We were friends: Couple who lost S$180,000 to luxury goods scam

Pi Jiapeng, 26, and Siriwipa Pansuk, 27, are accused of cheating victims who had made advance payments for luxury watches and bags. (Photo: Instagram/Siriwipa Pansuk)

When husband and wife Jasper and Alice (not their real names) bought a luxury watch online, they did not know it would be the start of a close friendship with a couple who eventually went on the run, allegedly with S$180,000 of their money and millions of dollars from other victims.

The couple decided to order their first watch from Tradenation in September last year after seeing Instagram influencers promoting the company and reading many positive customer reviews on e-commerce platform Carousell.

They did not see any negative reviews left by customers on the company's Carousell page, which advertised watches with a wait time of two to four weeks. "Everyone said they received their watch,” she said.

The day Jasper and Alice met Siriwipa Pansuk to collect their first watch, she took the couple to a watch shop in Orchard Road to authenticate the purchase. The watch was authentic, and the couple decided she was trustworthy even though the delivery of the watch was delayed by a few days.

She then asked the couple out for dinner on the same day, and they had dinner together at an upscale restaurant in a hotel. After the restaurant closed, the 27-year-old Thai national invited the couple to her home.

“We found that we could click quite well and we became friends,” Alice said, adding that the other couple encouraged them to also start an account on Carousell buying and selling watches at a profit.

For months, Jasper and Alice frequently met Pansuk and her husband Pi Jiapeng, a 26-year-old Singaporean. The four of them chatted, had meals together and went shopping.

It was not a business relationship involving the buying and selling of watches, but a friendship, Jasper said.

“The husband talked a lot about cars, talked a lot about watches. So we had common topics ... and we met up almost every other day.”

A lot more at https://shrtco.de/pumfW3

Will anyone in this forum parted with $180K for a product online?..... Rolleyes

Trust no one in business. Gotta really careful. Alot times bobian Big Grin

Just like the stock market investment:- Greed and Fear.

With less than 2 years, the coupe can con so many people.

Actually that face

people believe they are rich?

I will never pay for a product more than $500 online unless it is on COD, Either very rich or sheer stupidity to pay $180K for a product in virtual stage.... Rolleyes

(27-07-2022, 05:04 PM)Ola Wrote:  Actually that face

people believe they are rich?

Tio la nowadays most humans like that de la Low ses people tot got big lobang when saw atas people .. why I knew ? Coz If driving Company’s VAn I compare with driving big car you can feel big difference with the people surrounding you… first rules to con must let others see you so uP first .. tio bo?!!! 

Clapping
[+] 1 user Likes cwc29's post

It's a ponzi first few watch they let you make 1 or 2k ..reselling the watch because they give an artificial discount. You will get greedy and order 10 more watches...that's when the couple take your money and disappear.

(27-07-2022, 05:11 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  I will never pay for a product more than $500 online unless it is on COD, Either very rich or sheer stupidity to pay $180K for a product in virtual stage.... Rolleyes

But they already doing the first steps by meeting up and show off how well they are to earn trust than the big rod come out.

Only one word can describe “Greed”

It is difficult to guard against these seasoned scammers.

Even businessman also act like that. Need experience..

Not easy to find an honest friend when money is concerned

All got scammed … dun cry baby lah .. they are just as guilty because they are greedy.

(27-07-2022, 07:26 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Not easy to find an honest friend when money is concerned

当没有利益的时候,每个人都是好人,所以人性本善…

(27-07-2022, 06:13 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  It's a ponzi first few watch they let you make 1 or 2k ..reselling the watch because they give an artificial discount. You will get greedy and order 10 more watches...that's when the couple take your money and disappear.
It's the monkey buyer in village story over and over again mah.

(27-07-2022, 10:23 PM)Sticw Wrote:  当没有利益的时候,每个人都是好人,所以人性本善…

The 200 friends become enemies overnite

(27-07-2022, 06:13 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  It's a ponzi first few watch they let you make 1 or 2k ..reselling the watch because they give an artificial discount. You will get greedy and order 10 more watches...that's when the couple take your money and disappear.

like fishing there are many kinds of baits.

When you see Nigerian or ah neh or ah tiong you must be on your guard Big Grin