Which is better? A PC or a laptop?
17-09-2022, 01:43 PM
I think Desktop is cheaper for the same specs.
17-09-2022, 01:47 PM
If you don't need it to be portable, desktop is always better. Can get better specs for the same price.
17-09-2022, 02:22 PM
(17-09-2022, 01:47 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: If you don't need it to be portable, desktop is always better. Can get better specs for the same price.
Does this include the monitor for the desktop? I feel that if one includes the monitor, the desktop might be around the same price or maybe even more expensive. Keyboard and mouse are relatively cheap and usually comes free with the desktop so their costs can be ignored.
17-09-2022, 02:30 PM
Desktop u can use them to get 10G
a NIC a DAC and another NIC or a routerboard
17-09-2022, 03:52 PM
(17-09-2022, 02:22 PM)Levin Wrote: Does this include the monitor for the desktop? I feel that if one includes the monitor, the desktop might be around the same price or maybe even more expensive. Keyboard and mouse are relatively cheap and usually comes free with the desktop so their costs can be ignored.
The single obvious differentiation between a desktop and a laptop is the screen size, of course besides the specifications
A good desktop monitor will cost $250 for 27 inches, like the Acer monitor I'm having
A laptop screen 14 inches will cost less, but not much less, but we get a much smaller real-estate
I need quite a few usb ports, which most laptop only comes with 2 usb port, at most 3.
The only stumbling block is that I don't like to to have to carry a laptop that does not have all my work in it, as they will most likely
be in the desktop
I can resolve this matter somewhat by having my important files which I need when mobile is to have the files synced
But that is a bit cumbersome if I am in a hurry, as syncronizing takes up equal space on both my devices
For browsing, the opened tabs can be retrieved from all devices, so that is not much of an issue
Alternatively, I can get just a laptop and a separate 27 inches monitor (which I already have) and keyboard (which I already have) and a powered usb hub for my hard disks
17-09-2022, 04:09 PM
(17-09-2022, 03:52 PM)Sentinel Wrote: The single obvious differentiation between a desktop and a laptop is the screen size, of course besides the specifications
A good desktop monitor will cost $250 for 27 inches, like the Acer monitor I'm having
A laptop screen 14 inches will cost less, but not much less, but we get a much smaller real-estate
I need quite a few usb ports, which most laptop only comes with 2 usb port, at most 3.
The only stumbling block is that I don't like to to have to carry a laptop that does not have all my work in it, as they will most likely
be in the desktop
I can resolve this matter somewhat by having my important files which I need when mobile is to have the files synced
But that is a bit cumbersome if I am in a hurry, as syncronizing takes up equal space on both my devices
For browsing, the opened tabs can be retrieved from all devices, so that is not much of an issue
Alternatively, I can get just a laptop and a separate 27 inches monitor (which I already have) and keyboard (which I already have) and a powered usb hub for my hard disks
U can save your data on cloud like Google drive. Then u can access your data anywhere.
17-09-2022, 04:24 PM
(17-09-2022, 01:47 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: If you don't need it to be portable, desktop is always better. Can get better specs for the same price.
yes..........for me, laptop's only good point is easy to bring to shop for repairs...................everything else is not as good as desktop.............laptop is easier to spoil and impossible to replace parts yourself.........
17-09-2022, 04:59 PM
Desktop is upgradable. Cheap laptop cannot upgrade lah.
There are alot junk laptops in the market.
Dont anyhow buy hor.
Laptop if kena water splash, may uplorry hor.
Dont drink beverage when you are using a laptop.
Some laptops have poor ventilation design and dont have waterproofing on the PCB board.
Power supply components and harddisk chip easy uplorry.
Dont anyhow buy hor.
Some laptops have poor ventilation design and dont have waterproofing on the PCB board.
17-09-2022, 05:43 PM
(17-09-2022, 04:59 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: Desktop is upgradable. Cheap laptop cannot upgrade lah.
Dont anyhow buy hor.
I bought 1 Acer laptop for $400 last year. 14" and quite good leh. Comes with 1 year lic office too.
17-09-2022, 08:22 PM
i do my work in the living room. coffee table is my work desk. at one point I have 4 laptops powered on simultaneously...
never like the idea of cluttering the small space with bulky desktop and monitors…
17-09-2022, 09:22 PM
(17-09-2022, 08:22 PM)TalkingRabbit Wrote: i do my work in the living room. coffee table is my work desk. at one point I have 4 laptops powered on simultaneously...
wah................see porn on 4 laptops at same time ah ?
18-09-2022, 12:09 AM
18-09-2022, 12:14 AM
(18-09-2022, 12:09 AM)TalkingRabbit Wrote: 2 for work, 2 for trade
biz getting big
I see those do big business only JUST ONE computer desktop in their Office.
like my Rich Uncle, he use only One desktop in his office than I see Chew Gek Khim CEO of Straits Trading her office also use only one computer leh.