So tactically Peter lim already rich in the first place?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Lim

The son of a fishmonger
Lim and his seven siblings grew up in a two-bedroom government flat in the Bukit Ho Swee public housing estate.

Must be his dad sold the fish farm so got some capital to invest?
He work as taxi driver before, is quite impossible to save up million to invest on stocks base on the job he do

the last job, claim

He graduated with a degree in accounting and finance and first worked as an accountant and did some tax consultancy before going into stocks

work as an accountant can earn million??

In the early 1990s, Lim invested about US$10 million in a start-up palm-oil company, Wilmar
Where his 10 million from ??? is USD somemore.

(03-06-2022, 02:03 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Lim

The son of a fishmonger
Lim and his seven siblings grew up in a two-bedroom government flat in the Bukit Ho Swee public housing estate.

He work as taxi driver before, is quite impossible to save up million to invest on stocks base on the job he do

the last job, claim

He graduated with a degree in accounting and finance and first worked as an accountant and did some tax consultancy before going into stocks

In the early 1990s, Lim invested about US$10 million in a start-up palm-oil company, Wilmar
Thumbs_up Thumbs_up Thumbs_up

PL made his money in 3 steps.
Initially he work a normal job like most pple.

1. He join the brokerage as remaiser. He has big clients and earned big commissions. This got him to million per year type earnings.

2. He became middle man for big Indonesia clients who wanted to use money borrowed from banks to take over Singapore companies. This was in 1990s. He made tens of millions. Rich but nowhere near billionaire.  Somehow he escape horrors of Asian financial crisis during this period.  And had a small fortune. His Indonesian clients many were in trouble after Asian crisis.

3. He use the small fortune to invest in Wilmar after meeting Robert Kuok. The rest is history.

99.999% of rich people stop at step 1 or 2.

Step 3 is like investing in Amazon when it fell to 5 dollars after dot com bubble.

(03-06-2022, 02:03 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Lim

The son of a fishmonger

the last job, claim

You don't know he's called remisier king meh. He serviced rich clients and maybe also got insider news on some stocks.

(03-06-2022, 02:03 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  The son of a fishmonger

the last job, claim

Honestly speaking and not tactically, Peter Lim does not born with a golden spoon. He is a self made man. As an accountant, he probably worked in the finance industry and has networks with ultra rich investors. Doing business dun really mean you must come out your own money. There is a term called "other people's money" or OPM if you have a money making idea, you can easily raise the US$10 million after convincing his network of ultra rich investors........ Big Grin

He bought the wrong European football club  Big Grin

His brain always few step ahead Thinking Yeah i still remember the raffles town club saga

so it's networking and insider info on top of hard work

Dr Albert Hung is the key to his success.

I was sad when i don't have a pair of new shoes, until i saw someone with no feet...

(03-06-2022, 04:20 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  PL made his money in 3 steps.

1. He join the brokerage as remaiser. He has big clients and earned big commissions. This got him to million per year type earnings.

2. He became middle man for big Indonesia clients who wanted to use money borrowed from banks to take over Singapore companies. This was in 1990s. He made tens of millions. Rich but nowhere near billionaire.  Somehow he escape horrors of Asian financial crisis during this period.  And had a small fortune. His Indonesian clients many were in trouble after Asian crisis.

3. He use the small fortune to invest in Wilmar after meeting Robert Kuok. The rest is history.

Step 3 is like investing in Amazon when it fell to 5 dollars after dot com bubble.

Heard he is Lucky as broker got BIG Client, guess is that time Than he got millions to invest.

(03-06-2022, 04:26 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Honestly speaking and not tactically, Peter Lim does not born with a golden spoon. He is a self made man. As an accountant, he probably worked in the finance industry and has networks with ultra rich investors. Doing business dun really mean you must come out your own money. There is a term called "other people's money" or OPM if you have a money making idea, you can easily raise the US$10 million after convincing his network of ultra rich investors........ Big Grin

isn't a lot now start up like this? Grab , etc etc

Not so simple la u think what big indo client this and that..

(03-06-2022, 05:28 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  Not so simple la u think what big indo client this and that..

actually kinda true " a lot dark side story always from indo client " but people " close one eye " partly you don't want money?
is there on the table let you take lor.

in other words got connections lah.................how to get big clients ?

(03-06-2022, 06:18 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  in other words got connections lah.................how to get big clients ?

FA can teach you.

Why he don't push up Rowsley? Sell Thomson Medical and buy back ? Sell away Rowsley...

(03-06-2022, 06:18 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  in other words got connections lah.................how to get big clients ?

I think he work very hard the other parts ....cannot say.
Let's just say he had a lot of information otherwise big clients won't go to him.

易经:一命二运三风水,四积功德五读书。 六名七相八敬神,九交贵人十养生,十一择业与择偶,十二趋吉要避凶

can check with yr uncle, 九交贵人 very important.

(03-06-2022, 08:24 PM)ysh02 Wrote:  Why he don't push up Rowsley?  Sell Thomson Medical and buy back ? Sell away Rowsley...

He does not need Rowley any more lah.
Remember how he tried the Mongolia lottery deal fell through.
The solar panel deal fell through.

(03-06-2022, 05:24 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Heard he is Lucky as broker got BIG Client, guess is that time Than he got millions to invest.

Nothing to do with luck lah. He probably has a very special talent or personality to get so many wealthy clients. Heard even the Sultan of Brunei was his client. Not easy and definitely not luck.

He was a good friend of Robert Kuok's nephew and together they went into Wilmar to huat. But why Wilmar? Only they know.

(03-06-2022, 08:34 PM)RichDad Wrote:  Nothing to do with luck lah. He probably has a very special talent or personality to get so many wealthy clients. Heard even the Sultan of Brunei was his client.  Not easy and definitely not luck.

He was a good friend of Robert Kuok's nephew and together they went into Wilmar to huat. But why Wilmar? Only they know.

They buy Wilmar because they got insider news lah.

He cultivated a good network of rich clients. It involves some talent and lots of work to do networking with rich folks. He used to jio my colleague's very rich uncle for coffee. Of course now PL is much richer than this fella, so no more coffee sessions.
[+] 1 user Likes starbugs's post

4. How come u beri poor?

(03-06-2022, 08:34 PM)RichDad Wrote:  Nothing to do with luck lah. He probably has a very special talent or personality to get so many wealthy clients. Heard even the Sultan of Brunei was his client. Not easy and definitely not luck.

" Insider info " ? My Uncle told me , for one wanna instantly overnight rich is Easy everyone knows, get " insider news REAL one not those rumours " BUT sadly is not you or me can know.

Some is " playing coinscipracy way " Create a thing or problem is to benefit that particular company.

Talk is easy.. that why 99.999% of us are poor.. Amazon after dot com bubble, I don't think their ecommerce business is making money then.. so will you invest in it?? Not me..

Cite an example in sinkie land, there was a point when OSIM is $0.1, after a bad investment that make it almost bankrupt.. If you buy then, also make v good profit when it eventually recover to $3+..

But how many of us will buy when at $0.1.. Not me..