Taking a deep hard look at Singapore Mathematics

Taken from http://wildaboutmath.com/2011/08/13/taki...thematics/

The “Made in Singapore” tag literally applies to me-born here, bred here, educated here. To a certain extent, I was blessed to have studied mathematics in this little country, as its curriculum was exceptionally rigorous and thorough. That said, is Singapore maths really that awesome and perfect? Absolutely not .In fact its pretty flawed. Being someone who “survived” this journey (which was generally manageable, but not quite pleasant at times), perhaps I might be in a better position to put things into perspective.

Mention Singapore Maths to educators around the world, and thoughts normally conjured up would be those of novel primary school textbooks and bar model solving methodologies unique to the Singaporean context. Or the impeccable Cambridge ‘O’ and ‘A’ level examination standards imported from the UK a long time ago. Marvelled from the outside, it is an incredible system which enables the learner to cultivate a high level of mathematical competency through various stages of carefully structured teaching programs. But there within resides serious problems. The extremely competitive nature of academic education here places a strong premium on getting stellar report cards and grades, so much so that a kid goes to school merely to learn how to excel in tests and advance to the next level, rather than learning to better oneself.

So while a typical Singaporean student is able to evaluate an integral efficiently or deftly reduce a system of linear equations, he is merely reproducing the operations taught to him in a mechanical fashion- put it simply, he does things without knowing why. Truth be told, most students behave in a similar manner ie they swallow what is taught wholesale without even attempting to digest the knowledge. Yet they can’t be blamed for being far less curious and inquisitive. The mainstream style of instruction utilised in Singapore maths heavily emphasizes memorisation and rote learning- very robotic strategies which have been proven to deliver consistently good results for many batches of students in national assessments. Couple it with the “don’t fix it if it ain’t broke” mentality of the education authorities, this is what happens.

Another obscene culture deeply embedded within Singaporean maths education is that commonly called “question spotting”. It is subtly acknowledged (and if I may add, encouraged) within the local teaching community to set specific types of questions such that their essence can be easily recycled and referenced in test scripts year after year. Over a prolonged build-up period, with access to a collection of past year papers, it becomes reasonably easy for the student to predict the flavour of an upcoming maths exam and make revision plans accordingly. It is really all about being “exam smart”, nothing more. You don’t need genuine math ability to score a distinction here in the Lion City, period.
This is further exacerbated by the fact that major math syllabus reductions for both secondary schools and junior colleges (JCs) were introduced during recent years, most prominent of which was the installation of the simpler, far more hollow Higher 1/Higher 2 (aka H1/H2) maths courses in 2007 for the JCs. In comparison to the older C/Further maths syllabuses taught during my days, I reckon a cut of at least 40% was made; even so, this is a very conservative estimate. The graphic calculator was brought in on the grounds of revolutionising lessons given the dawn of the new IT age, but from my observations, it has become more of a liability rather than an advantage, because many kids are so reliant on it they can’t even graph basic functions by hand when I intentionally forbade use of the handheld gadget. Note that this is only one of many more embarrassing revelations which I shall not discuss here. So much for Singapore coming out tops in international maths proficiency rankings. Less lesson content, more high tech toys equals..……you fill in the blanks.

Ending this, allow me to ask you (the reader) a simple question-can you name an influential mathematician who hails from Singapore? If our maths is so damn great, why are you still scratching your head helplessly and unable to give a response?

Frederick Koh is a teacher residing in Singapore who specialises in teaching the A level H2 maths curriculum. He has accumulated more than a decade of tutoring experience and loves to share his passion for mathematics on his personal site https://www.whitegroupmaths.com
[+] 5 users Like Nyvrem's post

Ending this, allow me to ask you (the reader) a simple question-can you name an influential mathematician who hails from Singapore?

Ans: Pinky Lee, he was a senior wrangler from Cambridge!

Limpei realli hated drawing all those bar model nonsense rast time

Sama sama ....

Our children are not brought up to be curious, that's the problem. Dun think it has anything to do with the curriculum.

PAP wants subservient non-thinkers because they are easier to control, nuff said

(20-03-2023, 06:31 PM)Leongsam Wrote:  Why Singapore’s kids are so good at maths

https://www.ft.com/content/2e4c61f2-4ec8...9ecd3b86fc

singapore kid are just dumb smart and dumb good

like ownself check ownself but cannot find out keppel corruption in brazil until US-DOJ  find it out for us

singapore kid good in getting the answer but not good in how the answer apply to the real world

the american DOJ is good in understanding the answer and how the answer can be sham

The Singapore maths is not maths it is LOGIC.
Maths is to remove the need for long winded reasoning used in ancient times to do calculation.

If learning Singapore maths is so important why do we import so many foreign professionals who did not go through Singapore maths education to work in Singapore? It is clear Singapore maths does not confer any advantage to Singaporeans.

