Where's a good place to buy 2nd hand SSD ??

with SSD prices about 50% higher than last year...........boh pian - looks like i need to consider 2nd hand SSD........... crying

i never bought anything 2nd hand before leh...........so is Carousell a good place or got better places to look for 2nd SSD ? Thinking

looking for a 1TB SATA SSD..............no need warranty since i'll be putting my entire porn collection on it - so if spoilt, not gonna claim warranty......... Big Grin

SSD still very cheap lah. You can try aliexpress for new SSD.

Just found this amazing item on AliExpress. Check it out! SG$4.23 30% Off | Lenovo Fast SATA SSD 2.5Inch High Speed SSD 4TB 500GB HD 1TB Internal SSD 2TB Solid State Drive For Laptop SSD Notebook
https://a.aliexpress.com/_oCQDJSU

I tb no enough lah
Now all 4k 8k liao

(28-05-2024, 10:00 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  SSD still very cheap lah. You can try aliexpress for new SSD.

(28-05-2024, 10:03 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Just found this amazing item on AliExpress. Check it out! SG$4.23 30% Off | Lenovo Fast SATA SSD 2.5Inch High Speed SSD 4TB 500GB HD 1TB Internal SSD 2TB Solid State Drive For Laptop SSD Notebook
https://a.aliexpress.com/_oCQDJSU

mai lah..............bound to have problems.............

(28-05-2024, 10:17 PM)SeewhatLook Wrote:  I tb no enough lah
Now all 4k 8k liao

bro.............i very NOT rich lah...............i need to buy 2-3 pieces as backup mah...............

(29-05-2024, 01:18 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  mai lah..............bound to have problems.............

bro.............i very NOT rich lah...............i need to buy 2-3 pieces as backup mah...............

buy nvme cheaper than sata

(29-05-2024, 01:22 AM)grotesqueness Wrote:  buy nvme cheaper than sata

no leh............all more expensive for same capacity and quality leh............

cheaper ones using QLC NAND.............no good lah.........

For SSD, anything above 2 TB be careful. It might not be real. Still waiting for the 2 TB prices to come down. Need it urgently.

2nd hand SSD is because a lot of people don't know how to use them.

You can buy directly from the manufacturer but pay for the shipping and GST costs.

(29-05-2024, 01:22 AM)grotesqueness Wrote:  buy nvme cheaper than sata

you're right for certain brands and models...............i normally buy Crucial MX500 (SATA).............but i found Kioxia Exceria (NVME) models cheaper than the Crucial................also using TLC NAND..........

(29-05-2024, 09:08 AM)theold Wrote:  For SSD, anything above 2 TB be careful. It might not be real. Still waiting for the 2 TB prices to come down. Need it urgently.

2nd hand SSD is because a lot of people don't know how to use them.

You can buy directly from the manufacturer but pay for the shipping and GST costs.

buy from manufacturer ??!!..............can meh ??!!............

2nd hand for storage i don't mind as long as nothing wrong with the SSD.............maybe they upgrade to newer and higher capacity SSDs so sell off the old ones.............i only using it to store porn - so no need warranty since not planning to claim warranty.........

(29-05-2024, 05:27 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  you're right for certain brands and models...............i normally buy Crucial MX500 (SATA).............but i found Kioxia Exceria (NVME) models cheaper than the Crucial................also using TLC NAND..........

buy from manufacturer ??!!..............can meh ??!!............

2nd hand for storage i don't mind as long as nothing wrong with the SSD.............maybe they upgrade to newer and higher capacity SSDs so sell off the old ones.............i only using it to store porn - so no need warranty since not planning to claim warranty.........

porn

your address please

[Image: traffic-fbi-open-up.gif]

If not enough money why not buy a hard disk instead?

(29-05-2024, 10:07 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  If not enough money why not buy a hard disk instead?

less reliable...............also i plan to have this SSD connected to the pc 24/7............

i think i wait for the $200 NSmen payout at end of the year lah.......... crying

(30-05-2024, 12:46 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  less reliable...............also i plan to have this SSD connected to the pc 24/7............

i think i wait for the $200 NSmen payout at end of the year lah.......... crying

Actually HDD is more reliable, provide you're willing to fork out enough enough to buy a good brand/model.

Most HDDs will actually give some warning before total failure so you'd have enough time to copy out the data. For SSD, it usually breaks down without any warning, giving you no time to do backups.

For the same amount to buy SSD, I can buy a good enterprise HDD with a much bigger capacity which can last me a long time.

Now, SSD is cheaper than HDD.

https://academy.avast.com/hs-fs/hubfs/Ne...?width=825&height=594&name=Avast-SSD-vs-HDD-EN.png

https://www.avast.com/c-ssd-vs-hdd

(30-05-2024, 03:41 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Actually HDD is more reliable, provide you're willing to fork out enough enough to buy a good brand/model.

