Singapore die2 must refuse to use HW equipment?

HW is top 5G equipment makers.  

Must Sg refuse to use Huawei and use lousy Ericsson and Nokia's 5G?    

[+] 2 users Like webinarian's post

Must Singapore plp Biden?   

SG never said cannot use HW equipment wor.

Scared of bitedung?

https://asia.nikkei.com/Spotlight/5G-net...G-networks

Hearsay iPhone more secure. It is???

I use Samsung lah. I no standard to use apple.

(11-09-2023, 04:21 PM)theold Wrote:  https://asia.nikkei.com/Spotlight/5G-net...G-networks

StarHub, the country's second-largest telecom company, said that other than for core infrastructure such as base stations, it will use equipment made by several companies, including Huawei.
--
Strange Starhub mention they will use Huawei hardware but then for 5G they not using. So does it mean only 5G hardware not using Huawei but other purposes still will use Huawei?

The actual reason about security, resilience, performance to me is security ranked highest. Don't think it is resilience or performance that is the issue. Of cuz I am just guessing.

We just "stab" China one more time next time maybe detain our tanks in HK harbor for inspection?

Since 2020, we had the foresight to choose Eric and Nokia.

(11-09-2023, 03:26 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  SG never said cannot use HW equipment wor.

Huawei has 2 major research offices in SG...Another one just officially open in Mar this year. This is just 4 years after its 1st AI-5G lab in ASEAN...

https://www.huawei.com/en/news/2023/3/openlab-apac

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

(11-09-2023, 04:58 PM)theold Wrote:  Since 2020, we had the foresight to choose Eric and Nokia.

Yeah...SG gov saw how crazy angry D Trump was when he found out how much investment HW has made in SG in last decades...Including growing partnership with local universities and major R&D institutions.

https://scis.smu.edu.sg/news/2018/may/30...re-program

https://www.asiaresearchnews.com/html/ar...ogies.html

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

(11-09-2023, 04:43 PM)sgh Wrote:  StarHub, the country's second-largest telecom company, said that other than for core infrastructure such as base stations, it will use equipment made by several companies, including Huawei.
--
Strange Starhub mention they will use Huawei hardware but then for 5G they not using. So does it mean only 5G hardware not using Huawei but other purposes still will use Huawei?

The actual reason about security, resilience, performance to me is security ranked highest. Don't think it is resilience or performance that is the issue. Of cuz I am just guessing.

We just "stab" China one more time next time maybe detain our tanks in HK harbor for inspection?

Starhub's partner for base station has always been Nokia. Dun think they will suddenly ditch Nokia to use HW. Nothing to do with security since there has never been any proof that HW's network is less secure.

Simba uses HW, just that they didn't clinch the 5G spectrum that was released earlier. But I heard that some of their allocated spectrum is now allowed for 5G, not confirm if my news is correct though.

You're saying SG is Biden's pet dog following them in choosing 5G?

(11-09-2023, 04:23 PM)victortan Wrote:  Hearsay iPhone more secure. It is???

I use Samsung lah. I no standard to use apple.

Better throw away your Samdung.

Beware of imposter and trolls!

(11-09-2023, 05:53 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Starhub's partner for base station has always been Nokia. Dun think they will suddenly ditch Nokia to use HW. Nothing to do with security since there has never been any proof that HW's network is less secure.

Simba uses HW, just that they didn't clinch the 5G spectrum that was released earlier. But I heard that some of their allocated spectrum is now allowed for 5G, not confirm if my news is correct though.

So I'm right. Simba has 5G at 2.1GHz. I believe HW is their vendor setting up the network for them.

https://simba.sg/5g

I only know starhub nokia beacon is the worst wifi product ever made.

(11-09-2023, 08:43 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  So I'm right. Simba has 5G at 2.1GHz. I believe HW is their vendor setting up the network for them.

TPG is the only 1 of 4 telcos licensed 5G operator using Huawei equipment
And yes, HW isn't "ban" from SG when IMDA issued 5G license in 2020..,,This occur under US gov pressure after Trump launched his "winnable" Trade War" against China and follow by adding HW to US gov "entity list".

BT (Jun 2020) TPG gets green light to run localised 5G network;
TPG TELECOM, the fourth and newest mobile network operator in Singapore, will be able to deploy small-scale 5G networks when the fifth-generation wireless technology goes live here.
Although the Australian telco earlier lost its bid for one of Singapore's two nationwide 5G licences, it has successfully applied for the millimetre-wave spectrum needed for localised networks, the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) said in an update on Wednesday.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/startup...-confirmed

(11-09-2023, 04:43 PM)sgh Wrote:  StarHub, the country's second-largest telecom company, said that other than for core infrastructure such as base stations, it will use equipment made by several companies, including Huawei. --
Strange Starhub mention they will use Huawei hardware but then for 5G they not using. So does it mean only 5G hardware not using Huawei but other purposes still will use Huawei? The actual reason about security, resilience, performance to me is security ranked highest. Don't think it is resilience or performance that is the issue. Of cuz I am just guessing.

SH has been using HW equipment since the 3G to 4G era.
Years ago I already seen SH's base stations installed office buildings..,,That was the 1st time I saw HW logo.

Some where in a building in SG - Notice the product label ?
[Image: IMG7599e_2x.jpg?VersionId=1veg5ntP5eb2Tg...k=0yWTcfZP]
https://www.facebook.com/HuaweiTechSG/vi...=permalink&__rv__=related_videos

(11-09-2023, 05:53 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Starhub's partner for base station has always been Nokia. Dun think they will suddenly ditch Nokia to use HW. Nothing to do with security since there has never been any proof that HW's network is less secure. Simba uses HW, just that they didn't clinch the 5G spectrum that was released earlier. But I heard that some of their allocated spectrum is now allowed for 5G, not confirm if my news is correct though.

