Singaporeans forced to work till they die?

(08-03-2024, 09:44 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  By bringing in so many younger foreigners, our Govt is helping employers get rid of older local employees at a faster rate and at a younger age.

Are you one of those "older local employee" who got replaced by "younger foreigner" ? Thinking

crying I am octogenarian and just been informed by the boss that company need to reorganise.......sibeh jialat liao no more ktv & booze.

(08-03-2024, 09:51 AM)Manthink Wrote:  Are you one of those "older local employee" who got replaced by "younger foreigner" ?

I am fortunate to still be gainfully employed and paid enough to own a condo and a car in my early 50s. I am speaking up for my less fortunate friends and acquaintances who were phased out and replaced by so-called FTs who entered SG owing to the govt's open leg policy.  

(08-03-2024, 10:13 AM)SotongOngTee Wrote:  I am octogenarian and just been informed by the boss that company need to reorganise.......sibeh jialat liao no more ktv & booze.

Look on the bright side. You have more time to pursue your own interests.

(07-03-2024, 11:30 AM)Oyk Wrote:  sgtalk Oyk A DICKHEAD
sgtalk Oyk FUCKED OWN MAMA

Benefited those ppl who want to work lah.
At least not so much FT

(08-03-2024, 09:41 AM)Manthink Wrote:  That I have disagree - I have never seen any Gov in any country that pushes for re-education, trainining and skill upgrade as SG.
We can complain Gov doing  "wayang show", but it is a FACT SG pop is aging very very quickl and we can see Gov is proactively  tackling the challenge of an ageing ...Which WILL also happen in other countries.....

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/s...-and-older

PAP can push for Paper- Chase to waste our time

What is the point of having Knowledge without Skills??

The worst is those mid- careers have 20 years of Skills, but still jobless

Why do we need 5 Mayors and 87 PAP Ministers? 

(08-03-2024, 10:52 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I am fortunate to still be gainfully employed and paid enough to own a condo and a car in my early 50s. I am speaking up for my less fortunate friends and acquaintances who were phased out and replaced by so-called FTs who entered SG owing to the govt's open leg policy.  

Fortunately your "less fortunate friends and acquaintances" aren't alone in the cooperate world where iron-rice bowl is just not possible.

Perhaps you are suggesting they should be entitled to "own a condo and car " regardless ?

(11-03-2024, 06:43 PM)Ola Wrote:  PAP can push for Paper- Chase to waste our time
What is the point of having Knowledge without Skills??
The worst is those mid- careers have 20 years of Skills, but still jobless

If you consider re-education, training and skill upgrade as wasting time on "paper chase"... then good luck to those who share similar attitude.
Some pple seems to forget the whole point of achieving higher education that can help put food on the table.

Those who ignore the reality our economy has far less to do with "skill" than acquiring knowledge that are relevent in a fast changing and demanding economy, then they will make themselves irreverent in ANY industry...And this applies to those in their  20s or new grad...

(11-03-2024, 09:57 PM)Manthink Wrote:  If you consider re-education, training and skill upgrade as wasting time on "paper chase"... then good luck to those who share similar attitude.
Some pple seems to forget the whole point of achieving higher education that can help put food on the table.

Those who ignore the reality our economy has far less to do with "skill" than acquiring knowledge that are relevent in a fast changing and demanding economy, then they will make themselves irreverent in ANY industry...And this applies to those in their  20s or new grad...

I agree with you on this. Employers will always be more inclined to hire younger chaps, and this is not just a phenomenon found in Spore. The next best thing we can do is to upgrade ourselves. This will not guarantee jobs for us but at least it's to boost our chance. 

The advice I'd give to people is that they should upskill themselves while they still have jobs. To do it after they're retrenched may be too late.

(11-03-2024, 10:23 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  I agree with you on this. Employers will always be more inclined to hire younger chaps, and this is not just a phenomenon found in Spore. The next best thing we can do is to upgrade ourselves. This will not guarantee jobs for us but at least it's to boost our chance. 

The advice I'd give to people is that they should upskill themselves while they still have jobs. To do it after they're retrenched may be too late.

To be doubly secured, also picked up a skill while you are employed such as certified electrician, master chef or something like that.    Big Grin

(11-03-2024, 09:48 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Fortunately your "less fortunate friends and acquaintances" aren't alone in the cooperate world where iron-rice bowl is just not possible. Perhaps you are suggesting they should be entitled to "own a condo and car " regardless ?

I am not suggesting anything. Don't let your imagination run wild.

(11-03-2024, 10:56 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I am not suggesting anything. Don't let your imagination run wild.

My bad - you are correct -That shouldn't be a "suggestion" - I forget you eluded to being materially better off than your "friends and acquiescence".  Big Grin

No more retire happily, only work until die.
No more 5C, only left 1C(credit card)

No more high standard of living, only left high standard of cost.

We are hollanded, too many topo kings in current team. Their jobs are now Whole day Kong Jiao Wei.

(11-03-2024, 11:47 PM)Manthink Wrote:  My bad - you are correct -That shouldn't be a "suggestion" - I forget you eluded to being materially better off than your "friends and acquiescence".  

Being better off is not from my doing, but the blessings from my God, so it is all glory to God. Nothing on earth belongs to me, but are given by my Lord. That is not boasting because I never claimed any credit. I trust that you are more enlightened now. 

Work to make some group of people multi millionaire

(12-03-2024, 09:14 AM)Rainforest Wrote:  Work to make some group of people multi millionaire

S'pore ranks 4th in the world for crony capitalism; we have 1 of the highest % of billionaires with family or personal ties to the Govt.  

[Image: 20230506_IRC015.png]

If u know how to save in the beginning no need to work till mati

(12-03-2024, 10:41 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  If u know how to save in the beginning no need to work till mati

Those of my friends who are still working in their 60s mostly do so because they are afraid of cognitive decline, boredom and wish to stay active. These are PMEs who invested in residential properties when they were young adults, and now have no need to continue working. 

(12-03-2024, 09:09 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Being better off is not from my doing, but the blessings from my God, so it is all glory to God. Nothing on earth belongs to me, but are given by my Lord. That is not boasting because I never claimed any credit. I trust that you are more enlightened now. 

hmmm...should I start or end with an "amen" even when when your response is anything BUT "enlightened" ? Big Grin