Who is apply for Astrea 9 bonds, return 3.4% & 5.7%?

Who is applying?

https://www.azalea.com.sg/a9?utm_campaign=Astrea9-SEM&utm_source=Search&utm_medium=SEM&utm_content=Product&gclsrc=aw.ds&gad_source=1&gad_campaignid=22848468697&gbraid=0AAAAA_60r5qU09kqKUvsU3hapgOzwwXtv&gclid=CjwKCAjwkbzEBhAVEiwA4V-yqgCRfy8GYK17Bahh8DVyBQ--6fX0ck4pIG_nyfN8VrfRdslp5fnvXRoCsxwQAvD_BwE 

[b][b]Class A-1 Bonds – S$380m Class A-1 Bonds offered to retail investors in Singapore (Stock Code: YA1B) [/b][/b]
  • Cash reserved every 6 months to repay principal of Class A-1 bonds 
  • Mandatory Call at end of Year 5 (8 August 2030), if the Class A-1 Call Date Exercise Conditions are met 
  • Fixed interest of 3.4% p.a. payable every six months 
  • 1.0% p.a. one-time interest rate step-up if bond is not redeemed after 5 years 
  • Class A-1 and Class A-2 rank equally to each other (pari passu

[b][b]Class A-2 Bonds – US$50m Class A-2 Bonds offered to retail investors in Singapore (Stock Code: YA2B) [/b][/b]
  • Cash reserved every 6 months to repay principal of Class A-2 bonds 
  • Mandatory Call at end of Year 5 (8 August 2030), if the Class A-2 Call Date Exercise Conditions are met 
  • Fixed interest of 5.7% p.a. payable every six months 
  • 1.0% p.a. one-time interest rate step-up if bond is not redeemed after 5 years 
  • Class A-1 and Class A-2 rank equally to each other (pari passu

Not too sure about this. Just a measly 3.4% yield to take on PE risk. Past results notwithstanding Thinking

If you have 100K .... which you put in?

Max the SSB first. 200k all in. Super safe but lower yield. I think 10 years should be around 2.29% or even lower these days.

(04-08-2025, 10:17 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Not too sure about this. Just a measly 3.4% yield to take on PE risk.  Past results notwithstanding Thinking

I have these 2, collect dividend can but forget about capital gain.

Astrea VI3% was below $1 for a start 

Astrea7A1 4.125%    Current price 1.034
Astrea VI3%              Current price $1.016

(04-08-2025, 10:22 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Max the SSB first. 200k all in.  Super safe but  lower yield. I think 10 years should be around 2.29% or even lower these days.

I have some SSB average 3% ...so SSB not sure

Pass me the money lah, I do 6% pa for you lah.

[Image: Screenshot-20250804-112336.jpg]
[+] 1 user Likes Ineedhelp's post

(04-08-2025, 11:20 AM)Ineedhelp Wrote:  Pass me the money lah, I do 6% pa for you lah.

I throw my money into SG river will have better returns ....I can still hear splash ..... pass you ...... will become radio silence

(04-08-2025, 11:33 AM)Tangsen Wrote:  I throw my money into SG river will have better returns ....I can still hear splash ..... pass you ...... will become radio silence

Pass to me won't radio silence one lah, I'm the most trustworthy ex civil serpent leh. Lol

3.4% is not a reason gd enough to buy this astrea 9
apply 2sgd fees wait for 5 yrs get ard 17% max
bear market coming 
wait for opportunity in the next ard 2 yrs to buy blue chips can get more than 4% n capital gain.
dont forget pap pump in 5b to prop up sgx market
they hv to make sure by hook or by crook to show show results not allowing sgx market to be a lifeless market!!

Given the miserable FD rates now, 3.4% looks relatively good.
But again nobody knows....anything can happen.

NTT touted to be a likely IPO winner...Now??
Sigh.

given today political n chaotic situation
better use the money to buy gold etf 
17% n more on  capital gain in 5 yrs is possible

(04-08-2025, 11:38 AM)talky Wrote:  3.4% is not a reason gd enough to buy this astrea 9
apply 2sgd fees wait for 5 yrs get ard 17% max
bear market coming 
wait for opportunity in the next ard 2 yrs to buy blue chips can get more than 4% n capital gain.
dont forget pap pump in 5b to prop up sgx market
they hv to make sure by hook or by crook to show show results not allowing sgx market to be a lifeless market!!

I already collect some during covid .. still have a bit cash as T-bills no good

Is it possible to flip for this Astrea?

Guess no one is interest

Looks like this bond is as cold as water ....

(04-08-2025, 02:33 PM)hansamu Wrote:  Is it possible to flip for  this Astrea?

not possible
need to pay at least 8.80sgd ,cheapest brokage to sell
astrea bonds are not for flipping as capital gain is not enough to pay for brokages
unless u are changing to a different astrea bonds

(04-08-2025, 10:17 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Not too sure about this. Just a measly 3.4% yield to take on PE risk.  Past results notwithstanding Thinking

this type of bonds also traded like stocks ?................the bond price can drop ?

only can redeem at maturity date ?..............cannot redeem if need the money urgently ?

(05-08-2025, 06:14 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  this type of bonds also traded like stocks ?................the bond price can drop ?

only can redeem at maturity date ?..............cannot redeem if need the money urgently ?
cant redeem like ssb
if need money urgently can sell in the market
but can sell like stocks in sgx
but bri=okage fr 8.80sgd to 40sgd depending on sell via which brokage house
the bond price may go up or drop v minimal maybe 1 to 3%

(04-08-2025, 11:20 AM)Ineedhelp Wrote:  Pass me the money lah, I do 6% pa for you lah.

Wow you damn rich!!!!! How you make so much

(05-08-2025, 08:27 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Wow you damn rich!!!!! How you make so much

I wish I'm rich and worry free...

(05-08-2025, 08:39 PM)Ineedhelp Wrote:  I wish I'm rich and worry free...

Bro $2M put in reits every yr $100+K. dividends....you are rich...why say not rich??!

(05-08-2025, 08:49 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Bro $2M put in reits every yr $100+K. dividends....you are rich...why say not rich??!

Until I'm debt free will I be considered rich. I got family to feed lah, my son only 14yo..

Less than 1 hour to go! Laughing

(05-08-2025, 09:00 PM)Ineedhelp Wrote:  Until I'm debt free will I be considered rich. I got family to feed lah, my son only 14yo..

So modest.  You are a millionaire Big Grin

(05-08-2025, 07:30 PM)talky Wrote:  cant redeem like ssb
if need money urgently can sell in the market
but can sell like stocks in sgx
but bri=okage fr 8.80sgd to 40sgd depending on sell via which brokage house
the bond price may go up or drop v minimal maybe 1 to 3%

many thanks, bro.................

price can go up or down................mai lah...............surely as bonds near maturity - price will drop ?

(06-08-2025, 11:53 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  many thanks, bro.................

price can go up or down................mai lah...............surely as bonds near maturity - price will drop ?

Revert to $1 Big Grin

Given pitiful FD rates in the market now, 3.4% looks decent.
Unlikely to sink...worst case scenario just dump there and collect 6 monthly interest for 5 years.
At least higher than CPF ordinary rate of 2. 5%.

Of course, assuming you have the allotment. Lol

Will it end up like hyflux?

(06-08-2025, 02:08 PM)Clyde Wrote:  Will it end up like hyflux?

hyflux was a  totally different  story.
actually it could be saved fr bankrupt had pap allowed it to be taken over by another company
but pub had wanted it