To all Buddhist friends, please ensure you are praying to the correct statue/figure

https://twitter.com/mrwtffacts/status/14...wcon%5Es1_&ref_url=

[+] 2 users Like wendychan's post

Actually, in Buddhism it doesn't matter. If you think that it's Buddha then it's Buddha. It's all in the mind. "Praying" to a statue does not mean anything to a true Buddhist. It's only about expressing respect for a teacher and a wish to emulate him.
[+] 3 users Like Blasterlord2's post

心中有佛佛自生, 心中無佛妄修佛.
拈花一笑路可通, 佛指人心笑蹉跎

酒肉穿腸過,佛祖心中留。
世人若學我,如同進魔道。

Actually hor Buddha doesn't need or want you to pray to him/her. All Buddha wanted to do was for you to end your suffering and he pointed you to a middle way. You have to find your own enlightenment and become a Buddha yourself.

And for Christianity, notice Jesus doesn't even want to show you his face? And he went on to say, faith without sighting is greater. Believe in our Father in heaven and accept His Grace. Then pick up your own cross (know that you are imperfect and have wrongs but been forgiven for His love is greater than anything) and live right as far as you humanly can.
[+] 2 users Like Sticw's post

(12-10-2022, 03:35 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Actually, in Buddhism it doesn't matter. If you think that it's Buddha then it's Buddha. It's all in the mind. "Praying" to a statue does not mean anything to a true Buddhist. It's only about expressing respect for a teacher and a wish to emulate him.

then no need statue right?   JUST PRAY!

Buddha is a teacher. 
Whatever you do, 
Do with right actions, right speech, right moral. 
Use wisdom.

(12-10-2022, 03:51 PM)wendychan Wrote:  then no need statue right?   JUST PRAY!

That's right. 佛在你心中。

(12-10-2022, 03:51 PM)wendychan Wrote:  then no need statue right?   JUST PRAY!
We don't pray to the Buddha. Buddha cannot grant you any wish. Buddha just points us the way to end suffering and achieve enlightenment. We bow to the Buddha figure as a show of respect to the Buddha.

singlon also can become Buddha. The enlightened ONE.
Likely you refer to him Siddharta Gotama.
remember Siva shot his arrow and missed by a moment
when u on the way u will roll on the ground crying like a baby in Samsara
today indians pour milk to cool Siva b4 he destroys everything
t1 is not equal to t2

(12-10-2022, 03:35 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Actually, in Buddhism it doesn't matter. If you think that it's Buddha then it's Buddha. It's all in the mind. "Praying" to a statue does not mean anything to a true Buddhist. It's only about expressing respect for a teacher and a wish to emulate him.

a true Buddhist will know.................there's no one praying or not praying................to anyone nor anything................

Is funny Laughing

(12-10-2022, 06:03 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  a true Buddhist will know.................there's no one praying or not praying................to anyone nor anything................

there are very few "true" Buddhists around

Taoism holds that humans and animals should live in balance with the universe, and Confucianism focuses on the importance of personal ethics and morality. although imperfect, the world shd be more peaceful with them.

If you know, you know

I KNOW

IAM

In other words many
FAKE
Buddhists around

If she bought a Doraemon figurine and prayed to it thinking it was Buddha then I worry.

that's why cults with political agenda like flg are sponsored by some garments and not welcome elsewhere

(19-10-2022, 10:14 AM)wendychan Wrote:  In other words many
FAKE
Buddhists around
As long as a person believes in the 5 precepts taught by Buddha and practises it,  he/she can call himself/herself a practising buddhist. In other words, they themselves know who they are. It is only other people who say they pray to wood/stone that they label them as fake buddhist.

Long ago I read that Buddhism is not a religion.
But I see our Buddhists, like they are practicing a religion.
So I dunno is or is not

(19-10-2022, 11:04 AM)Ahnya Wrote:  Long ago I read that Buddhism is not a religion.
But I see our Buddhists,  like they are practicing a religion.
So I dunno is or is not
Buddha never label it as a religion. It is the western countries that do it.
Buddha called it as a buddhist way of life.

(19-10-2022, 09:52 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Taoism holds that humans and animals should live in balance with the universe, and Confucianism focuses on the importance of personal ethics and morality. although imperfect, the world shd be more peaceful with them.

It depends what is your goal?
学道是为了做神人
学儒是为了做圣人
学佛是为了解脱,跳出轮回。

古人是很厉害,全部都学。
这就是易经。

Atheists, Scientologists, Buddhists, Hindus, Christians, Sikhism, Sai Baba or Mormon, we all masturbate and get arouse and sheet

Animals do all that too

We all will die not knowing the truth

Because we can't handle the truth

(19-10-2022, 11:07 AM)Clyde Wrote:  Buddha never label it as a religion. It is the western countries that do it.
Buddha called it as a buddhist way of life.

Nope. 
I read about it not being a religion. From Western source. 
But I see our locals practicing it like a religion.

(19-10-2022, 10:53 AM)Clyde Wrote:  As long as a person believes in the 5 precepts taught by Buddha and practises it,  he/she can call himself/herself a practising buddhist. In other words, they themselves know who they are. It is only other people who say they pray to wood/stone that they label them as fake buddhist.
Is the Cross made with metal? And i pray to a metal?

(12-10-2022, 03:30 PM)wendychan Wrote:  https://twitter.com/mrwtffacts/status/14...wcon%5Es1_&ref_url=

I heard that even Buddhists got false ones leh! Big Grin I thought only Christians got false ones leh!

(19-10-2022, 11:25 AM)Ahnya Wrote:  Nope. 
I read about it not being a religion. From Western source. 
But I see our locals practicing it like a religion.

Can Singapore remove Buddhism as a religion here?

Taoism the best lah. other than fighting in wuxia novels, they never attack others. you believe or pray to them aso dun mind and dun care

(19-10-2022, 11:26 AM)Bigbluedot Wrote:  Is the Cross made with metal? And i pray to a metal?
I have not heard christian label them as fake Christian, have you?

(19-10-2022, 11:26 AM)Bigbluedot Wrote:  Is the Cross made with metal? And i pray to a metal?

Even got stone and wooden ones leh! Big Grin

Buddists are multiracial. Not only Chinese devotees.