure their financial future.

(28-05-2024, 06:19 PM)Ola Wrote:  Rich people can afford to buy house

Rich people can afford no complain lah! Big Grin

(28-05-2024, 06:30 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  My cousin and his wife retired back to Ipoh after working for decades in SG. This couple is in their mid-50s. They have enough set aside to secure their financial future.

Ipoh not so expensive. If go JB KL Penang Island 🤣

(28-05-2024, 07:24 PM)sgh Wrote:  Ipoh not so expensive. If go JB KL Penang Island 

Penang is more suited for S'poreans to retire to.

(28-05-2024, 06:19 PM)Ola Wrote:  Rich people can afford to buy house

Many peepur stretched their finances to buy the biggest and most expensive private house they could borrow to do so, to flip.

When bank lending rates went up, these are the peepur who kpkb expecting PAP to do something for them. If the government helps them by giving them grants, the money has to come from taxpayers right.

In edmw they call this.... privatize the profits (which they make from flipping) and socialise the loss. Behind the anonymity of social media, they join the 39% and say VTO to exert pressure on the government. They are making use of oppies to enrich themselves. 

Back to the point... Cost of living increase is not about mee pok costing $4.50 instead of $3.00. Food is a small ticket item. We should not use food as an exampur but a more representative basket of goods and services. 

That being said, if all countries don't face inflation and only Singapore is facing it, then I'd agree that ex PM Lee did a bad job. In truth even countries like China, Japan, South Korea, India, and the EU countries AND the US are all in a bad shape

We have to be fair before we criticize..

There was a time when the lowly popiah was just 60cts Smile

Now it’s $2.00 minimum Sad

(28-05-2024, 04:02 PM)Ola Wrote:  PAP said that Hawker Centers are built for the low- income

So, Hawker Centers and Coffee Shops might as well close down

they are the smartest people on mother earth
but they cant solve most if not all of the problems they created

so why bother listen to what they said

their speeches as good as farts

(28-05-2024, 08:15 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  There was a time when the lowly popiah was just 60cts Smile

Now it’s $2.00 minimum Sad

There was a time when the Police were wearing khaki shorts lah! Big Grin

(28-05-2024, 08:39 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  There was a time when the Police were wearing khaki shorts lah! Big Grin

Now they still wear shorts Big Grin