Thaksin’s daughter Paetongtarn Shinawatra becomes Thailand’s youngest prime minister

https://www.theguardian.com/world/articl...shinawatra

Paetongtarn Shinawatra, daughter of the billionaire former prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra, has been approved as Thailand’s next prime minister, after securing enough support from lawmakers.

Paetongtarn, 37, will be the youngest prime minister to lead the country. Her appointment on Friday followed 24 hours of frantic negotiations triggered by a court ruling that ousted the former prime minister Srettha Thavisin.

She is the youngest of three children born to the divisive political heavyweight Thaksin Shinawatra. Her father was ousted in a coup in 2006, but remains hugely influential.

Paetongtarn is the fourth member of the Shinawatra family to become prime minister. Thaksin’s brother-in-law, Somchai Wongsawat, was prime minister briefly during 2008, while his sister, Yingluck Shinawatra, was prime minister from 2011 until 2014. Both Somchai and Yingluck were forced from office by court rulings.

Paetongtarn is also the second woman to lead Thailand, after Yingluck.

She was required to secure 247 votes from the 493 members currently in parliament in order to pass the vote.

Paetongtarn , who has never served in government, will take office at a time of political instability.

Fugging Thai politics is a circus much like Muddysia Boleh

From SG perspective, it is good to have another Thaksin

[+] 2 users Like Tangsen's post

https://www.bangkokpost.com/thailand/pol...e-minister

The House of Representatives on Friday elected Pheu Thai Party leader Paetongtarn "Ung Ing" Shinawatra as the 31st prime minister of Thailand with 319 votes for, 145 votes against and 27 abstentions.

[Image: Screenshot-2024-08-16-14-17-59-41-f9ee05...ccb329.jpg]

[Image: Screenshot-2024-08-16-14-21-54-42-f9ee05...ccb329.jpg]

[Image: Screenshot-2024-08-16-14-22-12-20-f9ee05...ccb329.jpg]

[Image: Screenshot-2024-08-16-14-22-28-06-f9ee05...ccb329.jpg]

https://youtu.be/9Sp5sVG8Il4?si=w60yNbMtb8m2TXz0

She is the previous PM's wet dream

[Image: 0x0.jpg]

Will she be the current PM's wet dream?

[Image: S04-267.jpg]

[Image: IMG-0072.jpg]

[Image: IMG-0073.jpg]

[Image: IMG-0074.jpg]

[Image: IMG-0075.jpg]

share picture

Very pretty. 
The world is changing, women on top. 
Look at OCBC, DBS... 
Will US get a woman president too?

[Image: AP22340333338224.jpg]

Most important is this PM is Singapore friendly. Where is that clown, Scythian?      Big Grin

(16-08-2024, 02:39 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  [Image: IMG-0072.jpg]

share picture

[Image: Screenshot-20240816-183911-Photos.jpg]
Thumbs Up 

(16-08-2024, 02:39 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  [Image: IMG-0072.jpg]

share picture

Thaksin's great-grandfather, Seng Saekhu (Qiu Chunsheng 丘春盛), was an immigrant from Meizhou, Guangdong, China, who arrived in Siam in the 1860s and settled in Chiang Mai in 1908. His eldest son, Chiang Saekhu, was born in Chanthaburi in 1890 and married a local named Saeng Samana. Chiang's eldest son, Sak, adopted the Thai surname Shinawatra in 1938 because of the country's pro-Central Thai movement, and the rest of the family also adopted it.[13]

Seng Saekhu had made his fortune through tax farming. Chiang Saekhu/Shinawatra later founded Shinawatra Silks and then moved into finance, construction, and property development. Thaksin's father, Loet, was born in Chiang Mai in 1919 and married Yindi Ramingwong. Yindi's father, Charoen Ramingwong (born: Wang Chuan Cheng), was a Hakka immigrant[14] who married Princess Chanthip na Chiangmai, a minor member of the Lanna (Chiang Mai) royalty.[citation needed]

In 1968, Loet Shinawatra entered politics and became an MP for Chiang Mai. Loet Shinawatra quit politics in 1976. He opened a coffee shop, grew oranges and flowers in Chiang Mai's San Kamphaeng District, and opened two cinemas, a gas station, and a car and motorcycle dealership. By the time Thaksin was born, the Shinawatra family was one of the richest and most influential families in Chiang Mai.[13]

Thaksin was born in San Kamphaeng, Chiang Mai Province. He is a Theravada Buddhist. He lived in the village of San Kamphaeng until he was 15, then moved to Chiang Mai to study at Montfort College. At 16, he helped run one of his father's cinemas.[15]

Thaksin married Potjaman Damapong in July 1976.[16]: 38  They have one son, Panthongtae and two daughters, Pinthongtha and Paethongtarn. They divorced in 2008.[17] Thaksin's youngest sister, Yingluck Shinawatra (Thai: ยิ่งลักษณ์ ชินวัตร; RTGS: yinglak chinnawat), is said to have entered politics in 2011 at her brother's request as leader of the pro-Thaksin Pheu Thai Party. She was later elected prime minister on 3 July 2011.[18] Thaksin received a doctorate in criminology at Sam Houston State University.[19] Thaksin lectured at the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities of Mahidol University in 1979.[citation needed][20]

根據各大媒體的追踪報導,他信出生於泰国清邁府的一個华人家庭,其父亲來自中國廣東梅州市,而其母亲則來自同省市的梅县区,客家人第四代后裔,这是从留居泰国的曾祖父丘春盛计起的。

