Threads: 33

Likes Given: 2,561
(26-12-2023, 01:27 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: If you go coffeeshops in JB, you will be amazed how many different varieties of toasts and kopis they have and so much cheaper. Yakun and Toast Box are nothing if you compare them to any coffeeshop in Msia.
You are comparing JB with Singapore.
You are comparing a coffee shop with an air con place in a shopping mall.
Observer ah Observer....
Observer = KILLjoy = starbugstk = Dan = lvlrsSTI = OWNER.
Trying so hard to find my Archilles Point wor. Hehe

Talking about coffee, here's post by Multiv....
I cannot help digressing a bit when I saw that word barista. It was unheard of back in the 1970s and before. What was heard was "Hylam kor"
In terms of food and beverage, the PGs had their golden era when street food were much much better than those today, and the coffee which the Hylam kor brewed were moe duk deng. YaKun was not really outstanding, it was just normal. Many coffee shops vanished....the coffee shop might or might not be there, but the way coffee was brewed is now a lost art.
I used to tabao coffee by ordering "Kopi gau jit gong". The condensed milk can was recycled, and used to tabao the coffee. Today, if you carry that back to your office instead of the way Starbucks tabao their coffee, you might either get admired for being knowledgeable about real coffee, or be laughed at for being low ses.......depending on how old your colleague is.

Threads: 1

Likes Given: 167
(26-12-2023, 02:16 PM)Oyk Wrote: This replenishes my energy after fûcking my mother
![[Image: CwHQIEe.jpg]](https://i.imgur.com/CwHQIEe.jpg)
(This post was last modified: 10-01-2024, 10:09 AM by
Observer.)

Threads: 157

Likes Given: 43
(26-12-2023, 02:14 PM)Oyk Wrote: You are comparing JB with Singapore.
You are comparing a coffee shop with an air con place in a shopping mall.
Observer ah Observer....
I notice how many S'poreans love to compare prices of Penang street food available at pushcarts and coffee shops over there with the versions in aircon restaurants here too. That's the ultimate in comparing apples with oranges. LOL!
(This post was last modified: 27-12-2023, 11:53 AM by
EvertonDiehard.)

Threads: 588

Likes Given: 5,415
I boycott both coz no money to eat such good stuff
The following 1 user Likes Ola's post:1 user Likes Ola's post
• lvlrsSTI

(26-12-2023, 02:43 PM)Ola Wrote: I boycott both coz no money to eat such good stuff
I stopped patronising both these establishments because the same simple food is available at home ably prepared by my helper.

(26-12-2023, 02:42 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: I notice how many S'poreans love to compare prices of Penang street food available at pushcarts and coffee shops over there with the restaurant versions in aircon restaurants here too. That's the ultimate in comparing apples with oranges. LOL!
Even comparing street food sold literally on the street or well, at coffee shops with the same food repackaged and sold in that country's air con shopping malls is not something the locals there would do.
And here, Observer compares that between a coffee shop and a shopping mall, that's one level, and then between JB and Singapore, on another level.
And scream chip chip chip.

Likes Given: 11,139
(25-12-2023, 07:31 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: ![[Image: IMG-9394.png]](https://i.ibb.co/hmWR3cp/IMG-9394.png)
I still prefer ToastBox lah!

Threads: 1

Likes Given: 167
(26-12-2023, 04:26 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: I still prefer ToastBox lah! 
(26-12-2023, 04:26 PM)Oyk Wrote: but I prefer my mother's kaya 

(26-12-2023, 02:43 PM)Ola Wrote: I boycott both coz no money to eat such good stuff
Not too long ago, you wrote about $2.50 lunch and cooking your own food to save money.
I remember telling you that it's so easy to earn $2000 a month and eat better.
Do you have a health issue which prevents you from working? If you do, go and see your mp and get some social welfare. It may not be a lot but some help is better than none.
Don't feel paiseh to ask, don't even think it's undignified to take. It's your right as a citizen to receive help if you need it just like we receive subsides for healthcare based on our status as PG, MG or income level. Nobody says, mlmlwml, I will pay the full bill without sunsidies otherwise I lose face.
So go seek help and take.

Likes Given: 0
(26-12-2023, 04:31 PM)Oyk Wrote:

Threads: 12

Likes Given: 7,260
I don’t mind patronising Yakun becos their staffs are more polite. BreadTalk Toastbox employed lots of foreigners and many of them are very rude.
(This post was last modified: 28-12-2023, 11:14 AM by
Gemstar.)

Threads: 51

Likes Given: 1,145
Yakun kaya toast 6.3. quite ok

Threads: 265

Likes Given: 263
(25-12-2023, 07:31 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: ![[Image: IMG-9394.png]](https://i.ibb.co/hmWR3cp/IMG-9394.png)
Go Ntuc buy Starbucks mocha latte. Inside 4pk. Very nice.
Don’t buy from Yakub or toast.

Many S'poreans will blow all the money they save from not patronising Toast Box at the Tote Board!

Likes Given: 11,139
(19-01-2024, 12:54 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: ![[Image: IMG-20240119-125050.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/9cRCW0s/IMG-20240119-125050.jpg)
Yakun kaya toast 6.3. quite ok
I prefer ToastBox lah!

(19-01-2024, 01:30 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: I prefer Toast Box lah!
Sinkies will never boycott the Tote Board.

Likes Given: 496
(26-12-2023, 01:27 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: If you go coffeeshops in JB, you will be amazed how many different varieties of toasts and kopis they have and so much cheaper. Yakun and Toast Box are nothing if you compare them to any coffeeshop in Msia.
might as well compare to Tiongkok.