The US is quietly arming Taiwan to the teeth

By Rupert Wingfield-Hayes
BBC News, Taiwan

When US President Joe Biden recently signed off on a US$80m (£64.6m) grant to Taiwan for the purchase of American military equipment, China said it "deplores and opposes" what Washington had done.

To the casual observer it didn't appear a steep sum. It was less than the cost of a single modern fighter jet. Taiwan already has on order more than $14bn worth of US military equipment. Does a miserly $80m more matter?

While fury is Beijing's default response to any military support for Taiwan, this time something was different.

The US$80m is not a loan. It comes from American taxpayers. For the first time in more than 40 years, America is using its own money to send weapons to a place it officially doesn't recognise.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-67282107
[+] 2 users Like Levin's post

...oh...from BBC again ? Big Grin

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

(06-11-2023, 12:09 PM)Levin Wrote:  By Rupert Wingfield-Hayes
BBC News, Taiwan

When US President Joe Biden recently signed off on a US$80m (£64.6m) grant to Taiwan for the purchase of American military equipment, China said it "deplores and opposes" what Washington had done.

To the casual observer it didn't appear a steep sum. It was less than the cost of a single modern fighter jet. Taiwan already has on order more than $14bn worth of US military equipment. Does a miserly $80m more matter?

While fury is Beijing's default response to any military support for Taiwan, this time something was different.

The US$80m is not a loan. It comes from American taxpayers. For the first time in more than 40 years, America is using its own money to send weapons to a place it officially doesn't recognise.

Ready for China invasion liao lah! Big Grin

(06-11-2023, 12:31 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Ready for China invasion liao lah! Big Grin

Yup, from US' POV , must not have reconciliation like Germany. Must be divided.

(06-11-2023, 12:31 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Ready for China invasion liao lah! Big Grin

who say one ah ? Big Grin

BBC News, Taiwan

(06-11-2023, 03:19 PM)Manthink Wrote:  who say one ah ? Big Grin

See above lah! Big Grin I didn't say one leh!

(06-11-2023, 03:53 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  See above lah! Big Grin I didn't say one leh!

Thanks to my ?question?,  chatbot cheekopekman starting to show some basic intelligence, although it still rely on questionable sources. Big Grin

Looks more like US is arming Taiwan to the teeth with scrap iron.     Big Grin

(07-11-2023, 09:43 AM)Manthink Wrote:  Thanks to my ?question?,  chatbot cheekopekman starting to show some basic intelligence, although it still rely on questionable sources. Big Grin

I'm not so intelligent lah! Big Grin

BBC News, Taiwan

This is an idiotic article that doesn’t even pass the laugh test, the headline claims that Taiwan is being armed to the teeth but no where in the entire article does it explain how. It is telling that the photo used by the BBC isn't even an advanced weapon system, but a pretty girl training in unarmed combat.

About the only things mentioned for this supposed “armed to the teeth” is money spent, exercises, war game simulations, training and think tank advice.

Taiwan doesn’t need all this crap. To have a decent chance of surviving the first few days of onslaught what they need are F35s, Aleigh Burke Destroyers, Predator UAVs and large quantities of long range cruise missiles, anti-air defence and EW equipment.

Instead they got F16Vs, armoured cars, mine layers and short range missiles. These wouldn’t even survive the first few hours of any military conflict.

Any non-stealth Taiwanese fighter aircraft has almost no possibility of surviving due to total coverage of the entire island by precision guided ballistic missiles and advanced long range air defence systems deployed at Fujian. The navy is decrepit short of a few advanced La Fayette frigate, but they can't do much without air support in such small numbers.

Tanks and artillery are simply cannon fodder for UAVs these days. The only real hope from a military perspective is urban warfare, but given the strength of the PLA intelligence and propaganda apparatus coupled with the low morale and strawberry mentality of young Taiwanese, the chance of this happening Gaza style is close to zero.

This is a deterrent to discourage the use of.force by China.

China is building up with all sorts of capabilities do I don't think Taiwan has any choice if they want to maintain their way of life and system.

I have been to Taiwan and they don't want to be under a communist govt like CCP.

That's their internal affairs why you bother? Mind yr own business isn't better?

I also think TW is grossly un-prepared. It's like their messy politics extends to how their military is organised. Conscription is only 4 months. Even one year is ridiculous for a country teetering on war in the next 10 years. Front line staffing at only 60%. By their own admission, they only have 10% of the Stingers and Javelins they need. TW doesn't even have Himars yet, when SG already has it for years. The list goes on.

4m ns means they'd given up self defence already. Now hope assmarrycunt and neeporn can defend for them, else just run road elsewhere and become landlords there

(07-11-2023, 10:58 AM)cheekopekma Wrote:  I'm not so intelligent lah! Big Grin

For once, I agree with automated reply from chatbot cheekopekman   Big Grin

(07-11-2023, 12:04 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  This is a deterrent to discourage the use of.force by China.
China is building up with all sorts of capabilities do I don't think Taiwan has any choice if they want to maintain their way of life and system.
I have been to Taiwan and they don't want to be under a communist govt like CCP.

I have been to Taiwan and many don't like their KMT and DPP  either.

So what has political allegiance of the day on that island Province got to with TW being part of China ?

