[The Food Dossier] Hua Fong Kee Roasted Duck

[Image: VMBtOej.png]

Hua Fong Kee Roasted Duck (華芳記燒臘飯) may not be as "vernacular" as, say, Guan Chee or Kam's, nevertheless it has accreted a sizeable following through operating within the Toa Payoh estate for 30+ unfaltering years. Established in 1989 by husband-wife pair Johnny Teo and Jessie Sim, this time-hallowed siu laap institution makes no bones about its predilection for using free-range fowl culled from Perak, of which they must weigh an average 2.7kg each - all in the name of nailing that oft-elusive tender yet juicy.

Beyond duck, Hua Fong Kee also panders to porcine enthusiasts by way of its beaucoup char siew cum sio bak offerings.

More at https://www.thefooddossier.com/2022/12/h...-duck.html
[+] 1 user Likes pinkypanther's post

(26-12-2022, 10:04 PM)Nyvrem Wrote:  Think it used to have 3 outlets, now left two?

Their first stall is at the hawker been tear down beside the Wet market here at TPY Lorong 1 Smile Always me and my friends will go there eat the char swee rice after our usual soccer game after school.
Later they shift to Blk 116 beside braddell MRT , the 2nd stall is at BLK 128 beside the wet market coffeeshop.

Now still can eat rah but somehow last time even better.

the boss and wife still around monitor but is not they chop the duck and char swee now they hired people doing it.

(26-12-2022, 11:09 PM)Nyvrem Wrote:  the couple old liao lah, can't expect them to keep slaving away mah

actually not yet say dam old, around like mid 50++ 60 like that.

(26-12-2022, 11:21 PM)Nyvrem Wrote:  how you know?

If I pass by , if wanna eat char swee rice will buy rah at there . I already mention when they start selling , me and my classmate already eat. In fact a lot of times

even now if i happen pass by will buy depend my mood. So I recongise the owner aka the couple. Most of the time they at BLK 116 outlet the blk 128 is oversee by one long hair uncle. Also last time he in charge order one with the couple when they sell. I think that uncle maybe the owner bro or relative.

FYI the 116 Yong T F stall also owned by them.

This couple very unethical... heard they copy Hup Chong YTF, then increase the rent, and when Hup Chong left, sell exactly the same item as Hup Chong. Anyway, the standard of their roast ducks drops drastically... there are many many better ones. There’s one at the corner Keong Saik Road and Neil Road, cheaper and better.

The male boss by the way is a PAP grass root leader. When elections, can see him goes round to distribute pamphlets.... avoid him if you are a oppposition.

CHAOS & Cityhantam are 2 sick CCP mother-fcuker bastards, who support Islamic radical Simplemen, aka Imran, who has been belittling Chinese, juz because their mothers like farking Hamas dogs

(27-12-2022, 10:38 AM)YummyKing Wrote:  This couple very unethical... heard they copy Hup Chong YTF, then increase the rent, and when Hup Chong left, sell exactly the same item as Hup Chong. Anyway, the standard of their roast ducks drops drastically... there are many many better ones. There’s one at the corner Keong Saik Road and Neil Road, cheaper and better.

The male boss by the way is a PAP grass root leader. When elections, can see him goes round to distribute pamphlets.... avoid him if you are a oppposition.

Now a days like that. Hawkers ... as usual is " competition, business etc " like PAP like to " own people make we fight among ourself "

This Hup Chong YTF yea actually at Blk 116 in fact when the origin place is current MCD there opposite . Last time is a coffeeshop later MCD till now.

In fact Hup Chong YTF got two outlet One is they move to SPH there opposite one coffeeshop

Another is at blk 128. What I heard, is they want to split " maybe got inner conflict or what among relatives, or bros whatever , wanna to do ownself way of managing it "

(29-12-2022, 12:13 AM)Vijay Wrote:  not halal right?

Do u see any Muslims eat duck before?

Not halal lah, got sell pork rice

(27-12-2022, 10:57 PM)Sickwarfare Wrote:  wah seems like you really hate him a lot sia, he offend you last time?

Not really... I been eating very long time when it was in the Hawker centres and introduced many friends there. And I used to buy whole duck to pray for festive seasons. After praying, would bring to her to chop. Then few years later, she refused to do it. ... I was surprised, then later her fat brother told me she has embraced English God and cannot touch ducks which were offered to Chinese gods. Mother bastard, at least pre warned me la. If want to be successful, cannot be so religious la. But that aside, the quality is really dropped. Dian Xiao Er is hundred times better.

