The Cathay at Handy Road will be closed in August for

The Cathay at Handy Road will be closed in August for a major revamp.

The revitalisation works will last for about a year and a half. https://str.sg/wvWZ

(17-02-2023, 03:09 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  The Cathay at Handy Road will be closed in August for a major revamp.

The revitalisation works will last for about a year and a half. https://str.sg/wvWZ

I used to watch many movies in the old cinema leh! Big Grin  'Superman' for example lah!

(17-02-2023, 03:09 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  The Cathay at Handy Road will be closed in August for a major revamp.

roof  n side wall fixing solar panel?.

I tot revamp not long ago?

Hopefully haunted
[+] 1 user Likes Sharexchange's post

I still remember the kachang puteh sellers will be outside, under the walkway. Didn't need fancy popcorn etc just kachang was a treat! The ticket hall was just as u walk in, followed by step up to the various halls... back when times were simple and so was Sg.
[+] 2 users Like Merdeka's post

I thought this was already closed down?
[+] 1 user Likes IndianChief's post

(17-02-2023, 09:40 PM)Merdeka Wrote:  I still remember the kachang puteh sellers will be outside, under the walkway. Didn't need fancy popcorn etc just kachang was a treat! The ticket hall was just was u walk in, followed by step up to the various halls... back when times were simple and so was Sg.

There used to be a row of shops down the road there's 1 selling all kinds of fishes lah! Big Grin I used to buy fighting fish from there leh! Excellent Prata shop also lah!

(18-02-2023, 09:00 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  There used to be a row of shops down the road there's 1 selling all kinds of fishes lah! Big Grin I used to buy fighting fish from there leh! Excellent Prata shop also lah!

Nostalgia……. That warm warm fuzzy feeling.
[+] 1 user Likes kelhot2001's post

The last time it closed for redevelopment, it closed for 5-6 years from 2000 to 2006.

After that, it is still very quiet. I think it not big enough to have much draw.
[+] 1 user Likes Levin's post

(18-02-2023, 09:11 AM)Levin Wrote:  The last time it closed for redevelopment, it closed for 5-6 years from 2000 to 2006.

After that, it is still very quiet. I think it not big enough to have much draw.

The old Cathay is gone liao lah! Big Grin ALL gone case liao lah!

watching movie at cinema is a different experience. with the group of friends. big screen, sound system. cannot get at home. miss the opportunities for friends to meet up.
[+] 1 user Likes sclim's post

(18-02-2023, 09:47 AM)sclim Wrote:  watching movie at cinema is a different experience. with the group of friends. big screen, sound system. cannot get at home.  miss the opportunities for friends to meet up.

You're right lah! Big Grin With the surround sound effects with the huge movie screen and the shiok aircon is like Heaven on Earth liao lah!

Old Cathay and capitol very romantic one.

(18-02-2023, 01:48 PM)dynamite Wrote:  Old Cathay and capitol very romantic one.

Dynamite Kor Kor How romantic ? Smile