(07-11-2023, 10:07 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  Looks more like US is arming Taiwan to the teeth with scrap iron.     Big Grin

The US for last few years pushing for War in Asia by using the Taiwan and SCS issue as the trigger points.

Then surprise surprise Ukraine and Israel-Palestine conflicts blew up in far away Europe and Middle East.

Maybe the Americans forget Asians are not as War Loving as they had hope. Big Grin

[+] 2 users Like Manthink's post

(07-11-2023, 12:42 PM)Manthink Wrote:  I have been to Taiwan and many don't like their KMT and DPP  either.

So what has political allegiance of the day on that island Province got to with TW being part of China ?

It's how the people liviing jn Taiwan and build up Taiwan to wait it is today to have a say of what they what.

There will be Taiwan haters (usually pro China) who say the Taiwanese have no rights and no saw on who governs them

Since it js disputed, and one side threaten with build up of military force, the other side will have to act accordingly or see their future wiped.

(07-11-2023, 12:49 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  It's how the people liviing jn Taiwan and build up Taiwan to wait it is today to have a say of what they what.
There will be Taiwan haters (usually pro China) who say the Taiwanese have no rights and no saw on who governs them
Since it js disputed, and one side threaten with build up of military force, the other side will have to act accordingly or see their future wiped.

1/10 of Twnese now live & work in the Mainland.

TW exports > 40% are to the Mainland.

And yet, TW provincial gov spend >90% of its defense budget buying outdated equipment from the US contractors....

I am not sure who is really trying to "wipe" Twneses future.... Big Grin
[Image: Rader72-963x1024.jpg]

Just got rid of a few garden rats. Not easy task, couldn't hv done it without using brutal means

(06-11-2023, 03:19 PM)Manthink Wrote:  who say one ah ? Big Grin

"Civil war in the United States is far more likely than you think.".....

"How Likely Is A New U.S. Civil War?"

https://www.youtube.com/live/-k7V8yIhing...jLhNxiCz1x

(19-04-2024, 03:25 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  "Civil war in the United States is far more likely than you think.".....

"How Likely Is A New U.S. Civil War?"

https://www.youtube.com/live/-k7V8yIhing...jLhNxiCz1x

Johnson makes his long-awaited move on Ukraine as House plans to vote on separate aid packages... Rotfl

CNN...Speaker Mike Johnson announced Monday evening the House will take up separate bills this week to provide aid for Israel and Ukraine, heeding demands from the far right to keep the issues separate as the threat of a vote to oust him from the speakership looms.

The long-awaited decision by Johnson marks a pivotal moment for the Louisiana Republican as he has faced intense pressure from his conference over how he would handle foreign aid to the key US allies. Big Grin

Johnson predicted the House will vote Friday 
on this Sat evening on the separate bills.

To us $"Porean's is Sunday news. Rotfl

(07-11-2023, 12:45 PM)Manthink Wrote:  The US for last few years pushing for War in Asia by using the Taiwan and SCS issue as the trigger points.

Then surprise surprise Ukraine and Israel-Palestine conflicts blew up in far away Europe and Middle East.

Maybe the Americans forget Asians are not as War Loving as they had hope. Big Grin
Taiwan is also in the this too... Big Grin

Urkline of ASIA.  Thumbsup

(07-11-2023, 01:01 PM)Manthink Wrote:  1/10 of Twnese now live & work in the Mainland.

TW exports > 40% are to the Mainland.

And yet, TW provincial gov spend >90% of its defense budget buying outdated equipment from the US contractors....

I am not sure who is really trying to "wipe" Twneses future.... Big Grin
[Image: Rader72-963x1024.jpg]

Export to China has fallen by 50% and they now export more to ASEAN and the US.

https://en.macromicro.me/collections/13/...-countries
[Image: Screenshot-2024-04-19-154619.jpg]

They are gaining back their losses

[Image: Screenshot-2024-04-19-155258.jpg]

Omi.. Thank you for bumping up the message.
[+] 1 user Likes teaserteam's post

NUKE CHINA
NUKE CHINA
NUKE CHINA

(07-11-2023, 12:37 PM)Manthink Wrote:  For once, I agree with automated reply from chatbot cheekopekman   Big Grin

You never heard about Artificial Intelligence before meh? Thinking You've got natural intelligence lah! Big Grin

(19-04-2024, 04:15 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  You never heard about Artificial Intelligence before meh? Thinking You've got natural intelligence lah! Big Grin

Which chatbot u use

(19-04-2024, 03:40 PM)Blin Wrote:  Urkline of ASIA.  Thumbsup

Ignore what the western media and politicians said, it is best for US not involved in direct combat.
because Cn dominate rare earth and high end explosive production and process technologies of the world,
Such items are used in IT and military weapons, and the more modern the more amount it needs.
So US cannot afford to impact its own future prospects.
In peaceful time US will also take more than a decade and much higher cost to lower safer ratio of dependence. 

So most economical way is to make Tw govt poorer, paid upfront for overpriced weapons and delay the deliveries.

(19-04-2024, 04:26 PM)Niubee Wrote:  Which chatbot u use

You ask Manthink lah! Big Grin I didnt say I use chatbot leh!