SkillsFuture upgrade may be just what Singaporeans need to take upskilling

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/commenta...ht-4129196
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

(17-02-2024, 09:32 AM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.channelnewsasia.com/commenta...ht-4129196

Skillsfuture prepares retrenched Sinkies for a life of "underemployment".

AI is going to replace many jobs. So got to upgrade yourself to get new job.

Got use meh?

[+] 2 users Like RiseofAsia's post

(17-02-2024, 09:59 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  AI is going to replace many jobs. So got to upgrade yourself to get new job.

Got use meh?

Can ask AI how to convert skill future credits to cash?

I rather they level up my bank account by giving me $4000 cash.

u can study non-stop but what is the point when jobs are flowing to outsiders ?

what is the incentive for companies to employ u after your skillsfuture studies vs hiring their own ppl from their own countries ?

just open your eyes wide and look at every MNC in sg. how many inside are real singaporeans ?
[+] 3 users Like mrclubbie's post

reskill retrain upskill upgrade e2i esg skillsfuture

rinse n repeat non-stop since covid era

The problem is company not hiring local leh. 
Tell people to go upgrade than will company hire them? 
Unless they restrict the in take of FT.
[+] 2 users Like Bigiron's post

(17-02-2024, 10:16 AM)pinkpanther Wrote:  Can ask AI how to convert skill future credits to cash?

Dont laugh!
It is possible.

(17-02-2024, 10:40 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote:  I rather they level up my bank account by giving me $4000 cash.

This is more pragmatic.
If you ask mid career to study, they need to have salary due to heavy family commitment, otherwise it is very difficult.

They alway come out half F system.

[+] 2 users Like RiseofAsia's post

after upskilling
improve AI will take over your upskilled job
then
upskill again!

PAP spin doctor

Gemstar Lau uncle upgrade also useless so old nobody hires
Only toilet cleaner also good got bak Kua every cny n brags here
People tot he is rich can afford lose millions in casino.
Rich people won’t hate the pap they are too happy with life ..lol

[+] 2 users Like Lukongsimi's post

For IT industry they always look for Sporeans as a lot of govt projects due to security clearance need. But IT is not for everyone so I guess pap need to recognise that.

Spore ministries stat boards all have a lot of IT systems all need ppl but if all Sporeans only wanna do project management and not hands on software development works then Ceca will still come in do. I see a lot since in this since 1998.

Can you all imagine govt IT code written by foreigners instead of Sporeans? No one know the impact long term? Data security is utmost important but some hard to detect bugs requires real data to test out so hehe...

(17-02-2024, 03:23 PM)sgh Wrote:  For IT industry they always look for Sporeans as a lot of govt projects due to security clearance need. But IT is not for everyone so I guess pap need to recognise that.

Spore ministries stat boards all have a lot of IT systems all need ppl but if all Sporeans only wanna do project management and not hands on software development works then Ceca will still come in do. I see a lot since in this since 1998.

Can you all imagine govt IT code written by foreigners instead of Sporeans? No one know the impact long term? Data security is utmost important but some hard to detect bugs requires real data to test out so hehe...

I notice the govt IT training job programmes that the companies only want candidates who graduated not more than 3 years ago.

why the govt cannot train the mid career professionals especially engineers to work in IT ?
[+] 2 users Like forum456's post

(17-02-2024, 11:22 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  The problem is company not hiring local leh. 

PAP thinks that 61% are stupid which is true!

Even with Compass Framework, companies will not hire locals

Teh only way is to deport all Foreigners ( FTs & PRs)

in NON- TECH jobs and low- end Tech jobs

(17-02-2024, 04:21 PM)forum456 Wrote:  I notice the govt IT training job programmes that the companies only want candidates who graduated not more than 3 years ago.

why the govt cannot train the mid career professionals especially engineers to work in IT ?

PAP wants FTs to replace local IT
[+] 2 users Like grotesqueness's post

(17-02-2024, 04:21 PM)forum456 Wrote:  I notice the govt IT training job programmes that the companies only want candidates who graduated not more than 3 years ago.

Reason is mid career professional may not want to do hands on work anymore. They want to do more management kind of job role instead which may not have a lot of vacancies.

