Today go BOC open account

Saw many elderly queue to put and renew FD. Got two old ladies actually withdraw 50k in cash from other bank to put in BOC. First time I see thick money notes in an envelope and when she put on table I hear thud sound. Counter staff so cool I think see until dun wanna see already

Actually CIMB rate better than BOC but CIMB no so many branch to let old ppl put FD traditional way. While waiting hear old ladies chat China banks very big won't close shop compared to Msia banks. I neutral who give more interest I give who my business.

Btw I notice ICBC app add payee don't have SC they enemies har? BOC app I can find SC though

I opened BOC donkey years ago. Their service is not bad. I dont even need to queue, just mobile renewal for fixed deposit.

$50k Nia..got thud sound?

(09-12-2022, 05:53 PM)sgh Wrote:  Saw many elderly queue to put and renew FD. Got two old ladies actually withdraw 50k in cash from other bank to put in BOC. First time I see thick money notes in an envelope and when she put on table I hear thud sound. Counter staff so cool I think see until dun wanna see already

Actually CIMB rate better than BOC but CIMB no so many branch to let old ppl put FD traditional way. While waiting hear old ladies chat China banks very big won't close shop compared to Msia banks. I neutral who give more interest I give who my business.

Btw I notice ICBC app add payee don't have SC they enemies har? BOC app I can find SC though

You can go Atas Orchard Branch for CIMB bank. Next to Apple store.

SCB also not bad no lock in 100k 3.5% can take out anytime within 6mths. No penalty.

(09-12-2022, 05:59 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  You can go Atas Orchard Branch for CIMB bank. Next to Apple store.

No more, closed down already, now they only have one branch at Raffles Place, CIMB Plaza, used to be Hitachi Towers.

(09-12-2022, 06:02 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  SCB also not bad no lock in 100k 3.5% can take out anytime within 6mths. No penalty.

SCB eSaver promotion got 3.8% until Jan 2023 I already put in

(09-12-2022, 05:57 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  I opened BOC donkey years ago. Their service is not bad. I dont even need to queue, just mobile renewal for fixed deposit.

Don't you find boc FD concept unique compared to other banks FD? Their maturity instructions don't have mature withdraw principal and interest back to savings account option. Take me a while to understand their FD process flow.

(09-12-2022, 06:04 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  No more, closed down already, now they only have one branch at Raffles Place, CIMB Plaza, used to be Hitachi Towers.

Ya. Didnt know it has closed down. I opened my CIMB there

(09-12-2022, 06:09 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Ya. Didnt know it has closed down. I opened my CIMB there

I was search for it two week ago at Orchard and no more.

(09-12-2022, 06:06 PM)sgh Wrote:  Don't you find boc FD concept unique compared to other banks FD? Their maturity instructions don't have mature withdraw principal and interest back to savings account option. Take me a while to understand their FD process flow.

Boleh bank quite unique one. 
Sometimes they pay interest first. Big Grin

(09-12-2022, 06:10 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Boleh bank quite unique one. 

You may Maybank? I also have iSavvy. But their RHB bonus interest is very long then give but high interest though. Up to 90 working days sia

(09-12-2022, 06:10 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Boleh bank quite unique one. 

Just to update just now I update my boc app to latest and now their FD follow same as other bank got option to choose Withdraw principal and interest to savings account already. And if premature withdraw could have penalty liao

BOC quite jialat. Been in Singapore so many years, rules for foreign banks also liberalised, but they barely expanded.

Apart from FDs, they got not much else to invest in too. No wonder forever relying on lao aunty lao ah chek for business.

Like that I rather put my money with CIMB, even it means I risk being called a traitor to my 祖国.

(09-12-2022, 08:57 PM)sgh Wrote:  Just to update just now I update my boc app to latest and now their FD follow same as other bank got option to choose Withdraw principal and interest to savings account already. And if premature withdraw could have penalty liao
Are you sure BOC has penalty now?
Most other banks are still paying prorated interest  for premature withdrawal. 
Minimum must be for at least 3 months placement.

(09-12-2022, 09:10 PM)hansamu Wrote:  Are you sure BOC has penalty now?
Most other banks are still paying prorated interest  for premature withdrawal. 
Minimum must be for at least 3 months placement.

Do you have boc app? Now you go update latest and pretend to place a new FD the screen will show the warning at the bottom. Also Jan 2023 BOC multicurrency savings account minimum balance to maintain will be 200 no more 1500. So they give and take now. 200 minimum not the best but better than 1500