Why Giant supermarkets are closing one by one?

Last month July it was Giant Hypermart in Sembawang Shopping Center.

Next month Sep it will be the Giant Supermart at Toa Payoh Central

Reminiscent of the dinosaurs.

(27-08-2024, 07:37 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Last month July it was Giant Hypermart in Sembawang Shopping Center.

3 reasons.................

1) PAP chasing them out......pressurize landlords not to rent to Giant (like at Parkway and Vivo City)

2) Sinkies are dumb.....if Giant is out = NTUC and Sheng Siong will raise prices

3) Giant management is useless...............with Giant and Cold Storage under same company plus operating in M'sia.............should be able to outdo Sheng Siong
[+] 2 users Like Napoleon Porlumpar's post

(27-08-2024, 07:37 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Last month July it was Giant Hypermart in Sembawang Shopping Center.

7 eleven also going to be sold away. What happen lah? Also no business?

They owe rental 30milliom dollar.

https://www.financeasia.com/article/7-el...ner/497825

Seriously giant at TPY close ???

Dairy farm zzzz??
[+] 1 user Likes Buffybuffy's post

High rental space lor

(27-08-2024, 08:14 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Seriously giant at TPY close ???

Yes.  I think last day for the tpy central outlet is 15 or 16 Sept.  Left the remaining Kim Keat outlet in tpy.

Serving the dwarfs

The stores looks dated since few years ago, compared to NTUC and Shengshiong.

Oh no. Saw the Bishan branch was closed. Dint realise others oso following suit. What happened yah. Sheng Siong taking over? Giant sometimes has decent discounts on seafood, fruits and sell cheaper plants. Why lidat...

(27-08-2024, 09:33 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  Oh no. Saw the Bishan branch was closed. Dint realise others oso following suit. What happened yah. Sheng Siong taking over? Giant sometimes has decent discounts on seafood, fruits and sell cheaper plants. Why lidat...

Wah.... Bishan branch also closed  crying

Actually giants quite a lot stuffs cheaper than NTUC

Their price and product no longer cheap and fresh anymore.......

That day I went cold storage and saw their Driscoll black berry selling for $8.25 whereas at NTUC it's selling for $9.95. usually cold storage should be more expensive but now NTUC is so much more expensive.

EVERYTIME I GO TO SEMB GIANT HYPERMART
THERE ARE VERY FEW PPLE
i am surprise it took so long to close

Last time I bought TV from Giant.... cheapest in SG that time.

Last time I ordered a foldable bike from them. Their blur sotong delivered two. Called them they said keep it, too troublesome to take back the extra one

https://www.economicscafe.com.sg/giants-...-business/

(27-08-2024, 10:41 PM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.economicscafe.com.sg/giants-...-business/

Noted.  But I think this one is a rather old article, I think circa 2017 Big Grin

The last time Giant at Parkway closed down... i jin buay song liao. NTUC took over the place.

I like shopping at Giant... reasonable pricing.

When Giant left with serving only the dwarfs, the end results is catastrophe..

💣

(28-08-2024, 12:45 AM)Niubee Wrote:  The last time Giant at Parkway closed down... i jin buay song liao. NTUC took over the place.

I like shopping at Giant... reasonable pricing.

KNS I wonder how TPY Giant branch will be since going to close next month. Don't tell me NTUC take over....zzz TPY central already have two NTUC branch there. One at HDB hub another one is at that block opposite court .

Or again F&B outlet....

More than 58 years ago, Walmart says Singapore is too small for them..

And that has not changed even today.

Bought tausar pia at Giant $1.40, same tausar pia at ntuc $1.80. Hosen canned button mushroom, ntuc selling $1.30, special offer $1.25, Hosen canned button mushroom SS selling $1. Even Giant cannot tahan the high rental yet Malaysian born Amy said rental not responsible for high prices.
[+] 1 user Likes Pegasus's post

Sengkang closing in Nov.. after operating for over 10yrs.

(27-08-2024, 10:17 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Last time I ordered a foldable bike from them. Their blur sotong delivered two. Called them they said keep it, too troublesome to take back the extra one

Really!  You get the other one foc?

So now NTUC and SS can fix any prices they like to screw singkies further.