No...Huawei had been the major equipment provider to all SG's major telco from Singtel to M1...

It is only after US gov pass its own law against HW that forced other countries to follow their "order"..

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/t...or-surfing

(12-09-2023, 11:16 AM)Manthink Wrote:  No...Huawei had been the major equipment provider to all SG's major telco from Singtel to M1...

It is only after US gov pass its own law against HW that forced other countries to follow their "order"..

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/t...or-surfing

Singtel's main network equipment supplier for many years has been Ericsson. Same for M1 and Starhub using Nokia. Huawei supplied some parts of the network plus the indoor routers.

(11-09-2023, 10:13 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  I only know starhub nokia beacon is the worst wifi product ever made.

Go and buy this. 
Cheap and Good.
But do take note it is a China adapter. Need to buy 2 pins to 3 pins adapter.
Support WPA3 Wifi security.
Still provide future 2.5Gbps port.

Dont laugh!
Our Sg ISP still stuck at 1Gbps speed.
2.5Gbps wait until neck broken.

[Image: IMG-9946.png]

(12-09-2023, 11:39 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Singtel's main network equipment supplier for many years has been Ericsson. Same for M1 and Starhub using Nokia. Huawei supplied some parts of the network plus the indoor routers.

Depends on which years we are referring to

2014 - Chinese smartphone and telecommunication equipment manufacturer Huawei will launch a “Joint Innovation Program” with Singaporean mobile carrier SingTel to develop 5G technology
https://www.techinasia.com/huawei-singte...l-standard

2020 -  Huawei Loses Main Singapore 5G Networks to Ericsson, Nokia
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/...b-m1-group

(12-09-2023, 11:50 AM)Manthink Wrote:  Depends on which years we are referring to

2014 - Chinese smartphone and telecommunication equipment manufacturer Huawei will launch a “Joint Innovation Program” with Singaporean mobile carrier SingTel to develop 5G technology
https://www.techinasia.com/huawei-singte...l-standard

2020 -  Huawei Loses Main Singapore 5G Networks to Ericsson, Nokia
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/...b-m1-group

In 2014, 5G wasn't really out so Singtel will be willing to work with any vendor on development work. Hence, it was a trial and remained a trial.

Its main vendor in 2014 is Ericsson - https://www.singtel.com/about-us/media-c...ast-and-er

Look like My Republic starts first. Rotfl

https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-new...myrepublic

(11-09-2023, 04:21 PM)theold Wrote:  https://asia.nikkei.com/Spotlight/5G-net...G-networks
This isit is old news....

5G is building," Pompeo said in a press statement. "The more countries, companies, and citizens ask whom they should trust with their most sensitive data, the more obvious the answer becomes: Not the Chinese Communist Party's surveillance state."

Singapore will begin rolling out 5G service in January 2021, aiming to cover all of the city-state by the end of 2025.

"Our process did not exclude any vendor." 

S. Iswaran, Ex-communications and information minister, during said at virtual news conference on Wednesday. He stressed that the focus of selection was on security, resilience and performance, and emphasized that the move was not a rejection of Huawei, which has been mostly barred from operating in the U.S.

Another bidder, Australia's TPG Telecom, which partnered with Huawei, failed to obtain a nationwide 5G license. It will be allowed to deploy 5G networks in some areas and facilities.

StarHub, the country's second-largest telecom company, said that other than for core infrastructure such as base stations, it will use equipment made by several companies, including Huawei.

Singapore has called 5G an essential driver of economic competitiveness. The new 5G networks, which offer data transmission speeds up to 100 times faster than 4G, are expected to give a boost to businesses using advanced technologies such as the Internet of Things.

An increasing number of countries are only allowing "trusted vendors" rather Huawei to develop their 5G infrastructure, Pompeo said in his Wednesday statement.

The U.S. state secretary also praised so-called "clean telcos" including India's Reliance Jio, Australia's Telstra, South Korea's SK Telecom and KT and Japan's Nippon Telegraph & Telephone for rejecting Huawei equipment.

(11-09-2023, 03:06 PM)webinarian Wrote:  HW is top 5G equipment makers.  

Must Sg refuse to use Huawei and use lousy Ericsson and Nokia's 5G?    

Anti-PRC Anti-CCP lah! Big Grin

News about S-Iswaran... Tongue
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/topic/s-iswaran

(11-09-2023, 05:25 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Yeah...SG gov saw how crazy angry D Trump was when he found out how much investment HW has made in SG in last decades...Including growing partnership with local universities and major R&D institutions.

https://scis.smu.edu.sg/news/2018/may/30...re-program

https://www.asiaresearchnews.com/html/ar...ogies.html
DBS website. For info... Big Grin

UnionPayChina answer to US Visa Masters. Seem tobe this way. Spore more China ppl so UnionPay is now more widely accepted. DBS PayLah! can be used in JB at major shopping malls & petrol stn, exch rate is  S$1-RM3.22 mothership.sg

(11-09-2023, 08:43 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  So I'm right. Simba has 5G at 2.1GHz. I believe HW is their vendor setting up the network for them.

Thia is part of refarming of old 4G frequency to use for 5G?

(12-09-2023, 05:37 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Thia is part of refarming of old 4G frequency to use for 5G?

Yes. The typical 5G frequency is 3.5GHz, but now 2.1GHz also can be used for 5G liao.

https://www.commsupdate.com/articles/202...ns-for-5g/