Why MP are allowed to have full time job by Lauren wrong

Responding to a question at a recent dialogue with IHL students, Prime... | parliament singapore | TikTok
https://www.tiktok.com/@ips_sg/video/739...7799575809

画大饼 

Simi Lan pragmatic(= sensible and realistically)arrangement...

Here are the salaries of members of Singapore's government for 2024 ¹:
- Elected Member of Parliament (MP): $192,500 per year
- Non-constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP) or Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP): $28,900 per year
- Entry-level Minister: $1,100,000 per year
- Prime Minister: $2,200,000 per year
- President: $1,540,000 per year

Is this Tin Pei Ling's full-time job?

[Image: TPL.jpg]
[+] 4 users Like EvertonDiehard's post

Here are the salaries of ministers in Singapore ¹ ² ³:

- Mayor: $660,000
- Senior Parliamentary Secretary: $572,000
- Parliamentary Secretary: $418,000
- Minister of State: $770,000
- Senior Minister of State: $935,000
- MR4 Minister (most junior): $1,100,000
- MR3 Minister: $1,320,000
- MR2 Minister: $1,540,000
- MR1 Minister: $1,760,000
- Deputy Prime Minister: $1,870,000
- Prime Minister: $2,200,000

[Image: IMG-20240722-084207.jpg]

MPs do not have much to do since they have an entourage of grassroots leaders who carry out their legwork for certain benefits. 

[Image: Murali.jpg]

So we have a part time government. 🖕

(22-07-2024, 12:00 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  MPs do not have much to do since they have an entourage of grassroots leaders who carry out their legwork for certain benefits. 

[Image: Murali.jpg]

mps are not overpaid but  outrageous overpaid for part time job
[+] 1 user Likes talky's post

One thing he said correct is Voters can decide but yet voters scare to kick out those people like CCS , Josp , OYK , Grace F , Amy Koh these Minister and MP literally just don't know what they doing.

(22-07-2024, 02:27 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  One thing he said correct is Voters can decide but yet voters scare to kick out those people like CCS , Josp , OYK , Grace F , Amy Koh these Minister and MP literally just don't know what they doing.

The "not in my backyard" mentality extends to the GE. Most Sinkies want an Opposition, but just not in their own constituency since they risk their neighbourhood turning into a slum. 

(22-07-2024, 02:08 PM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  So we have a part time government. 🖕

A part-time govt paid the average S'porean's monthly salary for 2-3 hours of work.

Chiam See Tong also continued to work as a lawyer for donkey years. Tan Cheng Bock practised as a doctor while he was an MP. Low Thia Khiang continued to run his business.

(22-07-2024, 02:46 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The "not in my backyard" mentality extends to the GE. Most Sinkies want an Opposition, but just not in their own constituency since they risk their neighbourhood turning into a slum. 

All these a myths , I got this friend stay at Hougang all along. He told me there just like PAP ward , nothing much difference. Maintenance , upgrading etc all have. Just like PAP ward.

They are not full- time yet they are paid as full- time Ministers? This is ethically WRONG and must stop. How can PaP be ripping the tax payers with such arrangements? 

And how come AGC did not flout this out as an issue for so many years?
[+] 1 user Likes Wy:Nox's post

(22-07-2024, 03:02 PM)Wy:Nox Wrote:  They are not full- time yet they are paid as full- time Ministers? This is ethically WRONG and must stop. How can PaP be ripping the tax payers with such arrangements? 

Who pay AGO, Who Pay PM, Minister , MPs, Mayors , top civil servants to the bottom in every public sectors, even stat boards.
Obviously is from Tax Payer money. Money don't drop from the sky

Govt also roll tax payer money to earn profits aka investment etc. I only keep hearing GIC always profits like never lose one , more powerful than FED , EPIC global economics is all depend from FED, how USA and China perform too etc.

Obviously when PAP made mistakes they need to take from somewhere to top up losing funds. No body of course always will win . But this current PAP not sure is getting more greedy ONLY for their self benefits and interest or keep losing money so need to increase few times per year than play the " tricks " again so call give you GST rebate etc

CDC voucher , GST rebate obviously is NOT FREE. Is just our own money govt give you back later charge you high again end up you pay and pay more.

Unlike the Old PAP at least , the team investment still ok never lose much yet profit a lot. This is why during LKY days even so call going to increase price again they only just do once per year or some years don't even have.

Unlike this current PAP literally every year surely there is something increase.

Aiyoh! He talk with 4 POINTS of mistakes

#1. Ministers with full-time commitments in the private sector

So can all policemen also have full -time commitments working in DHL warehouse, in my neighbourhood clinic as Hawkers, too?

