US tariff surge threatens Singapore economy; could trigger

US tariff surge threatens Singapore economy; could trigger global trade war — Deputy PM Gan Kim Yong

https://theindependent.sg/us-tariff-surg...-kim-yong/

Singapore only kena 10% less than others.

In a relative sense we are better off. This is important because investors invest based only relativaty.

I guess for some products we are disadvantaged vs the US due to 10% tariffs but these are very small set because very few products are pure US made. 99% of products are made with overseas parts

Oh DPM! Just reduce GST to 5% and the tarrifs will only be net 4% on the economy.
[+] 1 user Likes Wy:Nox's post

(06-04-2025, 05:11 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Singapore only kena 10% less than others.

In a relative sense we are better off. This is important because investors invest based only relativaty.

I guess for some products we are disadvantaged vs the US due to 10% tariffs but these are very small set because very few products are pure US made. 99% of products are made with overseas parts

You think so simple.
World economy crashing, we will be greatly affected lah.
We are an open leg economy.
Nobody knows how long this tariff will last.
Market hates uncertainty.

Property sector, jialat liao…
The biggest bubble in Sg.

(06-04-2025, 05:11 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Singapore only kena 10% less than others.

It will depend on what kind of products exported to US and who r the competitors. If the competitors r those in having higher tariffs like China and Vietnam for example,  Singapore will have a better advantages. On the other hand, if there is no US competitors for that product, Singapore might see more strategic companies from China and Vietnam moving to Singapore. Anyway, the tariffs r just executive orders, they can b changed easily.

"the devil is attacking you and not your argument because he is  weak”

US tariffs are much higher than most Sg companies profit margin.
So many Sg companies will see margin squeeze.
Bonus have to cut or freeze.
We have to crate import from US as well as they may cost more if they import raw materials from overseas.

It is time for LKY and GCT for CPF cut rescue package
then LHL bail out package.

It is time to let HDB price to collapse.

(06-04-2025, 06:39 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  US tariffs are much higher than most Sg companies profit margin.
We have to crate import from US as well as they may cost more if they import raw materials from overseas.

It is time for LKY and GCT for CPF cut rescue package
then LHL bail out package.

It is time to let HDB price to collapse.

Manufacturing sector producing goods to US will all be uplorry soon. Their profit margin is very little. 5% gain consider very good.

Singapore kena left right centre

China, India and now, US

Were GIC and Temasek don't know it's coming?

(06-04-2025, 06:45 PM)Scythian Wrote:  Singapore kena left right centre

China, India and now, US

Were GIC and Temasek don't know it's coming?

Have been suffering sleepless nights since the news announcing?
This is machiam like economy covid.

(06-04-2025, 06:42 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Manufacturing sector producing goods to US will all be uplorry soon. Their profit margin is very little. 5% gain consider very good.

Retail as well.

(06-04-2025, 06:50 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  Retail as well.

Only time will tell how serious it will be.
Be prepared for rainy days ahead.
Dont keng MC at your workplace during this period.

Stock index wont lie, only human being lie.

Till now, I still think Trump target is Fed,not the world. This KNN Fed Chairman still dont want to reduce the Fed rate.He is on the Jewish camp.

That's what you know about Sg economy?

I suggest you do more research to understand Sg economy!  Cool

President Donald Trump says Fed Chair Powell should cut interest rates and 'stop playing politics'

https://www.cnbc.com/amp/2025/04/04/trum...owell.html

(06-04-2025, 06:51 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Only time will tell how serious it will be.
Be prepared for rainy days ahead.
Dont keng MC at your workplace during this period.

Stock index wont lie, only human being lie.

Till now, I still think Trump target is Fed,not the world. This KNN Fed Chairman still dont want to reduce the Fed rate.He is on the Jewish side.

He target both,  Fed and manufacturing.
AI without manufacturing, cannot grow fast.

(06-04-2025, 07:12 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  He target both,  Fed and manufacturing.
AI without manufacturing, cannot grow fast.

Manufacturing back to US is only a cover.
It is not easy to build a manufacturing supply chain in US. China took 24 years to achieve it.
Trump is bluffing. Not easy to tell Americans to work in the factories with 996 working model for 24 years.

(06-04-2025, 06:48 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Have been suffering sleepless nights since the news announcing?
This is machiam like economy covid.

yr joke no std!

even lsl lw all ministers mas n gic top mgt also do not hv restless nite
how big shot n influencing u are to spore?

give us a better joke

(06-04-2025, 06:39 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  US tariffs are much higher than most Sg companies profit margin.

Bingo!

Well, this will test the true capability of the Elite G Team with such challenges. Let us see how they perform next year to determine if they are worthy of any votes in GE 2030.

In the past no free trade we still thrive.Thats why our location is unique.Election is good opportunity to frighten voters

If your margin is less than 10% for the US trade, you can forget about it. This means a big portion of the container trade. We have a deficit with the US. It will grow bigger.