Singapore cannot abandon meritocracy, can improve it: DPM Lawrence Wong

READ: https://bit.ly/3nnzuSg

For all the news you need: https://sg.yahoo.com
[+] 2 users Like Bigiron's post

🤦🤦
How many of you really have your achievement by yourself without any Gov related platforms?
Meritocracy?
[+] 2 users Like Ernesto's post

Singapore's meritocracy looks like this...

PAP is promoting the delusion Peter Lim's sone and us have the same opportunities to  good life.

[Image: 2uQmetC.jpg]

[+] 2 users Like sgbuffett's post

Singapore's meritocracy looks like this

[Image: gKQE4LX.jpg]

[+] 3 users Like sgbuffett's post

"
Meretricious

"apparently attractive but having no real value"
Characteristics of a prostitute.
[+] 2 users Like Scythian's post

It was in the past lah… Rotfl

We are which one now 任人唯贤 or 任人惟贤? Thinking

任人唯贤 or 任人唯才?

(28-06-2022, 08:32 PM)Ernesto Wrote:  🤦🤦
How many of you really have your achievement by yourself without any Gov related platforms?
Meritocracy?
One person
https://youtu.be/3pF4GadEQVY?t=1

(28-06-2022, 11:42 PM)Scythian Wrote:  One person

Maybe you can input more details?

Improve on meritocracy by parachuting Ng Yat Chung from one GLC to another?

Current meritocracy system applies coat-tailing and parachuting. If these are improve further, what can it be? Time-travelling or something??...... Thinking

at this late hour
thanks for story tellings
but no thank you.
show me like the school of hard knocks
where your money or show me the money

Did Lawrence consulted first choice, Heng Swee Keat, maybe Swee Keat viewed them differently.

As Lawrence is the 2nd choice.

(28-06-2022, 08:18 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Singapore cannot abandon meritocracy, can improve it: DPM Lawrence Wong

READ: https://bit.ly/3nnzuSg

For all the news you need: https://sg.yahoo.com

Life in Singapore will become very expensive liao lah!

(28-06-2022, 11:42 PM)Scythian Wrote:  One person

[Image: 5.jpg]

[Image: 4.jpg]

[Image: 3.jpg]

[Image: 2.jpg]

[Image: 1.jpg]

hiding something plus contempt

Nice titties Big Grin

(28-06-2022, 08:40 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Singapore's meritocracy looks like this

[Image: gKQE4LX.jpg]

You never posted your latest foray into the $2 durians at tampines giant.

It’s always so like you, leaving the rest of your durian followers in the lurch, just like how you bring your silly sheep to horland with your various stock picks Laughing

Singapore meritocracy is like our elections. The PAP control the media, election, can change the boundary for constituencies, time the election to it's advantage and hand out carrots to win. The opposition is character assassinated, jailed and bankrupted.

They call this fair.

Sinillarly our meritocracy is just a plutocracy. The rich are subsidised with low taxes and the burden for the poor and ordinary people increased year after year making their life tougher. The rich operate as landlords squeezing the lower classes.

There is no measure of meritocracy everyone claims to be one.but we know society fails when inequality grows and Singapore has the highest inequality among developed countries

The playing field is unlevel. Ordinary citizens are highly disadvantaged and they rub it in with foreign talents importation. Causing unhappiness on the ground.

[+] 3 users Like sgbuffett's post

(29-06-2022, 06:41 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  You never posted your latest foray into the $2 durians at tampines giant.

It’s always so like you, leaving the rest of your durian followers in the lurch, just like how you bring your silly sheep to horland with your various stock picks Laughing
I already said I did not make it to buy the $2 durians.
My mom saw $12/kg MSW downstairs and asked me to buy one.

There is only so much durian one can eat.

As for stocks I bought China tech instead of US tech as a strategy. It is paying off ...with stocks like BYD out performing Tesla by 70-100%>

[+] 2 users Like sgbuffett's post

(29-06-2022, 06:53 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I already said I did not make it to buy the $2 durians.
My mom saw $12/kg MSW downstairs and asked me to buy one.

There is only so much durian one can eat.

As for stocks I bought China tech instead of US tech as a strategy. It is paying off ...with stocks like BYD out performing Tesla by 70-100%>

Nice titties Big Grin

Get rid of GRC first before talk about meritocracy
[+] 3 users Like winbig's post

Singapore meritocracy is like this
[Image: vMMxgvb.jpg]

The elites are parachuted into jobs for which they have no prior experience as ordinary people have to struggle to make ends meet

(29-06-2022, 06:59 AM)winbig Wrote:  Get rid of GRC first before talk about meritocracy

Wise man

Singaporeans, we have to use our determination to overcome the PAP system. We need to stay on and make changes.