(17-02-2024, 06:42 PM)sgh Wrote:  Reason is mid career professional may not want to do hands on work anymore. They want to do more management kind of job role instead which may not have a lot of vacancies.

1.  Did PAP show us that they can also do hands work?

2.  Can middle-age with 老花 be  Factory Engineers?

3.  How many elderly can be waitors for 4 hours?

For the past 10 Years, did the useless PAP Plan for the Aging population to work till 75 years- old??

[+] 2 users Like Ola's post

(17-02-2024, 06:48 PM)Ola Wrote:  1.  Did PAP show us that they can also do hands work?

2.  Can middle-age with 老花 be  Factory Engineers?

3.  How many elderly can be waitors for 4 hours?

For the past 10 Years, did the useless PAP Plan for the Aging population to work till 75 years- old??

So they introduce cleaner security guard but even that some ppl dun wan.

(17-02-2024, 06:53 PM)sgh Wrote:  So they introduce cleaner security guard but even that some ppl dun wan.

Elderly cannot do HDB cleaner cleaner because their knees are painful

And Hawker Center cleaners are worst than Under- Developed countries without gloves

Security Guards are often bullied

Accusations and abuse part of the job for many security officers in Singapore, Singapore News - AsiaOne

This authority really destroying our country......by that time many will be gone so there won't be accountability.
Many local will struggle for a livelihoods due to AI objective.These elites never realized AI can never give taxes like human. So where are those money coming from to preserve this country.
[+] 2 users Like Ernesto's post

(17-02-2024, 06:42 PM)sgh Wrote:  Reason is mid career professional may not want to do hands on work anymore. They want to do more management kind of job role instead which may not have a lot of vacancies.

cannot be.
many mid career cannot find jobs, end up doing more manual jobs like grab delivery or grab driving which are worst than IT jobs.

the govt has to make use of the mid career to reduce the IT manpower shortage instead of recruiting CECA.
[+] 2 users Like forum456's post

Retirees dont mind learning and get certified competent. Problem is will employer hire them. Most likely won't. Mid career got $4K skillfuture funds. Retiree got what?. $4K hard cash should be credited to retiree account. Rolleyes
[+] 1 user Likes Goldmine's post

50+ Dish washer upgrade skill is can do what?

50+ security guard upgrade skill is can do what?

50+ kitchen helper upgrade skill is can do what?

50+ toilet cleaner upgrade skill is can do what?

The next set of questions:

As a boss, you need dish washer, you will hire 50+ local or FW?

As a boss, you need security guard, you will hire 50+ local or FW?

As a boss, you need kitchen helper, you will hire 50+ local or FW?

As a boss, you need toilet cleaner, you will hire 50+ local or FW?
[+] 1 user Likes Buffybuffy's post

(17-02-2024, 07:58 PM)Ola Wrote:  Elderly cannot do HDB cleaner cleaner because their knees are painful

And Hawker Center cleaners are worst than Under- Developed countries without gloves

Security Guards are often bullied

Accusations and abuse part of the job for many security officers in Singapore, Singapore News - AsiaOne

Like that say means everyday wait for govt feed lor. No feed complain not take care of citizens.

Actually no use due to your age of over 40 unless u lower your wages like fresh grad might will has a white collar job provided u take part time dip or in ITE as full time or part time student.

Those what few days or few weeks short courses are for those current working ones still hire in the company.

L

Now got expiry date Liao

(18-02-2024, 12:44 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Now  got expiry date Liao

yes

once the local get expired

they can hired FT from uptron U that never expire to replace the local expired one

(17-02-2024, 11:22 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  The problem is company not hiring local leh. 

THIS!   upskill with 10 new skills also no use.

Companies continue to hire FTs & leave sinkees out also like that.

Those new skills will go to waste after months & months of looking/waiting for job. In the end, back to square one!

Learn like nvr learn.  

Even those Job conversion which Tech Minister intro like Temus or TFip, those companies play punk & release some "learners" halfway or at end of contract, release them.  All for reasons of getting actual "qualified personnel".

(18-02-2024, 12:06 AM)sgh Wrote:  Like that say means everyday wait for govt feed lor. No feed complain not take care of citizens.

The lack and inability to plan by the Govt has led to the sorry state it is today. Those jobs above can be done by healthy young adults and not seniors.