Why LHL didn't want to demolish 38 Oxley?
11-10-2024, 03:28 PM
11-10-2024, 03:37 PM
nevertheless LHL IS " Double face tiger " rah some more with his wife that HC influence. His wife also NOT simple type. KNS Still inside GIC TS Holdings despite step down as CEO. Obviously she still control GIC TS Holdings that new CEO is a puppet.
Remember last time they use to get an Ang Mo CEO but just 3 months that Ang Mo quit claim due to sometimes the management cannot agreed etc. I guess HC wanna him to be puppet but he don't want.
11-10-2024, 03:39 PM
(10-10-2024, 09:52 PM)Sentinel Wrote: It seems he may have a slight preference to have his legacy retained by not having the house demolished
That's why he left it to the govt to decide
Which he knows will retain the house
To say that he has no control over what the govt will decide to do with the house is not in his character
He knows
In essence, LKY actually played his daughter and younger brother out
Because he knows he has full power while he is alive to ensure his wish all come true
If he really wanted the hose demolished, no one, actually no one can stop him while he is alive
Even when the matter had went to the court, if he is firm, which he is, nothing the govt can do but to follow
He is afterall the chief of the govt, even though he pretends not to be
The younger brother and the daughter should just have told him bluntly he will leave a mess behind but I guess they know
what is on the old man's mind so dare not raise the demolish matter up with him
As an observer, if old man wants to demolish the house, and REALLY want to, then do it when he is alive
No need to give the excuse the daughter is staying in it
Case closed"...
"Case closed"...Look like the next generation will open and help LKY. Ah Gong to close it.
11-10-2024, 05:18 PM
Let's get back to basic -why he/govt not honoring the will of a dead person? Why educating us to hv a will before conk out? Ah Yang sh bring him to court to honour ah Gong s will.
11-10-2024, 05:41 PM
(11-10-2024, 03:24 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: Old man. LKY said, he said house property must be demolish and can keep, after he is pass away.
Mr LKY said to demolish when no one stays there anymore.
Because at that time, LWL was staying there. But now, she is gone so must demolish, lor.
11-10-2024, 06:23 PM
Time to demolish since the only rightful occupant of the house is no longer ard
11-10-2024, 06:26 PM
(11-10-2024, 05:41 PM)Ola Wrote: Mr LKY said to demolish when no one stays there anymore.
Because at that time, LWL was staying there. But now, she is gone so must demolish, lor.
LKY no more liao lah! Now LWL also no more liao lah! LHL can do whatever he wants to lah! LHY dare not come back liao lah!
11-10-2024, 06:34 PM
This house can sell for 400m. Ppl will still buy. LKY house.
Do I think can sell so much????
11-10-2024, 06:35 PM
11-10-2024, 06:39 PM
(11-10-2024, 06:35 PM)victortan Wrote: I m vy sure all will be no more. Include all of us here by 2080…
2080 ah? I think 2035 all gone liao.
11-10-2024, 07:05 PM
12-10-2024, 11:06 PM
12-10-2024, 11:15 PM
greedy LHL lah
must get paid million dollars to become minsters
the wife must have told him if not demolish the land and the house can fetch at high price
so play spin doctor
let the land been taken back by government
then after the government say they cannot keep the land and return back to the son
government is run by the son
so anything can happened to circumvent the father will
must get paid million dollars to become minsters
the wife must have told him if not demolish the land and the house can fetch at high price
so play spin doctor
let the land been taken back by government
then after the government say they cannot keep the land and return back to the son
government is run by the son
so anything can happened to circumvent the father will
13-10-2024, 05:49 AM
Clearly 100% hated him at the funeral
But how he got 70% voters support?
Clearly 100% hated him at the funeral
But how he got 70% voters support?
13-10-2024, 06:58 AM
Oxley is a physical monument that can cement PAP historic roots in the minds of the next generation of Singaporeans.
Imagine school tours and the retelling of the PAP story. How the meetings at the basement of Oxley steered the fate.of this nation.
LKY probably knew future leaders wanted to lean on the past and wanted the house demolishe to prevent this.
Why? If you look at he development of human societies there is nothing permanently successful and nations don't thrive forever. Neither do ideologies, or systems. The remarkable 50yr run of Singapore is guaranteed to be consigned to the footnote of history. The only question for future leaders is how do we reinvent ourselves. We may or may not be able to do it. We may just fade away and other centers of success emerge elsewhere. But for us to even have a chance we have to be prepared to leave the past and abandon efforts to preserve it. You cannot store success. You can only pursue it and there is no guarantee of success.
LKY did not want roads and buildings name after him. He did not want .monuments. He absolutely wanted Oxley to be demolished.
He wanted leaders to keep their vision fixed on the future and not cling to the glorious past.
Imagine school tours and the retelling of the PAP story. How the meetings at the basement of Oxley steered the fate.of this nation.
LKY probably knew future leaders wanted to lean on the past and wanted the house demolishe to prevent this.
Why? If you look at he development of human societies there is nothing permanently successful and nations don't thrive forever. Neither do ideologies, or systems. The remarkable 50yr run of Singapore is guaranteed to be consigned to the footnote of history. The only question for future leaders is how do we reinvent ourselves. We may or may not be able to do it. We may just fade away and other centers of success emerge elsewhere. But for us to even have a chance we have to be prepared to leave the past and abandon efforts to preserve it. You cannot store success. You can only pursue it and there is no guarantee of success.
LKY did not want roads and buildings name after him. He did not want .monuments. He absolutely wanted Oxley to be demolished.
He wanted leaders to keep their vision fixed on the future and not cling to the glorious past.
14-10-2024, 01:29 PM
(13-10-2024, 06:58 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: Oxley is a physical monument that can cement PAP historic roots in the minds of the next generation of Singaporeans.
"LKY probably know and knew future leaders wanted to lean on the past and he wanted the house to be demolishe to prevent this. LKY did not want roads and buildings name after him. He did not want any monuments. He absolutely wanted Oxley to be demolished."
"Why? If you look at he development of human societies there is nothing permanently successful and nations don't thrive forever. Neither do ideologies, or systems. The remarkable 50yr run of Singapore is guaranteed to be consigned to the footnote of history. The only question for future leaders is how do we reinvent ourselves. We may or may not be able to do it. We may be just fade away and other centers of success emerge elsewhere. But for us to even have a chance we have to be prepared to leave the past and abandon efforts to preserve it. You cannot store success. You can only pursue it and there is no guarantee of success."
"He wanted leaders to keep their vision fixed on the future and not cling to the glorious past."
14-10-2024, 01:41 PM
(14-10-2024, 01:29 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: "LKY probably know and knew future leaders wanted to lean on the past and he wanted the house to be demolishe to prevent this. LKY did not want roads and buildings name after him. He did not want any monuments. He absolutely wanted Oxley to be demolished."
"Why? If you look at he development of human societies there is nothing permanently successful and nations don't thrive forever. Neither do ideologies, or systems. The remarkable 50yr run of Singapore is guaranteed to be consigned to the footnote of history. The only question for future leaders is how do we reinvent ourselves. We may or may not be able to do it. We may be just fade away and other centers of success emerge elsewhere. But for us to even have a chance we have to be prepared to leave the past and abandon efforts to preserve it. You cannot store success. You can only pursue it and there is no guarantee of success."
"He wanted leaders to keep their vision fixed on the future and not cling to the glorious past."
Convert into a museum can collect entrance fee lah!