Over the weekend my uncle who migrated to Australia came with his son back to ask me and my mom to have dinner with them. I became very angry with him during the dinner. Here's why.

All his children completed university in Australia all 4. He asked me how come I didn't go university. I told him Singapore had limited places for Singaporeans in university during my time so I did not go. Then he show us pictures of his home with swimming pool garden and a long white fence. Talk and talk then asked us why we never upgraded from 2 room flat. I told him Singapore housing is very expensive and 2 room flat is big enough for me and my mom.

Then he went on to say he just bought a car for his youngest son who just finished his university in RMIT. Initially I heard wrongly and thought he said MIT but got R in front. I told him since I got my license I have never driven a car in Singapore because public transport is so good.

As the dinner dragged on, I  realised he was showing off to us his life in Australia is very good. WTF.

Australia is not even a good meritocracy.
It's just some backwater always changing govt....cannot compare with Singapore.

(29-06-2022, 06:32 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  [Image: 5.jpg]

[Image: 4.jpg]

[Image: 3.jpg]

[Image: 2.jpg]

[Image: 1.jpg]

hiding something plus contempt

[Image: photo-2021-09-12-19-16-51.jpg]
[Image: photo-2021-09-24-10-18-06.jpg]
[Image: photo-2022-06-29-06-42-21.jpg]

[Image: ert.jpg]

(29-06-2022, 07:19 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Singaporeans, we have to use our determination to overcome the PAP system. We need to stay on and make changes.

Over the weekend my uncle who migrated to Australia came with his son back to ask me and my mom to have dinner with them. I became very angry with him during the dinner. Here's why.

All his children completed university in Australia all 4. He asked me how come I didn't go university. I told him Singapore had limited places for Singaporeans in university during my time so I did not go. Then he show us pictures of his home with swimming pool garden and a long white fence. Talk and talk then asked us why we never upgraded from 2 room flat. I told him Singapore housing is very expensive and 2 room flat is big enough for me and my mom.

Then he went on to say he just bought a car for his youngest son who just finished his university in RMIT. Initially I heard wrongly and thought he said MIT but got R in front. I told him since I got my license I have never driven a car in Singapore because public transport is so good.

As the dinner dragged on, I  realised he was showing off to us his life in Australia is very good. WTF.

Australia is not even a good meritocracy.
It's just some backwater always changing govt....cannot compare with Singapore.

When you only keep looking at yourself , you will never able to perceive what is good and bad in life. He may be showing off and the government always change but the his family's life in term is much better than yours.Mind you , not just his life but his family. And he is a immigrant and not a local. We have a same  Gov for over 50 years , have your life be better than his family? I see you are too caught up or obsessed with your stock market and your cash get stuck there.You cannot move forward.

PAP is forever OUT- of- touch

Nobody/ no forums commented that Meritocracy should be removed

His English Prim 1? or Is he mad?

PAP is bringing shame to themselves

proving they really cannot lead SG anymore

VOTE them out

(29-06-2022, 06:59 AM)winbig Wrote:  Get rid of GRC first before talk about meritocracy

that is v true

GRC is a blankant order to put useless mp into the hse.
if one to one figt they will never get there.
look at chiam s t n mah b t case
as lky said 1 has credits the other 9 distinctions
[+] 2 users Like talky's post

(29-06-2022, 11:48 AM)Ernesto Wrote:  When you only keep looking at yourself , you will never able to perceive what is good and bad in life. He may be showing off and the government always change but the his family's life in term is much better than yours.Mind you , not just his life but his family. And he is a immigrant and not a local. We have a same  Gov for over 50 years , have your life be better than his family? I see you are too caught up or obsessed with your stock market and your cash get stuck there.You cannot move forward.

Australia life better than Singapore?
Rubbish and not true....People only talk to show off.
They have drugs problem homeless and crime problem
They have racist problem
They don't have public transport so need to drive car.
They university low standard although more people get to go.

(29-06-2022, 02:47 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Australia life better than Singapore?
Rubbish and not true....People only talk to show off.
They have drugs problem homeless and crime problem
They have racist problem
They don't have public transport so need to drive car.
They university low standard although more people get to go.
Thats why their car is cheap. Low standard ? But they can get better job ahead of local .Racist doesn't stop your uncle having better life with his children. Homeless , Singapore dun have?
Drugs problem is due to individual, Singapore dun have drug addicts?