What is so enticing about Penang cuisine?

Why is the food in Penang so delicious?

[Image: 844c8140-fc58-42d5-8eff-997aab276bc9.jpeg?d=1408x1120]

I dream of Penang Hokkien Prawn Mee all the time!

[Image: penang-hokkien-mee-thumb.jpg]

Because they add in sugar and msg. After eating you will feel thirsty

https://guide.michelin.com/sg/en/pulau-p...ool-eatery

(18-05-2024, 10:42 AM)Gstalk Wrote:  Because they add in sugar and msg. After eating you will feel thirsty

Restaurants and hawkers in S'pore do that as well, but why is the quality of similar dishes NOT the same?

Penang Apam Balik

[Image: featured_image.jpg]

MYR lah.

(18-05-2024, 10:42 AM)Gstalk Wrote:  Because they add in sugar and msg. After eating you will feel thirsty

Penang & S'pore hawker dishes

[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRGupsNlgtncBvZZwr-mVB...XnsPYTgg&s]

(18-05-2024, 10:46 AM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  MYR lah.

Does food actually taste better when it is cheaper?

(18-05-2024, 10:44 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Restaurants and hawkers in S'pore do that as well, but why is the quality of similar dishes NOT the same?

Because the stalls are just by the dusty roadside, so with the added dust and dirt, the food may taste nicer.

Penang Peranakan cuisine

[Image: 63ff12db494c7a0019f215d5?width=700]

(18-05-2024, 10:48 AM)Gstalk Wrote:  Because the stalls are just by the dusty roadside, so with the added dust and dirt, the food may taste nicer.

That doesn't explain why the Peranakan restaurants in Penang are serving up such tasty dishes in pristine surroundings

[Image: 52941943424_bf74002210_h.jpg]

Lots of unhealthful ingredients used

But in sinkie land, even if the hawker add sugar and msg, also cannot reach their standard.. lol

(18-05-2024, 10:53 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Lots of unhealthful ingredients used

That describes hawker dishes in SG as well.

In sg we've been told to eat less oil, less sugar and less salt, and therefore less tasty

(18-05-2024, 10:53 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Lots of unhealthful ingredients used

You mean they added tongkat ali?

(18-05-2024, 10:48 AM)Gstalk Wrote:  Because the stalls are just by the dusty roadside, so with the added dust and dirt, the food may taste nicer.

U think they are serving in push cart is it? Just go to show you probably never been to Penang.

(18-05-2024, 10:56 AM)ArielCasper Wrote:  But in sinkie land, even if the hawker add sugar and msg, also cannot reach their standard.. lol

My sentiments exactly!

[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQg7Us1vIDaCu9IOWO325L...TPdcOTNg&s]

(18-05-2024, 10:57 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  That describes hawker dishes in SG as well.

In chewhu no such advice was given

(18-05-2024, 10:58 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  In chewhu no such advice was given

[Image: 4kdqxk.jpg]

(18-05-2024, 10:58 AM)ArielCasper Wrote:  U think they are serving in push cart is it? Just go to show you probably never been to Penang.

It takes one to know one.

(18-05-2024, 10:57 AM)Gstalk Wrote:  You mean they added tongkat ali?

Duno what secret ingredients. Maybe wash leg water? Dracula's tea bags? Earth worm juice?

(18-05-2024, 10:58 AM)ArielCasper Wrote:  U think they are serving in push cart is it? Just go to show you probably never been to Penang.

Long Beach food centre is as clean as those in S'pore

[Image: 6687fe0bcc6538da26ad5a53fe75b826.jpg]

(18-05-2024, 10:57 AM)Gstalk Wrote:  You mean they added tongkat ali?

No wonder I was "up all night" after eating my Penang CKT full of blood cockles.

(18-05-2024, 11:01 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Duno what secret ingredients. Maybe wash leg water? Dracula's tea bags? Earth worm juice?

Perhaps used socks were put into the broth and boiled for 3 - 5 hours.

Most of roadside coffee shops are very dirty, with old dusty spider webs hanging in corners that haven't been cleaned for ages.

(18-05-2024, 10:48 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Does food actually taste better when it is cheaper?

Got some effects, will eat more  Big Grin

(18-05-2024, 11:06 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Perhaps used socks were put into the broth and boiled for 3 - 5 hours.

Maybe soiled panties collected from the neighborhood during wee hours?

(18-05-2024, 11:27 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Maybe soiled panties collected from the neighborhood during wee hours?

Tan Chuan-Jin will claim that those people collecting the soiled panties are doing it for exercise, and not because they need the money or the smell to get intoxicated.