Or we work as full-time Finance Manager in DBS Bank and part-time as Mayor?

(22-07-2024, 05:45 PM)Ola Wrote:  Aiyoh! He talk with 4 POINTS of mistakes

#1. Ministers with full-time commitments in the private sector

So can all policemen also have full -time commitments working in DHL warehouse, in my neighbourhood clinic as Hawkers, too?

Or we work as full-time Finance Manager in DBS Bank and part-time as Mayor?

Actually quite a lot civil Servants work side job one. Is the matter they want or not. Last time this ah bang I know heard from fellow ah bang also both civil servant claim he got business outside in food catering his name is register with her wife name for that company they own. In fact what I know inside public sectors they once in blue moon will send out declaration surveys aka means like you must declare any assets or how many times you go casino stuffs like that . But again is just cat and mouse game who will declare openly right ? You don’t say no body know unless the institution they work in those HR so hardworking will go check individuals but in reality will not again why go find extra work to do ? Thus those Hr director also don’t bother just for the seek of so call “ KPI “ send out the surveys than gather ok job done since the top instruct.

(22-07-2024, 02:27 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  One thing he said correct is Voters can decide but yet voters scare to kick out those people like CCS , Josp , OYK , Grace F , Amy Koh these Minister and MP literally just don't know what they doing.

Gerald Giam, Faisal Manap, He Tingrui, you know what they were doing? They are also paid the same MP allowance hor. Rolleyes

His dumb scripts writers under whose instructions now?

#2. My full-time job is not to be a Minister but a full-time MP

That is still ONE role of a Minister and wearing the same hat

Such a dumb statement

[+] 2 users Like Ola's post

(22-07-2024, 03:02 PM)Wy:Nox Wrote:  They are not full- time yet they are paid as full- time Ministers? This is ethically WRONG and must stop. How can PaP be ripping the tax payers with such arrangements? 

AGO.  AGC boss is somebody’s personal lawyer Big Grin

(22-07-2024, 06:57 PM)Ola Wrote:  His dumb scripts writers under whose instructions now?

#2.  My full-time job is not to be a Minister but a full-time MP

Such a dumb statement

Agreed on this want...he trying to 画大饼 and 忽悠 the people

To certain degree he is correct, most former British ruled nations'
PM or minister has office post and MP together.

However there should be cap number of jobs one can hold,
perhaps three posts will be max and no conflict of interests.

(22-07-2024, 06:57 PM)Ola Wrote:  His dumb scripts writers under whose instructions now?

#2.  My full-time job is not to be a Minister but a full-time MP

Such a dumb statement

True.
There's no such thing as full time MP.
Just ask Pinky's masturbate-target tin pei ling.

Got 1 champion had 60 appt in the past.
This is indeed ridiculous.

(22-07-2024, 02:22 PM)talky Wrote:  mps are not overpaid but  outrageous overpaid for part time job

The best well paid part time job lah.

One word people always like to use
Keng and get pay

It is true that Sinkies do not dare to take risks by voting in an Opposition. The electorate prefer "the devil they know", even though the promised prosperity, Swiss standard of living and benefits of CECA are not felt by the masses. 

(23-07-2024, 07:45 AM)Cmpunk Wrote:  One word people always like to use Keng and get pay

Every MIW MP has an entourage of grassroots volunteers to do their legwork, so these MPs enjoy enough free time to have a highly paid full-time job apart from their duty to residents.

(23-07-2024, 09:23 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  It is true that Sinkies do not dare to take risks by voting in an Opposition. The electorate prefer "the devil they know", even though the promised prosperity, Swiss standard of living and benefits of CECA are not felt by the masses. 

do nothing nothing will change
the 1st step is always the hardest n face the most resistance

what is new

No wonder parliament like ghost town. All mp go and do their Pte job. 

Why elect those donkey to do part time mp. 

Or they go play golf like I either read in media some one saw their car at a club while parliament was on going. 

Now we know those donkey u all elect are only interested in their Pte job n activities. Will u all still fall in love with them???

In fact once elected mp should be their full time job. But mp become part time cause they only meet the people once a week n on special community occassion. And only do their full time job.

(23-07-2024, 12:39 PM)victortan Wrote:  No wonder parliament like ghost town. All mp go and do their Pte job. Why elect those donkey to do part time mp. Or they go play golf like I either read in media some one saw their car at a club while parliament was on going. Now we know those donkey u all elect are only interested in their Pte job n activities. Will u all still fall in love with them??? In fact once elected mp should be their full time job. But mp become part time cause they only meet the people once a week n on special community occassion. And only do their full time job.

Attendance in Parliament is poor, and even when present, most do not appear interested in the proceedings

[Image: parliament-sg.jpg]