CHAOS & Cityhantam are 2 sick CCP mother-fcuker bastards, who support Islamic radical Simplemen, aka Imran, who has been belittling Chinese, juz because their mothers like farking Hamas dogs

(29-12-2022, 01:30 AM)winbig Wrote:  Do u see any Muslims eat duck before?

Definitely have . There’s a stall in coffee Shop in Geylang Serai near Haig Road that sells roast chicken  and roast duck, plus char Siew chicken. Another on in West Coady Drive, run by a Muslim Chinese that sell roast duck. In Kuala Lumpur, there are many stalls, but you won’t like them, very rubbery type.

(30-12-2022, 11:36 AM)YummyKing Wrote:  Definitely have . There’s a stall in coffee Shop in Geylang Serai near Haig Road that sells roast chicken  and roast duck, plus char Siew chicken. Another on in West Coady Drive, run by a Muslim Chinese that sell roast duck. In Kuala Lumpur, there are many stalls, but you won’t like them, very rubbery type.

My Muslim colleagues said they cannot eat animals that can swim in water and walk on land leh.

(30-12-2022, 11:40 AM)winbig Wrote:  My Muslim colleagues said they cannot eat animals that can swim in water and walk on land leh.

I couldn’t find the Halal roast duck in Haig Road on the internet ... maybe tomorrow I go and take pictures but this restaurant serve halal roast duck. My younger brother who travels to Indonesia, told me just, that there are plentiful stalls in Indonesia selling Muslim roast or braised duck

https://www.rasarasa.sg/

[+] 1 user Likes YummyKing's post

By the way, my mom in law’s Muslim maid from Indonesia eat pork. She said, Muslim considers pork dirty, but want to eat or not eat up to the individual.....
In KL, I once ate a steam boat with a Muslim business friend. I was surprised he said can put the pork into the steamboat soup, taste better. He said he can drink the soup but don’t eat the pork. Song pa! True story.

https://halalke.com/index.php/2019/04/12...singapore/

(30-12-2022, 11:40 AM)winbig Wrote:  My Muslim colleagues said they cannot eat animals that can swim in water and walk on land leh.

? They can eat ikan hor. Nasi lemak always got ikan bilis that one is swim in water cannot eat? Walk on land include ayam hor they cannot each chicken?

(15-01-2023, 02:50 PM)sgh Wrote:  ? They can eat ikan hor. Nasi lemak always got ikan bilis that one is swim in water cannot eat? Walk on land include ayam hor they cannot each chicken?

What I mean is cannot eat amphibious animals, like crocodile, frogs etc

(15-01-2023, 02:52 PM)winbig Wrote:  What I mean is cannot eat amphibious animals, like crocodile, frogs etc

What about crabs? Rotfl
[+] 1 user Likes Notdumb's post

(15-01-2023, 02:52 PM)winbig Wrote:  What I mean is cannot eat amphibious animals, like crocodile, frogs etc

Ooh this is new news to me. Thanks for sharing.

(15-01-2023, 03:00 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  What about crabs? Rotfl

What the crab....... Laughing

This stall standard drops
Last time used to hand roast about 20 ducks a day
Once sold out means sold out
Now mass produced

Tampines, Punggol, Marine Parade-Braddell Heights & West Coast-Jurong West GRCs, Jurong Central & Tampines Changkat SMCs can be taken!! THIS IS THE TIME!

(27-12-2022, 10:38 AM)YummyKing Wrote:  This couple very unethical... heard they copy Hup Chong YTF, then increase the rent, and when Hup Chong left, sell exactly the same item as Hup Chong. Anyway, the standard of their roast ducks drops drastically... there are many many better ones. There’s one at the corner Keong Saik Road and Neil Road, cheaper and better.

Boycott the roast duck

(30-12-2022, 12:08 PM)YummyKing Wrote:  By the way, my mom in law’s Muslim maid from Indonesia eat pork. She said, Muslim considers pork dirty, but want to eat or not eat up to the individual.....
In KL, I once ate a steam boat with a Muslim business friend. I was surprised he said can put the pork into the steamboat soup, taste better. He said he can drink the soup but don’t eat the pork. Song pa! True story.

(15-01-2023, 02:50 PM)sgh Wrote:  ? They can eat ikan hor. Nasi lemak always got ikan bilis that one is swim in water cannot eat? Walk on land include ayam hor they cannot each chicken?
We are not the same as our chenghu practice INCLUSIVE Society ! 
So if 1 person don't eat beef the other 9 also cannot ?

(15-01-2023, 03:00 PM)Notdumb Wrote:  What about crabs? Rotfl

Only flower crab can eat.