The basic salary for entry-level waste collection workers who are

(25-01-2022, 06:20 AM)Scythian Wrote:  Then healthcare should get S$8000 a month

In health care, it is not always about money,  but by the passion and love for humanity.......

(25-01-2022, 09:48 AM)debono Wrote:  In health care, it is not always about money,  but by the passion and love for humanity.......

You should tell that to PAP MPs ....... Rolleyes

(25-01-2022, 09:51 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  You should tell that to PAP MPs ....... Rolleyes
If there are no pressure to increase health care workers salary, the PAP MPs will fully agree......

(25-01-2022, 09:57 AM)debono Wrote:  If there are no pressure to increase health care workers salary, the PAP MPs will fully agree......
This observation is not correct. The PAP govt has been suppressing all other salary across sectors for years. Only doctors, lawyers and accountants rise because they match their salary to the ref of top jobs.

That's why previously I said, you want a good govt that really takes care of the people? They have to match their salary to the lowest 20% of the society. And their kpi has to be mark against how well they can raise the poverty line and the salary of the lowest 20% without a more than or equivalent rise in cost of living.

If they are able to do so, at their point of retirement, the politicians will be given a bonus that is equals to top salary jobs multiple by the number of years of service.

This way of renumeration ensure that they focus on the right things to do with a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

The current salary structure means that they are too detached from the actual issues on the ground as they have a lifestyle that is beyond normal.

(25-01-2022, 09:43 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  $3,260 is about the salary of a Marine or Engineering Superintendent during my time. So looks like come 2028 the value of your $100 today would be worth only $50 by that time eaten away by inflation. All your savings and nett worth will become halved............ Rolleyes

retirees w/o income badly n seriuosly impacted

(25-01-2022, 09:48 AM)debono Wrote:  In health care, it is not always about money,  but by the passion and love for humanity.......

Same as politicians 

But some exceptions

(25-01-2022, 11:23 AM)talky Wrote:  retirees w/o income badly n seriuosly impacted

Retirees with little income from CPF, will find it hard to make ends meet......period...

(25-01-2022, 11:23 AM)talky Wrote:  retirees w/o income badly n seriuosly impacted

Ya, sibeh jialat. Many old folks here will be hit if they are still alive by 2028...... Rolleyes

(25-01-2022, 06:20 AM)Scythian Wrote:  Then healthcare should get S$8000 a month

Underpaid now.

A handyman might be able to change your dock lock, nicely, and you cannot tell that it had been changed because he did not damage the sides.  Or he could install a ceiling fan for you.  Or change all your water pipes and install new faucets.

All good jobs, done well.

He gets paid very well for his skill, which no one can deny.

A nurse does "handyman's jobs" on your body...cleaning, sterilising and bandaging a wound.  Stoma care. Colostomy. NGT feeding.  Etc.   But he/she is paid a lot of less.

(25-01-2022, 11:14 AM)Sticw Wrote:  This observation is not correct. The PAP govt has been suppressing all other salary across sectors for years. Only doctors, lawyers and accountants rise because they match their salary to the ref of top jobs.

That's why previously I said, you want a good govt that really takes care of the people? They have to match their salary to the lowest 20% of the society. And their kpi has to be mark against how well they can raise the poverty line and the salary of the lowest 20% without a more than or equivalent rise in cost of living.

If they are able to do so, at their point of retirement, the politicians will be given a bonus that is equals to top salary jobs multiple by the number of years of service.

This way of renumeration ensure that they focus on the right things to do with a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

The current salary structure means that they are too detached from the actual issues on the ground as they have a lifestyle that is beyond normal.
Well said, but we cannot imagine that the MIWs lower their remuneration to that of the lowest of the 20% of the poor of our society.........it will and can never happen, cos they are already drawing a remuneration of over a million dollars per year...........

U pay peanuts , u get coorupted monkeys like next door