The truth is out, car rental companies jet up COE prices

[Image: sv_privatehire_250922.jpg?VersionId=cww....k=Ifhujm1H]

A total of 4,337 new cars were registered for private hire in the first half of 2022, a 25.4 per cent increase from the same period in 2021.
With the total number of new car registrations in the same period down by 35.2 per cent from 25,678 to 16,640, new rental cars are taking up an increasing share of a markedly shrinking pie.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/t...lf-of-2022

it was a no brainer
it still is a no brainer
collecting mil n mil is also a no brainer
so which no brainer will they stick to?

Song Boh!
You voted for this…
No action taken at all…

all along already got people claim is PHV due to those rental cars on the roads.

Car rental companies will take large amount of loan to buy cars to compete and hopefully make a profit. It is possible when interest rates are low, when it starts to creep up.
When their business cannot make … just declare bankrupt lor

(26-09-2022, 12:58 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Car rental companies will take large amount of loan to buy cars to compete and hopefully make a profit. It is possible when interest rates are low, when it starts to creep up.

Some become PHV is not carry passengers. Like once a while. More like rent for joyride or do delivery for some online shopping plaform

(26-09-2022, 01:00 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Some become PHV is not carry passengers. Like once a while. More like rent for joyride or do delivery for some online shopping plaform

Those PHV dun care, who ever rent is cheaper, they will get from that rental company.
Its not sustainable ….its gonna be like bubble tea shops that goes POP

(26-09-2022, 01:02 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Those PHV dun care, who ever rent is cheaper, they will get from that rental company.
Its not sustainable ….its gonna be like bubble tea shops that goes POP

This is why on the other side, I see Grab going to close shop that go again another FAIL investment from GIC TS Holdings.

I used to tell people Uber will bye bye from SG and is true.

Heng arh! I not as stupid as Jac Lau

They often bid 10% - 20% more than the past 3 mths COE price

to make sure you can get your car

and they sell happily to you with the high COE, mah

(26-09-2022, 01:05 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  This is why on the other side, I see Grab going to close shop that go again another FAIL investment from GIC TS Holdings.

I used to tell people Uber will bye bye from SG and is true.

GIC & TS Holdings already cash out during the IPO, only those holding are suggers.
Grab is banging hard on their digital bank … their other stuffs are a bloody waste. Now when I take cab, I take comfort which is much cheaper than Grobe and Gojerk

(26-09-2022, 01:26 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  GIC & TS Holdings already cash out during the IPO, only those holding are suggers.
Grab is banging hard on their digital bank … their other stuffs are a bloody waste. Now when I take cab, I take comfort which is much cheaper than Grobe and Gojerk

at least you smart here, yup take Taxi is cheaper. I NEVER book PHV , the only Once is my relative book for me because is late happen he book a PHV for me.

If urgent , I still take taxi.

(26-09-2022, 12:58 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Car rental companies will take large amount of loan to buy cars to compete and hopefully make a profit. It is possible when interest rates are low, when it starts to creep up.

THEY ARE SHIVERING NOW 
INTEREST RISE IS JUST MIDWAY ONLY

It's all due to demand. Our transport systems is quite good and yet people rely so much on PHVs and TAXIs. Don't blame anyone for the high COE.

new way to lease a car at a discount. its a known loophole. Rotfl

Perhaps the identities of the large bidders should be revealed to assess if sustainable.

Due to recession and inflation, more will take cheap public transport.

Private rental companies will suffer big time soon

(26-09-2022, 01:33 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  at least you smart here, yup take Taxi is cheaper. I NEVER book PHV , the only Once is my relative book for me because is late happen he book a PHV for me.

If urgent , I still take taxi.

well in your eyes, I am at least smart …. feel so honoured 
Grabolls and Gojerk, both I compared with Comfort … I usually booking based on meter

[Image: kietSkn.gif]

coe price high high due to limited supply. it is a cycle. old petrol car will eventually not worth to renew so coe supply will go up. price will come back down. just quite some time to go.

From next month onwards, cost of COE will decline in all categories

(26-09-2022, 04:38 PM)Gstalk Wrote:  Due to recession and inflation, more will take cheap public transport.

Private rental companies will suffer big time soon

bicycles sales will go up
why need to pay feeder transport bus fares to mrt stations when u can exercise n save money

I guess it’s no surprise that rental companies are making their moves given the rising demand for private hire vehicles. It reminds me of my trip to Dubai last year. I needed something spacious and reliable for a family outing, and I stumbled upon https://mayors.ae/brands/tahoe/ – Rent Chevrolet Tahoe in Dubai. Honestly, it was a game-changer. The Tahoe was perfect for navigating the city and heading out to the desert, with enough room for everyone and their luggage. It’s interesting how rental trends differ worldwide. Back home, car rentals can be more about necessity than luxury, but in Dubai, it felt like an experience in itself.