2005年初,他信携家人访问中国大陆广东省和梅州市,展开寻根之旅。同年7月,他信以泰国总理的身份,正式访问了广东。2007年10月24日,他信的三位堂兄猜也实、巴威和乌泰,受他信的委托回到塔下村认祖归宗,祭拜祖祠、祖墓,圆了他信家族多年的寻根梦。

他信母亲叫黄金里(又译黄金垒),祖籍中国广东梅县松口镇梅教村(今属梅州市)。2005年7月,时任泰国总理的他信访华时,特地去梅州市梅县区松口镇梅教村看了母亲居住的村镇。

In 2014, Temasek seeks to sell $3.1 billion stake in Thailand's Shin Corp to SingTel: sources

In August 2019, "Temasek sells stakes in Thai telco Intouch (Shin Corp), the former Shin Corp, for $700.6m"
https://www.straitstimes.com/business/ec...0%24700.6m

(16-08-2024, 01:43 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Fugging Thai politics is a circus much like Muddysia Boleh

From SG perspective, it is good to have another Thaksin

Nah, she will be overthrown in a few months time. Max 2 years.

Thailand politics is shit. Mark my words  Rolleyes

(16-08-2024, 07:12 PM)Jericho75 Wrote:  Nah, she will be overthrown in a few months time. Max 2 years.

Overthrown by this US puppet?

[url=https://ibb.co.com/KWtCT3s][Image: 2023-07-13-T115706-Z-534551862-RC2-B22-A...255639.jpg]

(16-08-2024, 07:29 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  Overthrown by this US puppet?

[url=https://ibb.co.com/KWtCT3s][Image: 2023-07-13-T115706-Z-534551862-RC2-B22-A...255639.jpg]

By the Thai Junta lah...

U all Pro-China fanarics brain got problem issit? Anything also USA USA USA

(16-08-2024, 07:50 PM)Jericho75 Wrote:  
By the Thai Junta lah...

U all Pro-China fanarics brain got problem issit? Anything also USA USA USA

In her statement, she said, “I resigned so that I did not have to see the procession of dead bodies. They wanted to come to power over the dead bodies of students, but I did not allow it, I resigned from the premiership. I could have remained in power if I had surrendered the sovereignty of Saint Martin Island and allowed America to hold sway over the Bay of Bengal. I beseech to the people of my land, ‘Please do not be manipulated by radicals.”

According to the former PM, the USA wants the island because they want to build a military base on it.

https://www.opindia.com/2024/08/ex-bangl...ns-island/

[url=https://ibb.co.com/ZhtpBFk][Image: main-qimg-0983e1f56167afab177e59fa1eb67da3.jpg]

(16-08-2024, 06:10 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Most important is this PM is Singapore friendly. Where is that clown, Scythian?      Big Grin

This unfriendly Scythian is hiding in Melbourne shaking legs and kpkb SG.

(16-08-2024, 07:59 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  In her statement, she said, “I resigned so that I did not have to see the procession of dead bodies. They wanted to come to power over the dead bodies of students, but I did not allow it, I resigned from the premiership. I could have remained in power if I had surrendered the sovereignty of Saint Martin Island and allowed America to hold sway over the Bay of Bengal. I beseech to the people of my land, ‘Please do not be manipulated by radicals.”

According to the former PM, the USA wants the island because they want to build a military base on it.

https://www.opindia.com/2024/08/ex-bangl...ns-island/

Is true.

Remember when you resign your next job also write that it is USA make you resign one.

Sure is a perfect excuse for your next job interview. 
[Image: tenor.gif]

(16-08-2024, 08:04 PM)Jericho75 Wrote:  Is true.

Remember when you resign your next job also write that it is USA make you resign one.

Sure is a perfect excuse for your next job interview. 
[Image: tenor.gif]

Still living in denial?

(16-08-2024, 08:26 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  Still living in denial?

Huh? Ur passport really Communist China Passport ah?

U admit? Or denial??

Wow daddy become Free man Liao

Actually her dad still got one charges is insult the king.

(16-08-2024, 08:30 PM)Jericho75 Wrote:  Huh? Ur passport really Communist China Passport ah?

U admit? Or denial??

You really no need to work? so could u tell us how much yr wife made per month in Geylang?
[+] 1 user Likes CHAOS's post

(16-08-2024, 06:42 PM)Blin Wrote:  Father, sister& daughter.world record not easy to break.

Eh you forgot here we have Father, son, grandson to become.

(16-08-2024, 08:39 PM)CHAOS Wrote:  You really no need to work? so could u tell us how much yr wife made per month in Geylang?

你去问你妈咯。。 她不是每晚在哪里混饭吃吗? Rotfl

(16-08-2024, 06:40 PM)Blin Wrote:  [Image: Screenshot-20240816-183911-Photos.jpg]

[Image: Ho-Ching.jpg]

(16-08-2024, 07:12 PM)Jericho75 Wrote:  Nah, she will be overthrown in a few months time. Max 2 years.

No need to mark … I agreed.
Maybe another army coup … cheese and wine and watch the show

(16-08-2024, 06:10 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Most important is this PM is Singapore friendly. Where is that clown, Scythian?      Big Grin

If there's no monkey biz, there's nothing to worry

"没做亏心事,不怕鬼叫门"

(16-08-2024, 08:02 PM)Niubee Wrote:  This unfriendly Scythian is hiding in Melbourne shaking legs and kpkb SG.
You bad mouth behind my back

(16-08-2024, 10:53 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  No need to mark … I agreed.
Maybe another army coup … cheese and wine and watch the show

Their coup got so many ways, Pattern more than badminton one. 
Like this Judges ruling another method. Saved the Junta alot of leg works.  Rolleyes