Most HDDs will actually give some warning before total failure so you'd have enough time to copy out the data. For SSD, it usually breaks down without any warning, giving you no time to do backups.

For the same amount to buy SSD, I can buy a good enterprise HDD with a much bigger capacity which can last me a long time.

but i need 2.5'' HDD..........the good ones like Western Digital Black expensive leh................the normal ones from Toshiba jialat lah........... Confused

got good lobang ? Huh

(31-05-2024, 09:01 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  but i need 2.5'' HDD..........the good ones like Western Digital Black expensive leh................the normal ones from Toshiba jialat lah........... Confused

got good lobang ? Huh

You still storing porns after watching ah?   Thinking

(31-05-2024, 09:17 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  You still storing porns after watching ah?   Thinking

have to what...........you mean people don't try to download and save good porn meh nowadays ?

(31-05-2024, 06:33 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  have to what...........you mean people don't try to download and save good porn meh nowadays ?
No wonder you keep buying storage discs.  Big Grin

(31-05-2024, 06:54 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  No wonder you keep buying storage discs.  Big Grin

no lah..............all my porn collection is less than 200GB............

(31-05-2024, 08:16 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  no lah..............all my porn collection is less than 200GB............

So small storage: https://www.carousell.sg/  

There is a lot of Samsung SSDs. Don't know what the quality is. Usually, a lot of people don't know how to use them, so they sell them off. Just reformat them.

(31-05-2024, 08:42 PM)theold Wrote:  So small storage: https://www.carousell.sg/  

There is a lot of Samsung SSDs. Don't know what the quality is. Usually, a lot of people don't know how to use them, so they sell them off. Just reformat them.

many thanks bro....................i very selective in my porn collection one...........and will also delete those no longer stimulating......... Big Grin

(31-05-2024, 09:01 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  but i need 2.5'' HDD..........the good ones like Western Digital Black expensive leh................the normal ones from Toshiba jialat lah........... Confused

got good lobang ? Huh

I dunno about 2.5" as mine are all 3.5". But what I did is buy a good enclosure to house the 3.5" HDDs and make them into external storage.

You can buy plenty of re-furbished or re-certified enterprise HDD at a bargain.

But my advice is still not to watch porn. Bad for health and fortune.

(30-05-2024, 03:41 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Actually HDD is more reliable, provide you're willing to fork out enough enough to buy a good brand/model.

SSD breakdown can recover the data lah. It is much cheaper than HDD. Just desolder the storage chip will do and transfer to a new ssd board.
SSD normally the controller chip spoils easily.

Now smd desoldering kit is very chip. $40++ can get a good one.

To remove SMD chip, needs to set blower temperature to 400 to 450deg C in order to remove it.

https://s.lazada.sg/s.YEMyx

(31-05-2024, 10:58 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  SSD breakdown can recover the data lah. It is much cheaper than HDD. Just desolder the storage chip will do and transfer to a new ssd board.
SSD normally the controller chip spoils easily.

Now smd desoldering kit is very chip. $40++ can get a good one.

You cannot beat HDD in terms of price. You can't even get a 14TB SSD but I can get one HDD for less than $200. And why would I even one to buy a smd desoldering machine for a fault that may or may not happen, or even if I buy it I'm only going to use it once?

For large amount of data, it's still better to buy a HDD. I've no doubt about it.

(31-05-2024, 09:17 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  You still storing porns after watching ah?   Thinking

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbWlCPTnD40

(31-05-2024, 11:13 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  You cannot beat HDD in terms of price. You can't even get a 14TB SSD but I can get one HDD for less than $200. And why would I even one to buy a smd desoldering machine for a fault that may or may not happen, or even if I buy it I'm only going to use it once?

For large amount of data, it's still better to buy a HDD. I've no doubt about it.

HDD speed is too slow. About 160MB/s. 
Now Gen 5 NVME SSD already 14000MB/s speed. It is 90x faster.

(31-05-2024, 11:24 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  HDD speed is too slow. About 160MB/s. 
Now Gen 5 NVME SSD already 14000MB/s speed. It is 90x faster.

Depends on what you need the storage for. For TS's purpose of storing videos, a HDD is good enough. 杀鸡不需要用牛刀

https://youtu.be/OeSnkygWmFQ?si=rIseMrpcxC9cmSbg

(31-05-2024, 11:29 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  https://youtu.be/OeSnkygWmFQ?si=rIseMrpcxC9cmSbg

We've got to be practical and realistic. Most people will not DIY to repair their electronic equipment, no matter how easy you think it is. And somemore for TS who has repeatedly indicated that he can't even replace an electrical socket, this kind of repair work is beyond him.

We've got to offer solution to a person taking into account his technical and financial capability.