Singapore maths is used as a tool to select one Singaporean child over another for purpose for pick some for further studies in top schools. Its a way to pick one student over another but has dubious value when it comes to improving the child's education.

[+] 2 users Like sgbuffett's post

Maths is the foundation of science and engineering but since most jobs here do not require them so there's a mismatch and foreigners are imported to fill the gap

(24-03-2023, 03:02 PM)11.11 Wrote:  Dude was from hwa chong and NUS EEE, quite steady sia

Umbrage Ng, Tin Pei Ling and that loser Ng Chee Meng also from HC hor

JC H2 Math not easy at all.

Easy or not, at the end of the day can use it to earn money anot? cannot right? So what's the use?

(24-03-2023, 03:08 PM)fuch_asia Wrote:  Umbrage Ng, Tin Pei Ling and that loser Ng Chee Meng also from HC hor

tiktok CEO also mah

But if dun study maths, then study what? Golf lessons, car repairs, investment courses, hospitality, cooking... ?

(21-03-2023, 03:49 PM)Vijay Wrote:  PRC kids are probably way better

That's why they are able to create great products like TikTok... Big Grin

TS hates Maths since primary 1....

(20-03-2023, 04:04 AM)pinkypanther Wrote:  Ending this, allow me to ask you (the reader) a simple question-can you name an influential mathematician who hails from Singapore?

Ans: Pinky Lee, he was a senior wrangler from Cambridge!

Yes, Pinky is math major for Cambridge U........................ Big Grin

He was a brilliant Mathematics student. And surprise, surprise! He can speak Russian.

Lee Hsien Loong was the Senior Wrangler (ranked 1st in the Math Tripos, the famously difficult Cambridge undergraduate Mathematics course) at Cambridge. He scored 31 alphas, 12 more alphas than the runner up.

'He graduated at the top of his class, and he really won by a street. The one who came second has now ...become a world-class mathematician, but it was clear to everyone at the time who was the better one.'
-– Prof. Béla Bollobás (LHL's teacher), University of Cambridge in 1994

"Loong was not only hardworking, conscientious and professional, but he was also very inventive. All the signs indicated that he would have been a world-class research mathematician. I’m sure his father never realized how exceptional Loong was. He thought Loong was very good. No, Loong was much better than that. When I tried to tell Lee Kuan Yew, 'Look, your son is phenomenally good: you should encourage him to do mathematics,' then he implied that that was impossible, since as a top-flight professional mathematician Loong would leave Singapore for Princeton, Harvard or Cambridge, and that would send the wrong signal to the people in Singapore."
--- Prof. Béla Bollobás, University of Cambridge in 2007

He finished the Math Tripos in 2 years instead of 3, having been exempted from the first year of the Tripos.

When Trinity College in Cambridge offered him a fellowship to become a mathematician and teach maths there. He wrote to his tutor and said, “I must go home. I’ve joined the Singapore Armed Forces, my father’s the PM, and for me not to go home and do what I have to do would be bad for the country and bad for me.”

http://papinreview.blogspot.com/2017/06/...atics.html

(25-03-2023, 02:37 PM)11.11 Wrote:  If only he had become a mathematician, he would prob do much more good than harm, or at least SG would be spared his political ineptness
True that!

(21-03-2023, 04:02 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Our children are not brought up to be curious, that's the problem. Dun think it has anything to do with the curriculum.

Thought it's insightful comment.........indeed RI...

What has it got to do with RI?

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/n...ics-pm-lee

(02-04-2023, 01:10 PM)Sickwarfare Wrote:  https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/n...ics-pm-lee

he has no regrets, but us Sinkies have!!!!!!!!!
[+] 1 user Likes Reddishday's post

hope his cancer come back soon......

https://www.menshealth.com/trending-news...ertheimer/

i like einstein

poor in math

but create equation that can win Noble Prize

people who can solved  other people questions are not talented at all
you can answer all the question in a test paper correctly does not mean you are smart!

people create new equation and win Noble Prize are really smart

so any Noble prize from LHL?

dumb people cannot win Noble Prize

LET US BE HONEST ABOUT IT

hahahahahahahahaha

(22-04-2023, 01:49 AM)11.11 Wrote:  nobel prize lah, nobel prize lol

you also type wrongly

"nobel prize lah, noble prize lol"

aiyeah

typo

but my content is soooooo true

solving other people written sum and problems are so dumb

creating your own equation that solved sum and problems that no others has solved before is really a genius

oooooooh I didn't know that thanks for sharing

Nobel, an inventor and industrialist, did not create a prize in mathematics simply because he was not particularly interested in mathematics or theoretical science. His will speaks of prizes for those ``inventions or discoveries'' of greatest practical benefit to mankind.

mathematics or theoretical science are not greatest practical benefit to mankind

mathematics alone are just games

wah you still awake ah