Why SIA oldest aircraft Boeing 777-300ER is 18 years old this month still in service?

(24-01-2025, 07:27 PM)Scythian Wrote:  You think he don't know. Don't be silly.

Smart man, he knows everything in his finger tips, and he's doing it with a purpose.

Only Singaporeans dumb like potatoes

Hot air lah u...

(24-01-2025, 08:57 PM)Niubee Wrote:  Hot air lah u...
Even the air outside is hot..

Please do not disturb SIA CEO - he's busy playing his set of old toy planes

After dropping Singapore girl , everything started deteriorating and growing old by the day..

Should be renamed Singapore Old Maid

(24-01-2025, 11:32 PM)Scythian Wrote:  Even the air outside is hot..

Please do not disturb SIA CEO - he's busy playing his set of old toy planes

U are kidding us. Bluff..

(25-01-2025, 02:03 AM)Niubee Wrote:  U are kidding us. Bluff..

Are you in the cockpit whole night on long haul flights?

I m going to brush my teeth

Rather than carrying high cost for it's maintenance, Why is this old Boeing 777-300ER not leased 5 years ago to either Air India or Sri Lanka Air?

Easily done b4 Covid19 pandemic

Why extremely old aircrafts and low ranking in safest ratings is never be a good combination?.

Do you know why?

stupid question on why old already still used.
if maintain is not expensive. this is the real to make real money.

collect fare no need to do provision on depreciation. money make more then budget airline.

ask those in transport if they willing to change their lorry, buses if still can used. and no major repair.
just pay coe is cheaper then buy new one. and this airline no even need to pay coe.

(25-01-2025, 09:41 AM)sclim Wrote:  stupid question on why old already still used.
if maintain is not expensive.  this is the real to make real money.

collect fare no need to do provision on depreciation. money make more then budget airline.

ask those in transport if they willing to change their lorry, buses if still can used. and no major repair.
just pay coe is cheaper then buy new one.  and this airline no even need to pay coe.

, older commercial planes generally require significantly higher maintenance costs compared to newer models due to increased wear and tear, the need for more frequent inspections, and potential parts obsolescence, leading to more expensive replacements and repairs as the aircraft ages. 
Key points about older planes and maintenance costs:
Increased inspections and repairs:
As an aircraft ages, it needs more frequent and thorough inspections to identify potential issues, which can lead to higher maintenance costs.

SIA cannot boast having a young fleet now!

(25-01-2025, 09:41 AM)sclim Wrote:  stupid question on why old already still used.
if maintain is not expensive.  this is the real to make real money.

just pay coe is cheaper then buy new one.  and this airline no even need to pay coe.

, older commercial planes generally require significantly higher maintenance costs compared to newer models due to increased wear and tear, the need for more frequent inspections, and potential parts obsolescence, leading to more expensive replacements and repairs as the aircraft ages. 
As an aircraft ages, it needs more frequent and thorough inspections to identify potential issues, which can lead to higher maintenance costs.

(24-01-2025, 11:38 PM)Scythian Wrote:  After dropping Singapore girl , everything started deteriorating and growing old by the day..

Should be renamed Singapore Old Maid

Have you flown with your adoptive country Qantas ? Aircraft aging plus employing this old uncles and aunties as the flight catering crew.

(25-01-2025, 11:34 AM)Fit Wrote:  SIA cannot  boast having a young fleet now!

Yes that's true

Ageing Singapore old maid cant revert to Singapore girl

Very stressful, ageing SIA cannot compete on price, coverage internationally with its ageing aircrafts. A big setback with safety.

You see Budget airlines, Scoot has been pushing ahead and try replacing SIA slot in many region.

SIA failed to plan, plan to fail

The trajectory indicating SIA is on a slippery path and if nothing is done asap, it may crash like never seen b4.

What's happening?

.14.8 Years

"The average age of the global fleet has risen to a record 14.8 years, a significant increase from the 13.6 years average for the period 1990-2024, the International Air Transport Association said Tuesday, as it released its 2025 industry outlook.

13 Dec 2024"

This 18 yo aircraft must have dragged SIA down in the world's safest airlines rankings..

Why it wasn't leased to Air India?

(25-01-2025, 11:33 AM)Scythian Wrote:  , older commercial planes generally require significantly higher maintenance costs compared to newer models due to increased wear and tear, the need for more frequent inspections, and potential parts obsolescence, leading to more expensive replacements and repairs as the aircraft ages. 

which can lead to higher maintenance cost.  key is balance.  no change means still cheaper.  new plane also got new risk. software propblem etc. no see some plane crash still no conclusion. like the silk mair one that happen many years ago. until real reason unknown.

I though all is very new planes?.

(26-01-2025, 09:51 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  I though all is very new planes?.

SIA planes are all less than 10yrs. Wink