Singaporeans aged 50 and above 100% support raising re-employment and retirement age

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/m...age-survey

Smile those Old civil servants obviously don't mind , daily is just " jiak liao bee " tasks

Those private ones are work as security guards , F&B , cleaners you think they want? Is money not enough so no choice.
What retire at 55 with your CPF ?

The future Gen who also your kids will not work till 50 or even longer.

Now the future Gen is work smart .

The fact that many folks want to raise the retirement age shows that they do not have enough savings for retirement, not because they enjoy working.
[+] 3 users Like Blasterlord2's post

(23-09-2023, 11:17 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  The fact that many folks want to raise the retirement age shows that they do not have enough savings for retirement, not because they enjoy working.

You are Wrong which I mention " those happy wish to actually are civil servants "

If you happen to go public sectors, even HDB office etc you can see quite a lot old public sectors.

Do note now they can work till 70s. Base on their age even " so call pay reduction STILL consider quite a lot than an elderly working in private sectors "

(23-09-2023, 11:17 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  The fact that many folks want to raise the retirement age shows that they do not have enough savings for retirement, not because they enjoy working.

Not lah.. they too free and do so for exercise.

(23-09-2023, 11:24 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  You are Wrong which I mention " those happy wish to actually are civil servants "

If you happen to go public sectors, even HDB office etc you can see quite a lot old public sectors.

Do note now they can work till 70s. Base on their age even " so call pay reduction STILL consider quite a lot than an elderly working in private sectors "

My friend, after pay reduction, still earns quite alot as a technician in a public sector. He said every year need to pay increasing income tax. He goes to the office 3 days a week and the other 2 days work from home. His work from home style is to bring his children out for lunch and shopping. He stay in landed house and rent out his condo.
[+] 2 users Like Clyde's post

Another of my 61-year-old teacher friend still teaching in school. He stay in hdb and has 2 condo rented out.
[+] 1 user Likes Clyde's post

(23-09-2023, 11:12 PM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/m...age-survey

And paying those 50 yo and above S$1000 or lower per month..

Just to keep them active and alive

(24-09-2023, 07:14 AM)Clyde Wrote:  Another of my 61-year-old teacher friend still teaching in school. He stay in hdb and has 2 condo rented out.

Very stupid friend.
Never read this book.
不懂易经真糟糕!

https://youtu.be/Jlgf8BQ3TvM?si=PLsNn24pWTG9LDU3

I think it's mainly because it gives them an extra option to be employed more easily when they are older with a higher retirement age. They can still retire early if they want to.
[+] 2 users Like Levin's post

I think it is because civil and public servants have a cushy life. So of course want to extend their lepak years. Most directors after 55yrs in gahment on auto cruise mode huan Big Grin

They told you?  Rolleyes

(24-09-2023, 08:45 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  I think it is because civil and public servants have a cushy life.  So of course want to extend their lepak years.  Most directors after 55yrs in gahment on auto cruise mode huan Big Grin

Those work in Universities and higher Institutions are very free. Can go out for 2 hour lunch anytime and can go off earlier than people working in private companies 

Opasnie-1

(24-09-2023, 08:55 AM)klat Wrote:  Those work in Universities and higher Institutions are very free. Can go out for 2 hour lunch anytime and can go off earlier than people working in private companies 

Opasnie-1

Yes, that's why they support working longer retirement years.  Easy switch off life with good money who dowan? Big Grin

(24-09-2023, 08:55 AM)Oyk Wrote:  They told you?  Rolleyes

So what if they told me? Do I need to prove to you? Dumbo.
[+] 2 users Like Blasterlord2's post

(24-09-2023, 08:45 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  I think it is because civil and public servants have a cushy life.  So of course want to extend their lepak years.  Most directors after 55yrs in gahment on auto cruise mode huan Big Grin

You're right! Too cushy and won't initiate new work, only wayang wayang. Like that how to improve public service?

(24-09-2023, 10:10 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  You're right! Too cushy and won't initiate new work, only wayang wayang. Like that how to improve public service?

Is obvious people want to cope the living cost.
AI can easily cover those paper works, so the working
hours can be cut, so is the pay.

It is the only way out.

All this re employment just give flexibility to workers.

Even if you don't want to work you want options to be open.

It is stupid not to support this when you have nothing to lose on your end.

(24-09-2023, 10:52 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  All this re employment just give flexibility to workers.

Actually not really true.  Because this will invariably mean you can only take out your CPF monies at a later age in future.  Now 55yrs can take out some money, next time push back to 65yrs and then drawdown at 75yrs you want? Rotfl

(24-09-2023, 09:18 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  So what if they told me? Do I need to prove to you? Dumbo.

Before we get to "Do I need to prove... ", you have much to work on your integrity and credibility.

You and RK are not just known but WELL known for making up stories. PS: I'm being very polite here by not calling you a LIAR.  Rolleyes

Who are the 61% Naive like Jac Lau

Thinking that only with raising retirement age

then get a job to be employed?

so dumb.

They support because they are poor and need to work till 70 years old which is a bad performance card for this Govt. This indicates that this Govt is doing worse than before.

(23-09-2023, 11:12 PM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/m...age-survey

Survey was done during Poo And Por conference/rally?

Our Old ehh not so old man is getting some help too for PM Lee too.

(29-09-2023, 09:02 PM)Symmetry Wrote:  They support because they are poor and need to work till 70 years old which is a bad performance card for this Govt. This indicates that this Govt is doing worse than before.
You thinking so, me don't think so....have some patient to feedback. Thk. Big Grin

(24-09-2023, 10:52 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  All this re employment just give flexibility to workers.

Some Thing's to Think for Oneself.
 Is in our samll small own brain. Big Grin

There is NO NEED to change the Re- Employment or Retirement Age

Even if you lower to 55 Years -old, you still can work at 58 or 65 years old, lah!

Many people of that age don't have children to take care of them lah! Big Grin Children are supposed to take care of their parents lah!

Sg has problems to keep inflation low especially last few years,
people need to work longer.
Sick ones also must work to pay medical bills.
So Govt has think ways to create jobs from young senior to Merdeka senior,

/www.pmo.gov.sg › Newsroom › PM-Lee-Hsien-Loong-at-the-Singapore-Ageing-Issues-and-Challenges-Ahead-Book-Launch
PMO | PM Lee Hsien Loong at the 'Singapore Ageing: Issues and ...
Apr 11, 2023First, raising the retirement and re-employment ages in step with demographic changes. Many older Singaporeans want to keep active and continue working and contributing. Last July, we raised the retirement age to 63 and the re-employment age to 68. By 2030 we will increase them further - 65 to retire, re-employment until 70.

no need survey also know for most people, retire at 55 is impossible.

(23-09-2023, 11:24 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  You are Wrong which I mention " those happy wish to actually are civil servants "

Doesn't this tell you we don't have enough young peepur to replace the older workers? When these HDB workers finally retire we will have to have new citizens to take over. No choice.

So now ica is busy giving out pink ic.